August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Crawl

by Twistedsnail - 48 Hour Compo Entry

*****************
*Important Note*
*****************
I didn't realize when I uploaded but this game might not render properly on older graphics cards or Intel GCs if they don't support OpenGL 3.3.
If your computer doesn't support it then it results in only white blocks and sound.

Due to Visual Studio being a dick, this game requires the latest vcredist, the installer has been packaged.

You start with 10 seconds(duh) but gain time for descending levels, opening chests and killing slugs.
You lose time slower when clearing the fog of war to encourage more exploring.

The aim is to descend as far as you can and get the most points.

The game will plop you right in to play, no intro or help so:
- Move with arrow keys.
- Hold Z to run while you have enough stamina.
- Press C to swing sword or zap staff (while you have uses).
- Press X to open chests or descend to next level.
- Press P to restart when(not if) you die.

There is only 1 enemy (damnit) which is a slug. It hurts on contact or spits slimeballs that slow you down.
You can kill them with either of the 2 weapons: the sword or staff.

The sword requires stamina to swing but is more direct.
The staff doesn't require stamina but it is harder to hit things.

Chests give you mixes of extra time, score points, stamina or a weapon.

Good Luck

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#377Graphics3.20
#393Fun3.11
#435Overall3.17
#489Mood2.81
#660Audio2.35
#735Humor1.96
#756Innovation2.71
#822Theme2.86

Comments

LevelUpJordan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17am

I really like it, best I've tried actually, everything feels mainly solid so my complaints are minor.
Firstly it feels a bit cheap that the slugs's sight seems greater than yours and they can shoot you before you see them.

Secondly once you collect your first chest the theme seems a bit redundant as the timer is now some arbitrary number. Honestly though even I think this is a pretty daft complaint as you still start with 10 seconds but maybe something to think about

If you could take a look at my game I'd be really grateful :)

frankbsad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:28am

it's a cool game, really cool. could do with a restart button though.

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:00am

Yeah I know, there is a secret one, press P to reset the whole thing.

Zelosfan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:16am

Besides the controls it was really good :D

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22am

A neat concept. I didn't seem to be able to use my sword though.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:37am

Funny game, and very simple. I like it! :)

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:58am

BlackBulletIV you have to reach a minimum stamina to swing your sword, so you must balance running and fighting etc.

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:35am

Really solid mechanics, would ease up a bit the difficulty on the first levels though. It's way too brutal at the beginning

poohshoes says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:05am

Doesn't work for me, its just showing some white blocks on the screen and making noise. I installed the redist even though I probably already had it installed but that didnt help.

thetheodor98 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Great game!

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40pm

poohshoes I think I know why, I chose to use OpenGL 3.3 techniques because it renders so much faster, the trade-off being some older graphics cards or maybe intel GCs (mostly in laptops) might not support it. Sorry, I'll add a note so others know.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:28am

Overrall a good game and fun to play. I have a minor gripe with the the fact that respawn key is not shown in game because, no, i didn't RTFM :P

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:06am

Pretty fun! Not sure I dig the stamina mechanic; it seems like an extra headache attached to a game that's really about running around and trying to find the stairs by the deadline.

Aslai says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:12pm

This game was pretty decent, but it was infuriating when I ran out of time when I was standing on the stairs to level 4 :(

Also I've never had problems with OpenGL 1 in 2D games. Having shader access is nice, but even naive OpenGL 1 tile rendering on my computer from 2004 works just fine. (No graphics card, using the Mesa driver on Linux. 1200MHz dual core CPU)

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Great little game, ran out of time loads, but it was great! I featured it in my LD27 compilation series if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/FJWNdgd85u0

shard123 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 1:52am

It opened and then stopped working

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]