August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Power For 10

by orunbot - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Turret Defence game where all of your turrets lose power if you are not touching an energy box for more then 10 seconds. Only the OCD will survive.

I made it to wave 10, then let my energy hit 0 for only a few seconds and it was over. How long did you survive?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#383Overall3.23
#393Fun3.11
#430Innovation3.14
#566Theme3.17
#602Audio2.46
#759Mood2.47
#864Humor1.71
#1080Graphics1.95

Comments

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:59pm

I found it become slowly when the character's life is shorter.
It's a good game!

Tange says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:40am

wow. level 13 is impossible. great game

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:14am

The pathfinding seemed to have a lot of difficulty with getting to me, but overall solid and fun wave defense game. Well done!

deammer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:17pm

One of those #LDTD games eh? Impressive work for 48 hours! Getting pathfinding and tower-building to work within that time frame is impressive. Great job!

Dew says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Our games are quite similar!

zzForrest says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:23pm

This is an interesting game, although it seems that the turrets were randomly deciding not to do their job and therefore made the game generally more clunky.

Myyyvothrr says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:25pm

I like this a lot, the concept is brilliant!

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:38pm

It's quite good! I like this idea! Nice work!

Kwrky says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:39pm

A lot of little nice touches in this

dook says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Really good game. The graphics are simple, but it doesn't matter. I played this for much longer than most other entries :) The mechanics were interesting.

hoqjed says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Lots of great things to say about this one. Turrets slowing down enemies and allowing you to sprint gives the game depth. 10 second rule makes you bunker down near an energy source, but you're trapped so if it's not well defended you could get into a lot of trouble. I played for 10 minutes and would have for more if the phone didn't ring. Sound is great, music seems fitting, graphics are a nice minimalistic style that clearly displays info about game state, such as enemies, turrents, their HEALTH (nice on this one). Fantastic job, and in 48 hours?!?!?!

I did have some issues placing turrets. Sometimes i'd try to build a turrent in my circle since i had enough points but it wouldn't register. I had to click multiple times before it worked.

You could grow this into a full release, i'm not kidding. You have something special here.

orunbot says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Thank you so much for the great replies. It makes me feel so motivated to keep making games and do what I love.

I would love to make this into a real full game. It is definitely in the top 3 of games that I want to send my spare time completing.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Nice idea, and pretty well implemented. Got a very Tron-esque vibe. Good job!

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Great fun TD game! This game have potential if you add more stuff.

haxpor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Nice tower defense kind of game :) Fun playing it. Nice work!

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Fun game. Died around Wave 16. Nice polish on technical side, but could use some love on the other fields.

Smart mechanism, but not exploited enough, I ended up camping the middle square and creating turrets on small openings, you could maybe improve the game by adding something (like, you have to trigger all the buttons periodically or something).

timmahh says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Level 13! Really enjoyed playing that, for some reason it reminded me of Home Alone just being the middle part of the map and pretty much set up my traps all around that! Would love to see you expand on this and go on to create a full game using the same premise!

RustyC says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Great game, one of the better ones I've played. An instruction graphic might haave been nice and the pathfinding was lacking at times. That said, it was a well rounded game that was fun to play.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Fun and addictive!

lazyeels says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:56pm

I like it, nice and simple but with the core mechanic nailed down. Was a bit confused as to what to do, you might need to add a bit about using the mouse to spawn entities, but otherwise a good idea and take on the theme.

rejome says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Really nice game! Solid implementation of a now classic type of games. One of the best I played until now.

proc says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:03pm

I felt like a king until they over ran my stronghold :( entertaining!

ratalaika says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Nice idea and well made.Nice game, quite funny to play!!

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 6:40pm

very simple, but quite fun. the difficulty curve is great!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]