August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The 10-Second Murder

by Rose - Jam Entry

In the middle of a dinner party, the power goes out for just 10 seconds - but that's long enough for a murderer to strike! Can you figure out who was responsible before you become their next victim? Use an innovative questioning system to reveal the secrets of four quirky characters and find the killer's motive.

HTML5 with Quintus (http://html5quintus.com/)

----

Improvements that I hope to add later:
- Loading screen.
- Music and sound effects.
- More art (e.g. backgrounds, character expressions.)
- A way to tell which topics you've already asked about.
- Currently the buttons are a bit buggy, so I'll be sure to fix that.

* FYI, there are 14 topic to unlock (so the last space will appear empty even after you've found everything.)

* Some people have commented that they don't know how to figure out the murderer. I admit, it's a bit subtle. If you're still stuck after trying it yourself, here's a walkthrough: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1eFSIkX7-nXIiWgcUrWNSL66vat4yGXFh7EbaREwOunY

----

For more games I've made, visit my website: http://roseabernathy.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#126Overall(Jam)3.48
#186Mood(Jam)3.20
#189Fun(Jam)3.18
#222Graphics(Jam)3.53
#315Innovation(Jam)2.93
#340Humor(Jam)2.22
#515Audio(Jam)1.38
#528Theme(Jam)2.49
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

megashroom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:48am

Heh, that was pretty enjoyable.
The level of detail in endings was pretty crazy too.
Is it wrong that I accused everyone of the murder?
Btw, some of the light grey buttons were unpressable.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30am

The story is really detailed. It makes me think of Conan the detective.
The graphics are quite good now. Hope to see the whole game when you finish!

Pitzik4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:36am

This game seemed very complete. I completely forgot that it was a Ludum Dare game most of the time and just enjoyed the game, which, unfortunately, is not true of all of the games I've tried. The correct option ended up being one of the last ones I tried, though. I would say more, but I don't want to spoil it to others.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:55am

"the professor has been shot and it must be by someone in this room!" I was like no shit? A nice tribute to the detective stories.
The writing was great and quite detailed, and kept the game entertaining to the end.
In the end it told me I caught the culprits but did I really?

Shugor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:05am

It seemed pretty tedious, but it's more likely because I'm a bad detective. There's also the known issues so yeah.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:33am

I love investigations, so I quite enjoyed the game! I'm not sure I found all the possible clews though since a spot was left empty at bottom right. So I'm a bit frustrated I had to try several options out of feelings to end the game instead of having found one last good clue...
It was still pretty enjoyable! :)

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:46pm

I really suck at being a detective. Also after 3 or 4 good attempts I found that clicking every box in frustration at the beginning didn't work. So I have to ask, how did you decide who did it?

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:56pm

I liked it, but I didn't like how after getting all the clues pointing out the killer was still just a wild guess. Still don't know who did it.

porglezomp says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Very fun!

Capro says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Very interesting game, but not much related with the theme.

martymon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:18pm

I like the characters. They have unique personalities

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Wow, simply wow. Although the relationship to the theme is pretty loose, the game is really enjoyable, well structured and well written. Exploring the possibilities is very cool and reminiscent of the best investigation games!

It's really cool to see that you get to uncover dirty secrets through simple questions. Very nice, I tip my hat to you! The graphics are good too, but it could have used some sound.

By the way, I found the right answer on my first try! ^^

Orni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:27pm

great use of the theme - loved the game
kind of reminded me of the 'Case Closed' anime/manga
Ludum Dare surely needs more games like this one

well done :)

Catmoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:50pm

I thought it was awesome, the questions were great and it was interesting being thrown towards believing others were the culprit. It could of done with a little audio but otherwise I thoroughly enjoyed it great job on the characters too!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:59am

Dammit Wayne I know its you just fess up already! A great game a nice change of pace.

BlackBird says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:31am

I played for a bit then started accusing people. I like that you need to dig up the proof before making accusations and the idea of telling a story that the player feels they dig into. If you find the time please comment / rate my game: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=1888

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:29am

Woo, I figured it out!
I had trouble clicking on the buttons, most often with Wayne. I either had to back out and talk to him again, or hunt around the corners of the buttons to get them to work.
Anyway, the story was fun to unravel and I liked the questioning system. Would have liked more opportunities to combine subjects, but I'm sure that would have taken far too much time for the jam!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:20am

Wow, I'm such a bad detective!
I found it difficult to remember their names. It'd be really helpful if you show their names alongside their portraits.

But overall, I enjoyed playing the game. The characters were really well drawn!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Very enjoyable with a good amount of detail.

FireZenk says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Nice characters, good game :)

Ithildin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:44pm

I enjoyed a lot the questioning mechanic, and the story was very interesting, with clearly defined characters. I managed to guess it right the first time, but I think it was mostly out of luck, as even though I had enough evidence, it wasn't that strong compared to the others' possible reasons.

Great job!!

Misfit says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Wow.. very polished one.

lesterpig says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Nice graphics but quickly boring and repetitive. Nice one, though :)

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:28pm

hard, but impressive that you did all this story pathing and writing in a short amount of time.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Loved the little clue like game! Very fun to play! I featured it in my compilation video of Ludum dare 27 games, if you'd like to check it out http://youtu.be/PSym67k7zBg

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Like a good Agatha Christie story and also that even though someone has died they have the same facial expressions all the time! Love it!

imef says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:57pm

An amazingly detailed story. And the dialog system is pretty cool!

Clicking on buttons was buggy at times (maybe because my pc is terrible).

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Pretty enjoyable game!

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:32pm

great graphics and design, lots of work involved in the detailed questionning, interesting take on the theme

nice work

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Ha! Wow this is so well-written!

The characters are detailed (nice illustrations btw!) and the whole thing was just a lot of fun!

Bonus points for having 2 girls as well as 2 boys.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:29pm

That's the best story-based game I've found here so far. Great dialogues, and I like how you could take every option alone or in connection with somebody else. It was fun learning about the relationships between the characters. In the end I needed the walkthrough though - I guess it was too subtle for me. Now that I think about it afterwards though, [SPOILER OMITTED] the only with with motive AND a way to do it - I guess I should've thought more about the line of motives :)

drkrunk says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:38am

I really liked this, it was fun trying to figure out whodunit. Although I realized I'm not really cut out to be a detective! Great work.

dekart says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:41pm

That's the amazing piece of work! I still didn't get the last clue so I don't know who's the murderer...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]