August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

awoid

by robb - Jam Entry

awoid is a fun two-player word game. Compete with your friends and see who's got a bottomless vocabulary.

Please try to play it against a friend if you can - the game is a lot more fun together.
If you need someone to play with, feel free to challenge us on Twitter where we're @felixjendrusch and @ceterum_censeo

We ended up not doing the "10 seconds" theme - a 10s timer running down as you chose you word ended up diminishing the strategic depth which takes more time. Hope you'll enjoy it anyway and thanks for rating!



How to play:

- Drag a letter from the bottom into the word.
- If your opponent catches you completing a word, you lose.
- However, if you're challenged, you need to name the word that you were building towards.
- Click Challenge if you think that there is not word that can be built.
- If you think, your opponent completed a word, click That's a Word
- Remember, the minimum word length is 3.

Made by Felix Jendrusch, Robert Boehnke and Sebastian Kessler. Find us at trickyard.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#42Innovation(Jam)3.77
#289Fun(Jam)2.94
#300Overall(Jam)3.10
#380Humor(Jam)2.05
#384Graphics(Jam)2.90
#445Mood(Jam)2.46
#474Audio(Jam)1.89
#588Theme(Jam)1.82

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:31pm

<3

designatius says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Nicely done. Actually I didn't play with someone else but looks perfectly balanced and original. Well done :)

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:42pm

I had a good few chuckles at this game

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Great little game, nicely executed.

Can't fathom the relevance to the theme though.

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Original idea but far from Ludum Dare current theme.
Looks great, well done though.

Blupsy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:37pm

The graphics were really pleasant and I liked the idea you were going for.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Pretty interesting little game. I wouldve liked to have tried it with someone but I had no one to play with( I know you said to hit you up on twitter but I disobeyed a direct order)

davidwparker says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:51pm

It was a little confusing at first, but it made sense eventually. I can see this as a words-with-friends type of addicting game. Make it pretty and make some money!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:54pm

FWIW, you can open a second browser window to play against yourself to see the game mechanics :>

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Beautifully executed, yet without the LD theme.

sittaman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Terribly simple and fantastic, would be great in a crowded social network

Starspell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Obviously missing the timer means that it doesn't follow the theme. Everything else is pretty good. The interface is good and easy to use. The rules are difficult to grasp at first but overall it's pretty good fun. A nice innovative set of rules.

Tanser says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Nice concept.

udo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:38pm

I really wish you had stuck with the theme, even if it made the game harder to play. Technically, this was well executed though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]