August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hunt

by Finn Stokes - Jam Entry

The hunter becomes the hunted in a fast paced local multiplayer chase game.

To play you need two to four players each with a gamepad. On starting the game, use left and right on the joystick to select a character, then press A when you are ready. Once at least two players are ready you can press start to begin a game with those players.

Controls:
- Left joystick (axis 1): Move/aim boost
- A button: Use boost

Hold down A while aiming the boost, then let go to fire. Boosting in no direction stops you instantly and makes you invulnerable for a short time.

Hunt the other players when you are red and run away when you are not. The hunter changes every ten seconds.

The web version should work in Google Chrome, but may not work in other browsers due to gamepad support.

A lot of our graphical assets are taken from or based on art from the open bundle (http://open.commonly.cc/).

Credits:
Development: Finn Stokes, Saxon Douglass, Rory Stokes
Graphics: Kenney (The Open Bundle), Harriet Lloyd, Rory Stokes
Testing: Sophie Hollit, Kaustubh Naik, Myles Clark, Jaime von Schwarzburg

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#204Fun(Jam)3.13
#231Humor(Jam)2.67
#287Theme(Jam)3.08
#299Graphics(Jam)3.23
#319Innovation(Jam)2.92
#330Mood(Jam)2.81
#377Overall(Jam)2.92
#414Audio(Jam)2.40

Comments

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:23pm

cant play this even with multiple people -- is there something wrong?

Finn Stokes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:50am

It should work. What version are you running (windows or web) and if web, what browser? Also, what gamepads are you trying to use? It has only been tested with Xbox controllers and one setup for Playstation controllers.

Finn Stokes says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:03am

Oh, the other possibility is that the join screen just isn't clear enough. When you start up the game, at least two players need to press A to lock in their character before you can start.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:36am

Sorry man. No gamepad.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:48pm

I can't play, there aren't people that i could play. :(

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:01pm

I used those same characters for a game I was making :P

Finn Stokes says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:49am

Yeah, we should probably mention that we use a lot of graphics from the open bundle, I'll add that to the description.

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:56am

nice :D

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Love some local multiplayer stuff! Nice job

timmahh says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:16pm

I really want to play this but I only have on gamepad :(

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:17pm

I love localy plaed games need more of theme good game bro

Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:34am

Nice creatures!) Multiplayer is very actual, but need peoples or bots.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:40am

Local multiplayer AND controller exclusive...? I don't even have words for this :'(

myachin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:33am

cant play, sorry((

tchem says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Awesome game, great graphics and idea

ghostmaple says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Nice nice. I dig it. Took a little bit to figure out how the kills worked. I guess you need to hit the other player with one of the rotating shields? (Perhaps always move a shield to the front while boosting? A 3-shielder was killed a few times while boosting on a 1-shielder. Luck of the draw I suppose, but led to a couple of "What the heck, man? I totally had you." moments.)

Finn Stokes says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:26am

The orbiting balls simply display how many boosts you have available. The player that is red kills anyone they touch, and all other players do nothing. The premise is that the red person hunts the other players for 10 seconds, then a new player becomes red.

Jezzamon says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:59am

Hey, if you could add keyboard controls, that'd be sweet. Totally allowed (as porting)

CiderPunk says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:45pm

who's got more than one joypad connected to their PC?

Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Looks cute! Too bad I can't play, both for lack of controllers and lack of friends :(

Mesene says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:39pm

cant play :( :foreveralone:

imef says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:35am

Couldn't play without other people. :(

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Looks really interesting. It's a shame you can only play with multiple gamepads/other people. Unfortunately, I have neither. Ah well. :/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]