Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dungeon Run: Gauntlet

by N427 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WASD to move and Left Shift to use your shield.

It's an endless runner. You can't win, you just do a little better each time. You get 100 points for each extra second on the clock when you leave a room and you get 300 for each coin you collect. Don't be in a room when the timer reaches zero or you die!

Comment with your high scores!

Made in Unity in 48 hours.

Not sure if the Mac or Linux builds work, I run Windows so I've only tested the Windows and Web ones.

I will play and rate the games of *everyone* who comments on this game.

Once you're done playing this game check out my friend Kortuga's game! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=12952!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#302Theme3.44
#439Fun3.06
#498Graphics2.97
#584Overall3.03
#693Humor2.00
#772Mood2.46
#838Innovation2.59

Comments

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:45am

Nice game! I like the way the character moves. Pretty difficult though, maybe because I am terrible at it.

Flai says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Pretty cool game :) But pretty hard though and controls seemed a bit.. "floaty". Not necessarely bad thing though :P

Blooperly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Great game! Really fun to play. I would have liked some music and sound though.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Not sure if all levels are passable but you definitely need to be fast to play this one.

ZYXer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Nice game. I like the simple but harmonious graphics. The controls are a bit counterintuitive, but that just makes the game harder. :D

Falcon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Neat idea! I liked it a lot. Some audio would have been nice.

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Fun endless runner, rather hard and the control take some time to get used to but overall well done.

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Nice game, fast and easy to play as I like them :)
Only thing I believe the shield is super strong.

Btw get it a background music :D

stenol says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Good little game

mrcdk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Good game! It's pretty difficult so I like the challenge :)

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Controls feel really nice and smooth, plus the character is cute, rated highly. ^_^ Good work for 48hours! :D

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Nice! I agree with Falcon, some audio would make this game really good.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:09am

Not bad. I like the way the character rotates around, it's pretty cool. Although some times he wouldn't rotate all the way fast enough and I'd walk in to a saw. It would be nice if you could add some sort of check so the same room doesn't appear twice in a row. Overall, nice graphics, decent gameplay, not bad.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:10am

Also, I decided to fix the level 2 bug. You might want to go back and play the other levels, if you didn't already. =)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Hey, that was actually pretty cool. A little short for my tastes, but I really enjoyed the vibe. Reminded me of Atari's Adventure. Nice game, thumbs up to you.

The Jahn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:49am

Controls felt a bit sluggish, but other than that this is a pretty good game. Great work!

Also my top score was 10,700.

rylgh says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:14am

Very tough! Nice simple, effective sprites. Shield mechanic is good, forces you to decide whether you can get by without it and save it.

wintermute says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:13pm

I like the choice of commands and the design of the rooms with the choice between being greedy or not. Hard, though, and lacks music!

blackotus says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Nice level design and good difficulty!
I like the way it looks, too.

Good work!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Nice movement and feel. Would like to see you develop this more.

XaiZil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:08pm

This was cool, very tricky!

Starspell says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:09pm

I doubt the second level is even beatable but it doesn't really matter - you did say it was endless.

The graphics are ok but the controls aren't particularly well suited to this kind of gameplay. You really want something fast and sensitive.

Not bad overall, just needs more.

shard123 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Good work, I found myself trying to beat my high score for a while.

Sep 11, 2013 @ 11:05pm

I like the graphics. The game was kinda difficult since some levels may either just run until the exit or collect before run until the exit. Good game.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 5:20pm

This is good! I like the random rooms, it adds a lot of replayability.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]