August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Solarions

by Photon - Jam Entry

I didn't get nearly as far with this as I wanted to, but this is what I got. The concept is there, and it turned out a bit better than I thought it might. Let me know what you think!

The Graycog Robots have polluted the Solarion world. The Solarions are going to fight back, but they are so low on the solar energy they depend on that they only can maintain high activity for 10 seconds max. Not to mention getting hurt by robos! But there are many, so if you manage your forces well, you may just survive!

DIRECTIONS:
Click on a bottom tile to select a Solarion, then click a blue space to place it.
P to Pause.
R to Reset and go back to first wave.

KNOWN ISSUES:
-Text turning orange. This appears to only happen once I publish to the web, so I'm not sure where exactly its coming from.

SOLARION SYNOPSIS (Left to right as seen at bottom):
Busterker (Short-range): Average but reliable go-getter
Emerphant (Short-range): Slower, but rapid, strong attack
Stonehedge (Mid-range): Lower speed and power than Emerphant, but better range and defense
Peckaxe (Short-range): Moves and attacks quickly
Fleat (Long-range): Very low power, but surprising range and defense
Belchworm (Mid-range): Below average defense but excellent offense
Neoqui (Long-range): Not fast or rapid, but high power and range
Crocoshar (Short-range): Strongest attack power of all

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#251Theme(Jam)3.18
#298Innovation(Jam)2.97
#358Overall(Jam)2.97
#358Fun(Jam)2.76
#375Graphics(Jam)2.94
#431Humor(Jam)1.82
#452Audio(Jam)2.13
#486Mood(Jam)2.31
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:17am

Nice idea, and the game can be handled softly. It was really easy, I won several times, without taking any risks.

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:59am

Very fun and clever! I had a bit of trouble at first figuring out what was going on, but once I understood lifespan and reload times and such, then I was able to play a bit more strategically. It's definitely worth refining, I think. Fun.

Satyre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:22am

I see how this is inspired by megaman.exe. Your artwork is very nice. It has a really good retro feeling. The gameplay is somehow challenging. Future updates could explain the different monster that the player can use, but it is somehow self explaining now :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:22am

Nice one for getting it finished photon, life/bar timer is a great mechanic.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Nice Mechanic dude.

Photon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:35pm

@Satyre: Haha... you caught me. I've wanted to make something similar to the MMBN combat system before, as I think its a pretty clever and well-done system in its own right (despite breaking from traditional MM mechanics). I have some other ideas I might like to try and implement if I decide to go farther with this, but for now it works relatively well.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:16am

Good Job. Great art style, good challenge. Well done.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:43pm

It was cute but also felt a little off, cant really describe it better than that

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Really liked the graphics for the creatures. Cool unique idea aswell.

M.O.U says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:40am

nice gameplay!

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:59am

Pretty cool little strategy game here. I like your take on the theme!

Vaalen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:56pm

It's a good game but it's really easy. Nice concept, though. :)

Makio says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Kinda cool ! I like it but over level 12 it beconme hard, wanna get it on iphone :D

jackyjjc says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:03am

Good Job! Get a bit lost in the beginning but after I realize what is going on then it turns more fun. It will be good if it can tell what type of enemy the player is facing this wave.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Surprisingly addictive :P
Could see this as a successful game on smartphones if you did some more work on it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]