August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TOO MANY BULLETS

by mklee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

TOO MANY BULLETS

Dodge bullets and last as long as you can. Every 10 seconds the stage will change with new time circles that alter the way time and bullets work.

Tools: Haxe, HaxeFlixel, FlashDevelop, Photoshop


CONTROLS:
Left/right - Move
Left/right (double-tap) - Dash
Down - Duck
Z - Jump
Z (in air) - double jump


NOTES:
This is the 48 Hour Compo Entry with no sound and probably a few glitches. It's a fairly simple game, but I focused a lot on making sure your block/player felt responsive and smooth to control.

Every 10 seconds new "time circles" will open up over the playfield. There are 3 types: slow, fast, and reverse.

Slow - Slows down bullets/time
Fast - Speeds up bullets/time
Reverse - Reverses bullets/time

Circles not only alter the speed and direction of bullets, but can also alter how fast time moves (or doesn't!). So while a slow time circle may provide you with safety inside of it, your time will also slow down. Fast circles are dangerous, but allow you to quickly pass seconds. And reverse circles are like shields, but you'll actually "gain" time inside of them.

Thanks to everyone for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#51Fun3.77
#126Overall3.60
#235Graphics3.49
#325Innovation3.30
#440Theme3.29
#712Mood2.52
#864Humor1.71
#998Audio1.00

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:55am

The animations are great. Love how the blocks leans, jumps, and flips :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36am

Nice work!! I like how you can stick to the walls, and the idea of slowing the bullets is great to!!

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Wow, awesome!
You did well to tune so much the player controls, it's really responsive! And, while simple, The graphics are well polished.

Great game! :D

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:48pm

I really loved this! I want to check out your source :D Great animations, really really solid gameplay, and awesome concept. Nice work!

Shugor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:47am

I liked the controls a lot, as well as the difficulty curve over time! I'm not sure if i just accidentally turned something off, but some music would have been nice too~

mklee says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:57am

Thanks Shugor, unfortunately no music due to time constraints. I'll be adding music and sound soon for a post-compo release.

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Good gameplay and the animation is great. It's simple but fun to play since the controls are very good :)

tacograveyard says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:53pm

love the tilt when moving and other animations. great job giving a block a lot of character. time well spent on polish.

xndr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:25am

Fun! Thanks!

aeveis says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:35am

this game is great!

CrossBread says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:40am

You can tell you put polish into the character. I was especially surprised when I was able to ninja my way between bullets using wall jumps! I like how the circles element not only effects the bullets, but the character too. Making them choose between safety, or getting to the next 10 sec mark faster is a great game dynamic. Well done!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:42am

Very neat and addicting game! Nice work!

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:42am

I love the simple and clean art style with bright colors. I double-jumped more than I needed to because I liked watching the little dude flip. Fun game.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:58am

So hard at times haha I swear its like when I'm ducking stuff wants to come from the top to take me out X_X. I found the controls really responsive and the jumping/ducking the bullets was fun. You should probably mention you can wall slide too against the wall megaman style : D.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:25am

Wow this is loads of fun!
Time circles are quite innovative and make the game dynamic.
Controls are smooth and responsive, and the rectangle's animations are really fun to look at :]
Terrific job!

Vaalen says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:28am

A love the animations and the concept. This game is really great and addictive !

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:33am

Fun concept. The main character moves are awesome, I almost forget it was just a combination of square.
The evolution of the gameplay with new types of bullet and the random activation of the domes, makes it really fun along time.
It's a great game.

Delca says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:00pm

I loved teh way the player jumped. The animation is very well done, and controlling it in air is a pleasure. Good job !

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:57am

Nice job with the visuals.

Alexander says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:48am

Great color pallet. The wall jump was really fun once I got the hang of it.

Ossi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:54am

Wow, that was super fun! Great controls and graphical style. Great challenge and nice use of the theme, creating different aura's for you to use to dodge more bullets. Super fun game!

rylgh says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:07am

Man, the controls and visual feedback for that little rectangle are fantastic. Dodging the bullets was fun but I'd love to control that guy in a bigger game. Great job!

meszka says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:58am

Looks and feels great. Very nice animations and controls. The time circle mechanic was interesting. Would be awesome with some music and sound :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Yet another game with well thought design!

Kimidori says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:42pm

too few bullet compared to this :P
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2rTQVFWEEcE

anyway, good game, 4 stars!

Diptoman says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:47pm

All right, this was a lot of fun. Loved the smooth movements and the minimalistic approach for the graphics. Plus the way he jumped was pretty cool, so just had the urge to 2x jump everytime and that got me killed a lot lol.
The theme was perfectly implemented, just missed a good action soundtrack.

Larzan says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Interesting entry, nice grafix, but a bit repetitive.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Great job animating that rectangle :D I was missing some sound though. Controls were also really smooth, I even used ducking once effectively.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:30pm

very well crafted. animations, gameplay, difficulty curve. i like that it isn't just random bullets flying around, but that you have to think ahead as much as you have to react fast. like a good bullet hell. great job!

Dir3kt says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Very good entry, smooth controls and nice visuals. Sound would have been very nice.

rxi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Lovely. The game felt simple but the controls were responsive and the it was overall enjoyable.

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:26am

wow! great entry! this game is really fun and I love the simple graphics!

bitowl says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:38am

I wonder whether you have seen the "Juice it or lose it" talk by grapefrukt :D

Pierrec says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:23pm

mklee used simple mechanics
It's super effective.

megashroom says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:04pm

The graphics were wonderful, and the time-circle mechanic was pretty well fleshed out.
I was happy.

Zccc says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:13pm

I can't tell you great this is ;_; I hope you add sound. It's really addictive.

Misfit says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Nice colorful game. Good job!

Linusson says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Really great game and the controls are very good too. A fun and well made game! :)

Sebby says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:12am

Really nice game! Love the idea. Kinda slow at first though, like it's fun when you get to the different kinds of bullets and time thingies but it takes a while to get there. Very cool though, I enjoyed it :) Looks really nice visually, too.

xhunterko says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 10:19am

Pretty! Wish there was some sound or something though. Great idea!

TammiLion says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Fun game! I first thought that the Font said '2' instead of 'z' haha. I really love the wall jumping. Only wish that the graphics were a bit smoother.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]