August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Jellyfish Shall Rule the Earth

by bigbazwa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Evil jellyfish threaten to take over the earth. You have been sent underwater to stop them, but you can only hold your breath for 10 seconds! Collect bubbles in order to keep breathing.

WASD/Arrows - Move
Left Click - Shoot
Spacebar - Use Bomb
Alt-F4 - Quit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#291Humor2.75
#458Mood2.85
#495Graphics2.98
#552Audio2.56
#631Theme3.10
#676Overall2.95
#805Fun2.64
#884Innovation2.50

Comments

ModestArcade says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Cooool. The extreme inertia kind of reminds me of Crazy Gravity a little!

nihilocrat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25pm

I liked the fact that I had to shoot the legs, made the shooting a bit more interesting.

Also, "Jellyfish populations have spiralled out of control, and they have become EVIL." ^_^

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Interesting game, bit of hard to control but I guess it just takes some time to get used to.

farmergnome says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Loved the atmosphere and audio in this especially, great job.

CuberToy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Inertia is killing me ! Not that simple to master, but a really nice game overall.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Shooting things was fun. :D

TaleLore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Cool game.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:30am

11,000 points! The only having 10 seconds of air maximum makes it constantly tense and scary. Although I tend to die more often from getting shot. The Jellyfish losing legs when you hit them is a cool way to show damage without "health bars".

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:09pm

I kept dying fairly quickly, then I happened to look and see that I was running out of oxygen. "Oh yeah" I thought. "Oxygen is pretty important down here I suppose". The first time I landed on a platform and started spinning out of control I smiled. I don't know why, but I though the spinning was pretty cool. Man those jelly fish are mean!

blay09 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Nice graphics and cool underwater mood, but my mouse always went out of focus causing the aim to go crazy.

Infin8 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Great atmosphere in the game! The diver was moving like a madman though and shooting became hard after a while. Jellyfish seemed to stop spawning after a while though.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:40pm

The controls were way too slippery for my taste

bigbazwa says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Thanks for playing everyone! I guess the controls need some work, I never really spent any time tuning them after I first set them up :o

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:24am

Pretty fun game guys! My only issues was the amount of control you have (I guess it makes sense since you're underwater) and if you keep moving around you pick up insane speeds haha. I liked the seaweed down the bottom of the level and the effects when the jellyfish died were nice too : )

xrm0 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Nic art, but too much inertia for me.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:52pm

it looks and sounds good, but is extremely hard to control.

BenWhi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Cool boxy graphics, very nice when the jellyfish explodes. Fun to swim around. Good challenge!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Very interesting game. Loved the music!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:59pm

neat artwork and cool idea but the controls killed me - nice effort

cwkx says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Beautiful little game with a good sense of humor :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]