August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

It lasts longer when you're a genius

by Darien - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Somehow I got this done! Relativity and rocks. What more can you ask?

This is a simple little dodge-'em with a twist. I've updated the project page to include a standalone Windows version for people who, for whatever reason, can't or don't want to run the web version.

Proudly made with Flashpunk.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#94Humor3.43
#342Theme3.38
#702Innovation2.77
#832Fun2.59
#838Mood2.36
#859Audio1.81
#878Overall2.71
#975Graphics2.15

Comments

stepvhen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:33am

You score big on humor for sure. Fun little game, a bit difficult.

Darien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:10am

Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it. This is actually the closest thing to a balanced game I've made yet; most of them are impossible to win. ;-)

Amber says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:45am

So maybe I'm a little biased, but given that I know how much time you actually had to spend on this I think you did an awesome job. Hilarious as always!

ranf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:39am

Nice funny title. That was an interesting interpretation of the theme.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:49am

Nice way to play with the theme, and great humor. Perfect difficulty and length for an LD game.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:30am

Simple and sweet. Reminds me of Llamatron and Joust somehow, but that's a warm, fuzzy 20 years old memory :)

Darien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:36am

Wow, Llamatron and Joust? High praise! :-D

Thanks for all the kind words, guys!

drilltail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:43am

Cool idea, and hilarious writing.

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Ice-cream cargo? m) Imagine Star Trek with that story! XD

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:02pm

The story is interesting, I like it. You could add some powerups to the gameplay, such as speeds up or shield.

Andrew says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Bonus points for relativity but everything felt so slow compared to how fast I was supposed to be going.

DavidErosa says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:27am

Loved the instructions :D

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:58am

Haha pretty damn hard X_X. Sometimes you get so many UFO dudes going up and down in one area and it gets chaotic hah. Great take on the theme though 5 stars for that. Because einstein. ;)

Cryovat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:21pm

6.74. Perfect run! :D

This is the first time I've seen Einstein implicated in intergalactic ice cream discovery. The writing is hilarious.

The gameplay itself was pretty fun too. Got pretty hectic at the end. I think it would have benefit from a rising tone indicating speed. Apart from that, nice work! :)

BadgerPriest says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:16am

This is the best use of relativity in a game I've ever seen.

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:35am

Grats, Cryovat! :-D

Thanks everybody for the comments and feedback! I'm glad you're enjoying it.

kazukishida says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:38am

Haha, loved the interpretation of the theme! Was moderately fun -- it would have been more immersive if it had more eye candy, or good audio. Still, great writing, great game! :D

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:41am

Quite good! I like it.

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:47am

LOL! The story is really hilarious! :)
The game is graphically very basic, but is more fun than it looks! :)

Zap says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:17am

Once I had read the story and instructions I was in love
This is the first entry I've played that manipulates the length of 10 seconds - "because of Einstein" ha ha - great idea
My only issue is that it begins with a million things on screen, making it quite difficult right from the start.
It would be great to see this game worked on more :D

BackwardSpy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Absolutely hilarious, I love your sense of humour. The game itself is pretty enjoyable, not hugely difficult but not too easy either. The idea seems relatively (heh) unique. Good job!

drkrunk says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Simple yet challenging, I love it.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:36pm

good job

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Congratulations! You've made a fun game with a great take on the theme. :)
Also, you said you could edit our dialogues a little bit (The Wrong Door) - here is a link: http://goo.gl/Y2xyBs to the texts.
Many thanks!

BrothersT says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Yay! I beat it :) Lovely little game. Are you THE Free Radical games that made Timesplitters by any chance? ;P Sorry you had a hard time with our game :( We've added an invert y axis button thanks to your feedback! Cheers!

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:49pm

I'm afaid I'm not; coincidence, sadly. Thanks, everybody!

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:26am

The instructions were pretty funny. I successfully delivered the ice cream on my first run! Really clever take on the theme.

Ossi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:42am

That was super hilarious! Great writing for the setup of the story and the instructions! Your use of the theme is fantastic and very simple to understand. Love the cute little aliens darting around. Simple controls and challenging dodging gameplay is pretty fantastic! I wish there was more to the sound though, perhaps a warning ticker for the timer would give it more suspense. As well as the art could use more polish but it's really fun! Good job!

Darien says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:12am

Yeah, better sound was next on my to-do list, but time ran out. Glad you enjoyed it, though!

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:35am

good, polished game. challenging and fun.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:39pm

I am planning to move to the dessert planet ;)

Sebby says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:33am

Hehe, pretty cool! I like the idea, managed to beat it after a few tries. Fun! :D

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:39am

Hilarious game! Hurtling through space at mind-boggling speeds to deliver ice cream! Genius! Although another thing Einstein stated is that once reach that said speed you are looking for in the game, then matter expands causing the vehicle to grow larger in size. Would've been awesome to incorporate that!

Per says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Simple and fun but a bit challenging.
Nice writing :D

canvapps says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:13am

Instructions are great! We totally could have done better with ours so, I specially loved it :)
Great job!

Darien says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Thanks again to everybody who played and rated my game! You'll all awesome. :-D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]