August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds to Live

by Darthone - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Roguelike Survival Game

The story so far

You have been captured and poisoned by Allen the Alchemist. He has thrown you into his dungeon and now you must slay the crazy alchemist's dungeon dwellers and scour seemingly endless rooms for an antidote.

Controls
W A S D - Basic Movement
Left Click - Attack
Q and E / Mouse Wheel - Change Weapons
R - Drop Currently Selected Weapon

Tips
You can find new randomly generated weapons in chests.
You lose 1 heart every 10 seconds so be careful.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#550Fun2.93
#631Theme3.10
#634Audio2.40
#686Mood2.56
#693Humor2.00
#700Overall2.93
#726Graphics2.60
#878Innovation2.52

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Really enjoyed playing this. Super challenging, and makes you want to keep playing until you beat it.

Stryphe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:03am

Nice implantation of the theme and good game!

Generalgore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:14am

Very hard, quite fun. good job!

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28am

This is great !


...
Okay, maybe a little more details :P
The game is very challenging, but in a good way. It can be a little unfair, mainly when changing rooms. Loved the different weapons, even if the sword is SO DAMN SLOW I COULD BREW MY OWN COFFEE BEFORE BEING DONE HITTING SOMETHING.( Yeah, I'm a fast brewer. ) Lacks a little audio, but otherwise excellent.
Good job !

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Like most parts of the game.

The weapon system seems unnecessarily complicated and time consuming though.

Solifuge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:34am

I liked the game, particularly the challenge. As a major balance consideration, though, consider that you lose 1 health every second, and it takes longer than 10 seconds on average to find a health potion to restore that lost HP. All I kept getting were mana potions I couldn't use because I rarely made it far enough to find a spell.

Unless you're extremely lucky, this game seems almost unbeatable. That said, I like it. With some balancing, I think it could be really fun to play.

Vaalen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:53pm

A good game rather difficult. But really addictive.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:07am

Nice gameplay!

motty says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:58am

:(

Nearly runs under Wine but doesn't seem to get the keyboard input. Mouse yes but not keyboard. Really wanted a go on this.

Oh well. Can't rate it as haven't played it but looks great.

Xaychru04 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:45am

I really enjoyed this game, It's sooo difficult! There are some collision problems with ennemies/boxes, but I doesn't impact the overall gameplay.

Sheep says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:22am

It's pretty hard. Less monsters would've been nice, haha. Overall good game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]