August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Boxen!

by davidwparker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I created this in about ~6 hours... unfortunately, I'm extremely busy the rest of the weekend, so this is all we get.

TESTED in:
OSX: Chrome (good), Firefox (good), Safari (slow)

Libraries:
Used Angular.js and Underscore.js

(edited) Keyword(s): html, html5

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#620Theme3.11
#708Fun2.74
#749Innovation2.72
#899Overall2.69
#931Humor1.52
#998Audio1.00
#1024Mood1.92
#1127Graphics1.82

Comments

CarbonCoder says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 6:54am

Great concept! Incredibly difficult!

Hazel-Bun says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 7:03am

This is a fun little game. Reminds me of minesweeper haha!

Drakonid says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 10:51am

Nice game, I would make the game end when there are no more green/blue/black squares on the board.

gbear605 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Neat game, the best score I got was 23, but I'm on a laptop, so...

JALgames says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 3:44pm

I really like that game. I reached a score of 42 (yea!) on my laptop*. But some graphics rather than colored squares would be nice.

*It has a touch screen:)

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 6:54pm

57 on my second go.

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Hah this was actually pretty fun. I need a better mouse if I'm going to do well on the hardest difficulty though :(
Good game nonetheless!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Fun little game.

crashbanito says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:05pm

A fun little title. I can imagine this being rather hectic on a touch device.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Neat! Yeah, this would be neat on a touch device. Reminds me a bit of the Molyneux curiosity cube.

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Really fun little game, even if you don't consider the more stringent time constraints. I got to a point where there were no more squares to click, which was an awkward 3-4 seconds, but that's probably my only real (and minor) complaint.

Paul Sinnett says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Really good idea. This game would be great on mobiles.

LittleThor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:08am

Interesting game that can become a little addictive! Squares that change colors by themselves could add a little more difficulty and fun.

Fede3751 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Great idea! :)

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:01pm

holy hell, great one. I got a bit confused, because you said green squares are rare but I found my screen filled with lots of green ones, after clicking on some I realized I was clicking the orange ones... blame my colorblindness lol, good game!

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:02pm

It is a fun little game

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:03pm

holy hell, great one. I got a bit confused, because you said green squares are rare but I found my screen filled with lots of green ones, after clicking on some I realized I was clicking the orange ones... blame my colorblindness lol, good game!

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:03am

An ok entry but lacked any real depth

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:10am

This is a great idea that could have used a bit more polishing. But the game itself is solid. A little bit of sound effects and maybe some visual effects as well would have made this even better (maybe use CSS transitions to do something when the tiles change).

kbm0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:39am

Yey! Simple and nice! The game may need come effects and better graphics. But such a respectable game in 6 hours. Good job, Mr. Parker! :-)

Dew says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:41am

WebGL have difficult functions its made for 3D if u want tu use webgl better use three.js, and for 2D canvas is quite simple check this picture for a complete and easy guide: http://www.nihilogic.dk/labs/canvas_sheet/HTML5_Canvas_Cheat_Sheet.png

About your game it has a great concept, and its awesome that you made it in 6 hours, if you want to spend more time I would add mouse drag.

dekart says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:34pm

You should make a Facebook game from it :) Lot of people will like such kind of game.

proc says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:24pm

I enjoyed it but no where near winning. 6 hours and you made a game with more depth than Curiosity on launch haha

nanotech says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Interesting game. It feels very much like a pen-and-paper game in that it doesn't need a complicated mechanic to be fun.

Curiously, the difficulty of the levels seems reversed to me!

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:01am

Nice game! The more squares, the more fun! My score is 261 on hard :) hihi! I got stuck in this game..:P

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Nice game, would need some more mecanisms to be fully enjoyable but still good.

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Simple and elegant, I like it! I'm not very good (I BLAME TRACKPAD!!! ARARRARRAR) but I will definitely give it another go with a mouse when I get home later.

Game design cookie to you, sir!

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

LegacyCrono says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:46am

This is actually really fun! Nice job, would be great for touch devices. :D

GagaPete says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:41pm

That would make a nice time-waster on mobile devices.

motty says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:02am

Fine effort. Needs some tweaking: I found 'easy' much harder than 'medium' as it had far fewer green squares, though 'hard' was indeed hard. Still fun to play even at this early stage - hope you get time to tune and polish it and looking forward to playing that.

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:34am

Good one.

Spiridios says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:20pm

MUCH more fun on a touch screen than with a mouse (thanks to other commenters for the idea). My phone screen is a bit small for it, so I have to waste precious seconds scrolling, but I got a much higher score there.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]