August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mahayana

by devwil - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The connection to the theme isn't necessarily explicit, but the theme is most definitely what brought me to this game.

This is probably one of the most personal, vulnerable games I've made... which is odd since it's adapted from a story I didn't write.

The gameplay is a fairly basic puzzle.

The game has five possible endings.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#864Overall2.73
#946Innovation2.40
#1698Coolness24%

Comments

mpath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:02am

I couldn't really "connect" with this game.

ix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:02am

Thanks for trying something like this; it would be cool to see a larger focus on story in other submissions. By the way, who wrote the story this is adapted from?

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:02am

I was able to mentally visualize this pretty well. I quite enjoyed the story/stories.

megashroom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:04am

That was both intense, smooth, and jarring at the same time.
Easily a mood 5/5.
Sadly, it was far to shocking to be "fun!" but it was still enjoyable to play.

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40am

Very interesting take on the theme!

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:41am

A hard game to rate, but not because of a lack of quality. Very well done.

devwil says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Thanks for the feedback, everyone!

ix: it's based on Buddhism's Parable of the Burning House, from the Lotus Sutra.

65C816 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:42pm

What's the original story ? Good job, it's really interesting twine entry.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:39am

enjoyed it =)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]