August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Lead to Live

by TehLulzinator - Jam Entry

WARNING: This game is 8MB, please be patient if loading takes a while, we did not make a preloader!


"In a world filled with dangerous radiation, an enormous pile of lead is all that can save you."


Instructions: WASD/Arrows for movement. If it isn't clear, the upper left number is your time left, the upper right is your score. If you want to replay the ingame tutorial: refresh the game's webpage.

Some levels might be a bit hard, but learning is half the fun in this classic platforming game!

This is our first ever finished game! Thanks Ludum Dare community for everything, this competition is amazing! Special thanks to my dad and Villermen's parents for making this project possible.

Be sure to share highscores in the comments! :D

EDIT: There is no winning condition, JUST MORE RADIATION (and lead to eat, because come on: we all know you're eating it)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#137Audio(Jam)3.32
#168Fun(Jam)3.24
#240Overall(Jam)3.22
#245Theme(Jam)3.19
#256Humor(Jam)2.53
#407Mood(Jam)2.58
#420Graphics(Jam)2.81
#446Innovation(Jam)2.57

Comments

Stryphe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Nice take on the theme. I enjoyed it!

Canobie says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:36am

I liked it. *gives stamp of approval*

megashroom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:54am

That was a fine game.
The subtle touches such as the screen getting green when you're about to die were pretty good, and the level design was excellently difficult.

jprogman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:58am

Adding random level portions is a nice take. I almost thought the timer was not working at the beginning until I realized it was a tutorial. Nice work on the game!

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:56pm

I really enjoyed this game, the concept was very cool with dying prom radiation. Collecting those circles was my main goal and I wanted to get them badly. Very interesting music, sounded like a loop but was cool similar to TMNT. Overall 4 stars!

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Yeah, really like the randomization! Also I am bad at living. :-D

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Not shabby. A bit depressing that you can't win though. I feel fated to fail.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:09pm

@almightyzentaco
Sadly enough we didn't really have any good idea's for an end condition, nor did we have time left to work on one. I agree that the timer on its own isn't very fulfilling.

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:15am

This is so cool and well done. Congrats!

zn01wr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:25am

Nice level design and elements!

hypp says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Nice idea and design. And I like the oldskool "chip tune"!

Tanser says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Great game, a bit simple graphics but not that bad. :)

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:49pm

The controls could be better, but it's really fun to play. Great level design! My record was 109 seconds. =)

canvapps says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:22pm

good game! I've been playing for a long long time!
Really challenging :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:01am

Nice game. Loved the music :D

Morusque says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:04am

I love the random level design.

Delca says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Random level generation is good and seamless, and the game does not become simpler just because you know them all. I liked it!

Sanguine says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:50am

Audio didn't work for me unfortunately, I liked the atmosphere of the game.

cwkx says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:09pm

This was great, its very tough to do decent random generation - but you managed it amazingly!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]