August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Defense of the Zorion

by RobProductions - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A long, boring journey has finally lead to some action! A group of invading creatures are attacking the Zorion 10 SECONDS AT A TIME! It's up to you to defend the power grid at all cost!!!

This is a wave defense game that is also a first person shooter and a strategy game! Each wave only lasts 10 SECONDS!!! It's up to the player to strategically place turrets and to aim accurately in order to take on the uncoming waves of enemies!!!

CONTROLS:
W, A, S, D (or arrow keys) - Move
Spacebar - Jump
Mouse Button - Shoot
R - Reload
E - Buy / pick up / attach items
Z - Close help windows
1, 2, 3 - Select Weapon
Escape - Pause

To use upgrades, first unlock the glass door buy paying it with points (you'll get those from defeating enemies) then use "E" again to grab the upgrade. Turrets must be brought back to the defense room and placed in Holders. Guns will automatically be added to your person.

If you are lost, this is a tutorial to get the game started (spoilers if you want to figure it out yourself):

Buy the "door key" and grab it. Then place it in the Holder. This will unlock the door. Check out the upgrades and familiarize yourself with the locations of all the items. Then go to the defense room and attach the turret to a Holder. Then grab the gun, this will start the waves. Remember to combine turrets and your own shooting to stop the enemies! Also remember to buy upgrades after almost every round!

If you do happen to unlock the sword, grab it and run towards enemies to stab them. This is an instant kill. Except I doubt you'd unlock the sword :P

This is my 5th Ludum Dare, I hope you all enjoy the references to my other games in the upgrade room ;) Have fun and happy gaming!!! :D

ACTION PACKED TIMELAPSE:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=QBGMPLL_Vdg

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#257Audio3.07
#331Fun3.21
#401Overall3.21
#450Innovation3.11
#536Mood2.75
#606Graphics2.79
#668Humor2.05
#983Theme2.61
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:20pm

awesome graphics and lighting, really love it!

cschwartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:22pm

A fun take on tower defense. Liked that I had to walk to the other room to get upgrades. Gives a sense of urgency to something that is usually pretty boring during other td games.

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:22pm

The mouse controls on Mac are just impossible to use. The sensitivity of it is off the charts!

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Great idea! I loved the mechanic of running back to upgrade stuff. Very tense and the management aspect was a new twist. Really well done.

TomboFry says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:25pm

My final score was 377 after the first game, is that good or bad? :L Great game, I like it a lot except I find I never seem to have enough time between waves, as there is quite a bit of distance between rooms

Morgawr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Nice game, I loved the audio the most. Lots of content for just 48 hours, really great.

The movements felt a bit sluggish and trekking back to buy upgrades felt very annoying.

Xgor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Gotta say, this is really ambitious LD48 game. The whole 10s TD/FPS shooter is cool and it the style is quite nice. However the tutorial is pretty confusing and I had to look at the description how to start. It feels like the towers miss 95% of the time and it's really frustrating. And some more time to upgrade between rounds would be great.

Thepattybeast says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Nice game but very hard and the turrets seem pretty much useless would have been nice if they focused on the enemy and maybe did less damage

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:45pm

I really like this game, the idea of a wave based defense system just makes me like this game a lot more because I haven't seen an upgrade wave type game like this yet. It was really fun, and the theme was well implemented. I like the graphics because I like minimalist graphics, the audio is really good to! Like the music alot, not much humor at all. And the mood is good! Great job!

Linusson says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Fun game! Really intensive as you always have something to do, either run and buy weapon or kill enemies. :D

The first round I felt quite lost, but then I got the hang of it. It's a pretty hard game but I like it because it doesn't feel impossible, just hard. :)

The default mouse sensitivity was really high so it was good that you had an option to lower it. :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Thanks for playing! Yes, there is an option for mouse sensitivity and my mouse is really unresponsive so when making it the default is 10, but you can always change it!!

As for the towers, I know it's hard to miss but they do damage, just not a lot at first. The epic turret upgrade is an essential for the later levels! And the sword really helps too!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:49am

Great work, man! Minimalist graphics is a great strategy to get a 3D game in time for a Ludum Dare. Great sound and gameplay too. Congratulations!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Very good game, only those turrets were terrible at aiming... :) The rest was very cool!!!

Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Thanks for playing! Getting the turrets to aim was something that would probably have taken too much time.. so I had them set on a sine wave. The Stronger turrets do a lot of damage though!

Super Hamster says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Awesome game all the way! :D

fdevant says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Nice Job!
wish there was a way to skip the wait wen just grinding... 20 seconds are a bit too much time to wait (but sort of not enough to buy upgrades)

Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:24am

Thanks for playing! Well.... that's sort of the point! They gradually change to 30 seconds though in the later stages. I mean it's not like I can tell when you want to buy upgrades or when if you need to fix your turrets....

Almax27 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:35pm

That was really cool. Loved having the choice to use turrets etc to defend and the music great too.

Nice one.

Jedi says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Really addictive! But 20 seconds just seemed like too little time once things picked up, and too much time beforehand.

If the turrets were more useful, it would make the game more strategic and fun.

Issues aside, I played it quite a bit :).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]