August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Space Rift

by GFM - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Synopsis
--------------------

Be careful!
Something happened and rifts are opening in space.
What's worse, aliens are coming from inside those breaches and are wrecking havoc!
Go forth and defeat 'em!


About
--------------------

'Space rift' is a vertical shmup. You must traverse space defeating waves of enemies. Each wave comes after a ten second interval from the previous.

Avoid shooting non-stop for too long. Your ship will start to flash in red and then will overheat. After that, you won't be able to shoot for ten seconds.

After some time, the boss will appear. The boss is invulnerable, except for the weapon it's using, which change every ten seconds. After defeating it, a new ship will become available.

Each ship has it's own special ability. The main ship can become invulnerable for 10 seconds and the second ship (ZW-TOT) can stop time for two seconds.

Enemies might drop collectable: either a shooter (a spreading one and the common turret) or power-ups (increased power, agility or more health).

You gain score by defeating enemies and grazing bullets.

Instruction
--------------------

Movement - arrow keys
Shoot - 'x'
Special - 'c'


Tools
--------------------

Language: AS3
Framework: Flixel
IDE: Flash Develop
Graphics: GIMP
Music: LMMS
Sounds: sfxr
Timelapse: Chronolapse


--------------------

THANK YOU FOR PLAYING. =D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#120Graphics3.81
#175Fun3.45
#225Audio3.14
#340Overall3.28
#347Mood3.02
#500Humor2.31
#944Theme2.68
#1077Innovation2.13

Comments

OldPeculier says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46am

Man I stink, or this is a bit too hard. Great graphics and sound though, and nice polish.

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:48am

Liked the graphical style. I'm a space-shooter kind of guy, so I liked it. Good. Not very innovative but well, it's a space shooter. Nice!

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:49am

Dodging bullets interested me and the graphics fascinated me! If you continue to develop this, have you considered having the aliens that descend and shoot turn toward the center after they shoot, so I can more easily shoot them without being in their bullet's trajectory?

Snail_Man says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:51am

Really nice shmup. The graphics were excellent!
Bit short though.

triforcespark says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:22am

This game highly reminds me of Touhou Project.
shmup, graze mechanic, and even the color schemes of the ships.
This is a good game, but better if you add strange bullets or enemies.

triforcespark says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:22am

This game highly reminds me of Touhou Project.
shmup, graze mechanic, and even the color schemes of the ships.
This is a good game, but better if you add some special (strange) bullets or enemies.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:34am

Nice graphics and music! The gameplay was pretty smooth too. The theme seemed a bit shoehorned though.

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:54am

Thanks for all the comments. :)

@ethankennerly, that's a good idea. I would get somewhat annoyed by those enemies,but didn't think about how to fix it. I'll do that on a later version! :D

@triforcespark, that was one of the inspirations (kinda). Though I was aiming to make a "non bullet hell" shmup. xD

@patrickgh3, that was one of my concerns (that it would look like that), but I wasn't able to think about any other way to use it, after I started the game...

Just Tom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:20pm

I wasn't sure what to put for fun, but while typing this in I realised just wanted to try and beat that boss again.

A cool SHMUP, bullets could stand out a little more and could use the theme more but the graphics were brilliant and the Music/Effects felt really perfect for it. Most of all, really addictive fun.

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:26pm

In scatter mode bullets can fly through boss! Anyway very good game!

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Outstanding graphics and audio design!

urth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Nice work!
I loved the graphics and the sounds.
I also did a shooter where the weapons randomly change every 10 seconds.

Eddy93 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Nice Graphics, especially the leader

ddionisio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55pm

I love the art and the game mechanic works really well. It's polished. I had a lot of fun!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:35am

Nice game, love me some scrolling shooters! I wasn't quite sure if my shots stopping working occasionally was intentional, like I'd run out of ammo, but I couldn't see how it recharged if it did. Made it to the end regardless :)

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Nice little shmup with good graphics.

The theme.. this was a bit easy man ;)

GFM says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:13am

Thanks again for all the comments. =D
It's great to know your thoughs on it. =)

@unusualcadence, I actually forgot to add it to the description (though it's on the in game help). If you keep shooting for long enough, your weapons will overheat (and thus, start to flash in red) and then stop to work. Should have made that more clear... ^^"

@patrickgh3, @Just Tom, @Dir3kt, well... I saw that coming. xD
During development I noticed that my take on the theme was quite light (and somewhat forced... I started to use 10s as the cooldown for pretty much everything). =X
I'll try to focus more on the theme, next time. (Maybe even on the post compo) ^^

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:25am

Lot of 10 second references here, which I personally found funny. I always wanted to make a space shooter. Great stuff.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:00am

Real good stuff. I wasn't expecting the boss. This game is quite hard for a bullet hell .. I really like the scanline look as well. Please rate my game! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=5288

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:45pm

seeing your love for games. the touhou and mgs reference. solid shooter. probably even more later on, but i keep dying. :D

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:01am

Really cool! hard to pick up the powerups, though

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:13am

nice space shooter! the boss had some cool attack patterns. overall a fun game!

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Nice game, but I struggled a bit to see the bullets. I'm red/green colour blind, so that might be it. Fun to play though. Good job!

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:46am

The controls felt clumsy, the ships don't move smoothly enough to actually do any leet bullet dodging. I feel like you tried to artificially balance that out by spamming extra lives. The cooldown thing with the first ship seems to add nothing meaningful or tactical to the shooting.

neso says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:28am

Nice game made fun :P
at the beginning it was kinda hard but after some tries i finished the bosses without 1 life loose :P nice work ^^

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:03am

A bit too difficult, but otherwise, very nicely designed. It was very fun and very well polished. Graphics definitely stood out.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Nice entry. Style was great, and style is a big deal to me. Unfortunately I'm red/green colorblind and this was almost impossible to play. I could barely see the enemy projectiles coming at my face.

Graphics, music, and gameplay were all solid and polished. I enjoyed it. Nice work.

Endurion says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Neat game, though a bit on the hard side.

The red bullets could stand out more.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Graphics and sounds are very good, but it's a bit too hard for me.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:18am

Spaceships'art is great, I like those sprites.
It's nice also you implemented bonuses but it seems that it's impossible to catch them when we are in invulnerability phase. Maybe it's intentional.

TijmenTio says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:29am

Cool game, had some fun with it. Only thing I didn't get was the supposed special ability of the first ship? Otherwise nice entry, good use of theme!

Chinchilla says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:09am

Nice little shmup! Nice work getting some varied boss patterns in there and the new ship added some replay value (Although I wasn't sure exactly what the difference was, faster bullets?)

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 10:39am

Pretty awesome game. Beat it with one life left!

lesterpig says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Really nice work, but sound effects are quite ;)
Wonderful particles, I love the graphics !

graytest says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Pretty nice game. I found it difficult. But overall a nice game.

Jason says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Nice take on the arcade shooter genre. I enjoyed it! I seemed to have a hard time picking up the power ups, and often they would go off screen before I could even get close. Guess its just a tough game!

fdevant says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:19am

Nice graphics and good controls. The whole ship getting hot and not firing is a good twist to a scrolling space-shooter.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 4:23am

Nice work! Very nice sounds, graphics and animations and everything were very well done. The boss took FOREVER to kill. I hate how you can't hit him sometimes I would just be PUMPING lasers into the ship and he would not die. Anyway, great work! Keep it up!

Sascha says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Really well done with lots of polish! One little nag: it felt unfair that one couldn't pick up power ups when invincible (ship special). Otherwise a great entry!

Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Nice and polished game! I like it! ;-)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]