August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Rolls On

by cappelnord - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well yeah, not very proud of this one but my other idea didn't work out at all and I could finish this in very little time.

There is a little margin, so you don't have to hit exactly 10 seconds - you still have to be quite right but it's not impossible! Due to network lag it's probably easier to beat in Europe.

It's Multiplayer by Design!

The page is shared between all users so you only can win if no one else is trying. You being the only one in the world on this site is a winning condition.

Or if you're feeling like a jerk you can prevent everybody from winning ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#30Innovation4.00
#59Theme3.88
#113Humor3.33
#660Overall2.96
#752Fun2.69
#894Graphics2.31
#934Mood2.19
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

Laguna says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Neat Idea! I am impressed how badly one can judge ten seconds o_O

jayitinc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:44am

HAHA I WAS ONE OF THE FIRST 7!!!

misson20000 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:31am

I like it, but it's a bit frustrating being off by 0.4 seconds. And network lag is an issue.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:44am

like the concept but it is impossible to win with people checking all the games

Just Tom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:55pm

NUMBER 14!

Very funny, very unique idea. Maybe needs a little polish, and check your win screen; I think it's broken but I got the jist of it.

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02pm

HAHAHahaha realy original i love it, 0.01 seconds and 11.04 :/ ;D

aritzh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:15pm

I got It!! The 15th!

Rember says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:09pm

I GOT RICKROLL'D AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Yes! I finally got it :D
And what a reward...
Very simple, but I think it's a brilliant idea, well done!

koe415 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Fun idea. Leaving it open whether someone else reloaded the page is great. SPOILER AHEAD!!!!! I got rolled.......

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Ha, this was interesting, can't quite get 10, but I'm getting very, very close..

vrld says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:33am

The only winning move is (for all others) not to play?

shockedfrog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Lag and such things spoil it a bit, but it's a nice idea and well presented. :)

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:47pm

interesting experiment.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:57am

Nice and simple! Elegant idea with a good execution :)

tryzor says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Nice idea! I really like the font ;)

DanteZack93 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Good idea but network lag is kind of a problem, maybe you should have done an "offline" version too

cappelnord says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:38pm

@DanteZack93: Offline-Play would miss the multiplayer/shared resource aspect completely.

doonay21 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Innovate as hell! BTW 35th attempt is mine ;) Good work!

Sep 11, 2013 @ 11:08pm

This one's original, good job :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]