August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tensek Mode

by Diventurer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Tensek Mode, you are a "thing" that tries to stay on the infinitely developing platform that changes mode every 10 seconds! Scary!

If you pick up a mode changer, the next mode will be of the mode changer you picked up.

CONTROLS:
Use 'W' to accelerate, and 'A' and 'D' to steer.
'Escape' to enter title screen.
'Return' to start game from title screen.

Try to beat your highscore, and keep an eye out for a sudden change in speed or platform development. Lightning Speedmode will get you for sure!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#309Audio2.97
#521Innovation3.00
#559Mood2.72
#584Overall3.03
#705Graphics2.64
#717Fun2.73
#765Theme2.93
#837Humor1.77

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:40pm

I hear sounds & have a taskbar icon but no game window. Win7/64 and yes I have vcredist.

Diventurer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:46pm

@Dark Acre Jack
Oh, that's always a tricky one...
Does the "_nocturne_log.txt" say anything?
If you could pastebin it, that would be great.
Thanks for trying anyway.
You could always try it on another computer though, if you can. Unless that's too much hassle.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:47pm

I thought this game had a really cool feeling to it with the visuals and music. It sort of felt like playing a music visualizer. Hypnotic and relaxing.

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Fun game!

Diventurer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:59pm

@handCraftedRadio
Thanks a lot! It makes me really happy that you enjoyed it!

@Sh1rogane
Thanks a lot to you too! :D

HighQuality says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Really interesting concept that feels both well polished and completed disregarding the obvious lack of a thorough highscore system.

The instructions also felt a bit unclear at first due to the fact that I somewhat panicked once I realized I only had 10 seconds to read it all, mostly because it seemed like the descriptions of the different modes were more important than they actually were. Also, even though the player controls were pretty straight forward it'd be nice to have them told to you without having to figure them out by yourself.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Windows 7 64 bit - game work as charm.

Diventurer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:04pm

@doonay21
Awesome! Did you enjoy it? :)

killmonday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Cool idea! Felt really trippy and weird in a sick but good way!

Diventurer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:59pm

@killmonday
Awesome! Thank you for playing! :D

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:41pm

The instructions could have been made much easier since the only thing you need to know is that you need to avoid the edges.

Diventurer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:39am

@Kragnir
While I agree, I have to say that it's not hard to figure out yourself. ;)

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Very fun game! Lovely use of the theme and very nice gameplay. Controls were a bit unresponsive at times but I really enjoyed it.

Diventurer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:56pm

@Bmanrules
Thanks, that means a lot! :D

Joror says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:22pm

I felt very wurmy while playing this. :D A bit hard to 'see' which way you are heading without a more accurate representation of your current heading though.

TammiLion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Gameplay feels good! I had a million and a half points, died at lightning speed mode XD

Diventurer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:07am

@Joror
Haha, well - you don't really need to 'see' which way you are heading. You just have to steer while considering the velocity.

@TammiLion
Awesome! :D And yeah, the lighting speedmode is definitely the hardest one. Nice highscore.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Quite pretty and very interesting music!

Diventurer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:12pm

@ashdnazg
Thanks a lot! :D

Reyn says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Seems your download link is broken :( Can ping the domain but the download hangs

Diventurer says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:32am

@Reyn
Yeah, I've noticed it myself. I'll upload to a new host.

dook says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:58pm

This was weird, but good and original :) There should be a highscore, I figure I got a lot of points at one point, but the game restarted before I could see.

Diventurer says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:42pm

@dook
There is a highscore, dook!
On the top-right corner, you can see the highscore, and even shows you the difference of your current score and highscore if you're currently beating it.

Thanks for playing!

Reyn says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Trippy :)

Diventurer says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:26pm

@Reyn
Thanks for trying! :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]