August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mall Cop

by CMahaff - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare entry. The code is awful. But I did it with time to spare.

Basic idea of the game is to memorize who you are looking for (in 10 seconds) and detain them. More AIs are added over time, and more people to memorize. Some AIs will flee, so you have to use your 'taser'. All the specifics are explained in-game.

Sorry I can't have a live version available to play, but I don't have time/money to setup a personal host tonight.

Note: Does 'require' internet to download the font from Google.

Note 2: Tested in Chrome, but should work in any HTML5 canvas supported browser.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#78Humor3.53
#145Theme3.67
#478Innovation3.06
#548Overall3.06
#592Fun2.88
#618Graphics2.78
#630Mood2.63
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

GrimGary says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:37am

Neat game! I was a little tired while playing this, so I didn't do well! But I liked it. Here's your ticket!

rezoner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:14am

Send an email with proper package (I cannot find index.html in this one) to rezoner1337[at]gmail.com and I will host that one for you.

CMahaff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Thanks for the comments. I appreciate the hosting offer, but it's ok. I will try and set one up tonight. Hosting a live version definitely does make more people play it after all.

Thanks for the rating GrimGary! Will play your game when I have access to my Windows machine again.

Xinchro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Not bad, not bad. I especially like the "-redacted-" comment one of my innocent detainees gave me.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:57am

Tried it in firefox, opera and chrome and it only worked in chrome for me.

CMahaff says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:11pm

That's very odd. It works in Firefox and Chrome for me, should in Opera as well. It even ran in IE. Are you maybe using outdated versions of those browsers?

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:08am

My version of firefox is quite outdated but opera is the latest version. Also it is only the third screen that doesn't work. It gets all white.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:33am

I mean the fourth screen. The one that should have lots of people in it.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Great game! Simple but nonetheless challenging. And a great memory exercise, too. Well done!

The difficulty does go up a bit fast, I definitely wasn't ready for two suspects after just three levels.

Congratulations on a successful first LD entry! :D

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Really nice use of the theme. Good job!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:51pm

This is a fun game and very challenging. It gets really hard when you have to remember multiple different characters. I liked it a lot!

jplur says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:41pm

I would be a bad mall cop. Very good use of theme, and lots of humor thrown in, good job!

CMahaff says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:48am

Thanks for all the kind comments everyone!

manuq says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:27am

You have a potential game here.. is better to make authority look as fools :) I like the texts. Wish you luck!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:29am

i liked this -- the game was fun and made good use of the theme -- nice job

CMahaff says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Sorry about the delay, but a live version is now available!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]