August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Here

by RobotAdventure - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A memory.
No matter how you look at it, it will never change.
Just experience the moment.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#585Mood2.69
#702Innovation2.77
#751Graphics2.58
#885Audio1.71
#978Humor1.25
#1023Theme2.54
#1137Overall2.19
#1190Fun1.46
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

hoqjed says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:20am

It starts strong. As you move away from her it gets fuzzier, perhaps meaning you need her guidance. But it suddenly ends and keeps repeating, so i kept getting detached and losing interest.

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:24am

I don't really understand what the goal of the game is and no matter what it seems like you lose.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Interesting one here, not sure how to rate it. I liked the idea, just wish there was some way to progress in the game, or a way to get more of the story than just these few seconds.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:26pm

I wasn't entirely sure how to preface the game without framing the experience. The goal is to just experience the game and take what you will from it.

@BipolorDesign I considered adding more to the story, but there was a lot to do in 48 hours :P

brobutter says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:43pm

I actually laughed out loud at the quotes that were thrown in there randomly. It seems like all you can do is either stand there and wait for it to end, or move around and wait for it to end faster. Pretty amusing

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Hmmm, story sounds like it could have been developing into a deep experience, but that's all there is really. I do like the idea of having a fuzzy view when you move away from the girl. As the others have said, this has some potential. Make sure you continue it, give a texture to the room, elaborate on the storyline and you may get something very special.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:05am

Really nice idea, good storytelling

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:27am

interesting............

Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:32am

Good start but feels like it needs something more... either that or I'm not artsy enough to appreciate it :)

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Powerfull. The aesthetic is great, it has an eerie atmoshpere which puts the player in unexpected kinds of mood and the game does an incredible job portraying the protagonist's mind.

The experience of playing this game reminds when I was a kid, when there was a scene I didn't like in a movie the 2nd and 3rd times I saw the film I had hope things would be different this time but of course the story allways followed the same path. I bet the protagonist in the game also wanted to change that memory, neverteless it's beyond his reach, as the woman in the room.

Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:55am

I liked the idea, but in the end it started to feel repetitive. Maybe a bit shorter would be better, and cause the same impact.

gravyhands says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:05am

Cool idea, being stuck with a memory you can't let go of. But since there are no words exchanged between characters in the 10 seconds, I think it would have been more powerful if the environment told the story of what happened. Maybe a fight? Maybe he/she had a drinking problem?
Although, maybe the only interaction being able to look at your watch tells the story - she felt like you didn't have time for her?

garygreen says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 7:55pm

As a piece of micro-storytelling I thought it was interesting and atmospheric, especially the changing comments at the end and I liked the graphics, but as game it might have worked better with a series of 10 second scenes that you piece together... although I'm not sure that would have been your intention.

angrygeometry says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:39am

i like games like this. good work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]