August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds In Line

by monkeymad2 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A dying king genetically engineers 10 possible heirs, and now he has to place spikes to kill them off so only one reaches the crown.

Arrow keys to move the level along while in build mode.

Not very pleased with this at all, wanted more traps fewer bugs, nicer graphics, more interaction etc etc.

In an attempt to make a game I didn't think anyone else would make I forgot about the gameplay parts...


Concept wise I'm not even sure it stands up, it'll nearly always be place 9 traps -> kill 9 heirs -> Win.

But hey, take what you can from it.



Please use Chrome, will still be buggy but should at least work the first time around.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1806Coolness17%

Comments

rezoner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:26pm

what did I just played =0

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:01pm

I'm not sure if this is unplayable due to bugs or if it's just incomplete, because I can totally see the idea you are going for - it's just not really got enough "going" for it. The art is fantastic, the zombie dude is hilarious. The different brick textures are nice, but other than that the game is bug-ridden and slllloooooooooooooowwwwwwwww with no real objective or way to win lose in sight. Still, this is something that with a bit of polish and some more work could turn out to be a really amazing little game. I'd love to see more!

john_conder9 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Actually, re-reading the description again I'll say this: I used chrome and it was super laggy. If an heir reached the crown nothing happened. - Oh, that just made me realize you have to have just a SINGLE heir reach it. So I went back and did that, and AH. I won! Yay! Maybe I didn't see what you were going for before then :D I thought it was intended to be more like, say, some kind of trap-based TD or something. Anyway, I also noticed that the lag isn't really there until you manage to get back to the build area after the first time, at which point it's really bad. ANYWAY, either the game isn't very clear about the objective (a way to lose would help that :P) part of that misunderstanding must be my fault, so, whoops sorry :D

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:37pm

I loved the graphics, so moody! Overall the gameplay was enjoyable, but the player character hangs near the edges and generally behaves unpredictably. This entry would have been even better with some sound effects thrown in!

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Oh no, I commented on the wrong game, so sorry. The dangers of many open tabs. There doesn't seem to be a way to delete a comment. Anyway, here's the right one:

I'm not exactly sure how this was meant to be played since it seemed very slow on Chrome/Mac. Anyway, the heir and king graphics are very well done. Can't say much else about the gameplay though.

gre says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:40pm

CSS blur!!!

That game was weird.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:51pm

I played on this chrome, but it seems to be framing quite a bit. Something in the code might be taking up a lot of the memory. Do check it out. I bet the game will become faster once you fix the issue. I'd like to play the game once that's done. :)

Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Found this game hard to play but I liked it. I featured it in my LD27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GXNOecUq9c

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]