August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hankerin Rocket Jocks

by sanojian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Conquering space is hungry work. There is only so much Tang you can stomach before its time for some real food. These rocket jocks know what they want and they are willing to pay top dollar to satisfy their cravings.

HTML5 game using box2dweb, raphaeljs, and buzz.js. I wrote this game to learn box2d because I have never written a physics game before. Very nice library! :-)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#127Humor3.29
#213Fun3.38
#226Theme3.52
#306Overall3.32
#325Innovation3.30
#356Graphics3.24
#458Mood2.85
#629Audio2.41

Comments

sol_hsa says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:14am

Getting those pizza slices to stay on board is pretty tricky =)

Dooleus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16am

Love the art and the sound effects. A little background music would be nice, but I don't really miss it for this style of gameplay, and I think the silence between the countdown sounds and the rocket blasting off and the coin noises actually works really well.

The concept is cool, and a great interpretation of the theme. I had fun stacking the food items careful at first, but I quickly switched to a strategy of 'click as fast as possible and overload the screen with food' which worked surprisingly well - the only level I didn't pass in one or two tries was the last one. If you wanted to dissuade the player from this style of play, you could limit the number of food items that can be placed for each attempt.

I was a little disappointed that there was no win screen. Even returning to the title screen would have been better than repeating level 12 again. I figured it was the last one due its name, but I was robbed of some of the satisfaction of beating it by not having the game give me any recognition of that fact. That's probably the only thing preventing me from giving this a 5/5.

ehnaton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22am

Nice Game)

vitou3d says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:29am

Creative gameplay. Good job

hypp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Fun and creative!

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Great concept :)

rezoner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25pm

That's nonsense. I love it.

rylgh says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Great idea, really fun! Laziest rocket engineers ever.

ben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Cool idea, I would've rathered if the next item to drop stayed the same rather than constantly changing so i could've strategised a bit more.

ivo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Great game, I hope that's how they do it at NASA

crashbanito says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Those darn slushees get me every time! I think it would be really cool to see other non-uniform ship designs.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:51pm

It took me a long time to figure out how to control this and also found no instructions :-(
But once I found out by clikcing madly on the screen it was quite fun. All these rubber food bounces so nicely.

GagaPete says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Very well done. The art style is not completely consistent (the font is to smooth) but I like the game play a lot. Very tough though.

VDZ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Nice little game. Dooleus has already said everything I have to say about this game.

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:41pm

I would expect that when I click the item will fall centered, not from left corner ;). For other things I agree with Dooleus (although I wasn't using that 'food rain' glitch to make progress :-)

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:24am

Cool game, really innovative!

vvolis says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:52pm

A game that rewars me for wasting resources. Excellent!

Per says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Got me hooked. Such a retarded countdown sound, a classic :)
Great job!

ezolotko says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Fun game

FunByJohn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Really great concept, really fun game :D only thing I'd point out is the "spam screen full of food" trick :P maybe a budget/max amount of money to spend on food per mission?

Probably something you've already thought of :P

Anyway, great art + game :D

meszka says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Very fun, silly gameplay :D Makes me want to make something with box2d too, maybe next time :) Countdown sound goes well with the general wackiness. A little challenging but not too much, I think the difficulty was just right for a short LD game.

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:18am

Fun spin on a physics game. I enjoyed it. I'd recommend setting some kind of limit on the number of items to created. I found out that spamming items all over the level was usually easier.

proc says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Little astronaut is a fun graphic, to go with a fun game. Shame there was no ending.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Neat! Love it! This would make an amazing mobile game! Make me an iOS version, okay? :-)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:53am

This is fun... I like it xD

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:07pm

HAHAH - that's ridiculous and awesome. It took me 4 goes to realise that I had to click... I was mashing the keyboard like a maniac trying to figure it out. Crazy idea though - more addictive than it should be.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:37am

mars can now enjoy pizza too.. fun game actually haha..

manuq says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Innovative use of a 2d physics engine!

dacap says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:53am

Pretty good idea. Fun. The only drawback is that you can fill the screen with food and the rocket will drag it anyway. I liked the concept to fill something with food and being limited by physical constraints.

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Interesting game. Although I was able to spam-click and fill the whole screen up with food and won quite easily. Maybe that should be a score reducer?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]