August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Loopy Lumberjack

by UndergroundPixel - Jam Entry

Meet Burly. He's your average lumberjack, but he has a really odd dilemma: he never got over losing the 4th grade spelling bee. Now he's haunted by the letters everywhere he goes. It's getting in the way of his work, and if he can't get rid of his demons, he'll get himself fired! Can you help him save his job by getting rid of all the letters, or will the delusions overpower you yet again?

Controls: Arrow keys to move. Press Z, X, and C to chop the corresponding letters. Fill your rage bar in time (every 10 seconds) or you'll be heading to the unemployment office! Also, ENJOY THE DANCE MODE. ENJOY IT. IT'S THERE FOR YOUR ENJOYMENT, SIR OR MADAM.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#60Humor(Jam)3.55
#92Audio(Jam)3.51
#153Fun(Jam)3.28
#158Graphics(Jam)3.75
#197Overall(Jam)3.32
#252Mood(Jam)3.03
#267Innovation(Jam)3.03
#287Theme(Jam)3.08
#1970Coolness0%

Comments

namuol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:03am

"Fill your rage bar in time or you'll be heading to the unemployment office!"

This is my real life as a freelance programmer.

deammer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:40am

Fun game, love the non-stop frantic action. I was sortof just spamming the ZXC keys though :P

namuol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:53am

Needs some key-spam-protection, but bonus points for nonsensical achievements! (Actual bonus points for online leaderboards.)

I get the reasoning behind the stump/vine slowdown mechanic, but it's soooper frustrating (I felt actual lumberjack rage; mission accomplished? ;]).

farmergnome says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:54am

Cool entry guys! Love the mechanic.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Funny game, it's too easy to just run around spamming ZXC. The game started to lag horribly after sometime and I failed because of it. Good but unpolished.

The dance mode was hilarious!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:46am

Looks great! Fun to run around bashing all the tree letters. Music was really rad too.

JoeDev_net says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:45am

It was fun destroying the trees. The art and music were both really well done.

I did notice when my score got up to about 3000ish that it began to lag a bit, which resulted in my death.

Overall, good entry, I enjoyed it!

joekinglake says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:09am

Very nice game and a cool idea, great job. It took me a moment to realise the vines were slowing me down, i also found it maybe slowed me slightly too much. Very enjoyable though :-)

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:24am

Really fun game! Like others, I was just mashing ZXC, so that probably could have been reduced to one attack key. And maybe make the roots slow you down a little less? I'll stop complaining now, 'cause I really enjoyed it! Nice music too :)

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:15pm

How quirky and random :D Jokes apart, really enjoyed playing it, the controls felt a bit random at first (patches of dirt really slow you down *hardcore*) but it was a very fun experience.

Looking forward to see what you do next Ludum Dare :)

Zap says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:34am

<3 Dance Mode!
Bizarre combination of ideas, ha ha, and fun to play

syradinegames says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:35am

Fun button mashing game. Didn't quite feel in control, but the extras like leadership board and dance game are cool

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:23am

Very fun! Awesome artwork. Great music, just awesome overall!

Tiago says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:55am

very funny game! very relaxing to go frenetic on the little wood letters hahaha, great soundtrack too! great job!

pekka says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

Nice game but it had some loading issues - sometimes the game just froze and after a few seconds I was teleported to the next level. Don't know if this was a feature or a bug. Very good idea!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:28am

Nice solid game! It had some fps issues though and the slowdown from the dirt seemed a bit unnecessary. The chiptune was the best I've heard from any game! :)

hypp says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Nicely done!

wally2069 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Stupid trees, I chop you down good

awppy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:47pm

That dance mode! :D

flyingbear says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Totally demented, but in a good way! The lumberjack dance animations cracked me up!

Unept says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:06pm

LOL, funny and fun. I just missed the top 10 leader board! Those slow mud puddle worm things sure got frustrating, but still a fun experience overall.

(Psst, my game has an angry lumberjack in it too! Now we're buddies!)

BNeutral says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:06am

Dance mode is best mode. The normal game has some performance issues.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:32am

It's pretty easy to just keep spamming the ZXC-buttons, but other than that this is a fun and well polished game :)

GigaBass says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:04am

Very humurous game :) Random, funny and feels polished!

qbit says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:27am

BOOM :)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:01am

Looks great and really fun! The movement seemed a bit unpredictable but I don't know if that was my PC being weird?

graytest says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:46am

Started pretty good. But after a while it started lagging and my whole browser froze (chrome).

GarethIW says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:51pm

This is a serious game.

cwkx says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:58pm

A crazy lumberjack chomping up letters for 10 seconds of rage... awesome!

crueltear says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Nice graphics but game has some bugs.
Once I was walking on the way and in one moment I went into tree.
There was a road on left and right, but I couldn't go through there.
And I wasn't able to send score, there isn't ignore button, so I had to reload page.
But it's simple and funny game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]