August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Low Battery

by RHY3756547 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a robot hunting for treasure in a cave system, however once unplugged from outlet you can only last 10 seconds without blowing up! Quickly collect all the treasure and each room's rare gemstone!

Of course, there are skeletons! Watch out for those.

--INSTRUCTIONS--

Play in fullscreen! Arrow keys to move/jump, X key to fire rockets!

---USABILITY CHANGES AS OF 26/08/13---
Added loading bar (instead of white screen) so it doesn't look like the game is broken, added Audio Element Backend to make game function on Firefox, fixed fullscreen for Firefox, make update loop asynchronous from render to deal with low framerate in Firefox.

Tested and working on Chrome 29 (stable) and Firefox 22 (stable). Works best on Chrome.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#24Fun3.94
#27Audio3.84
#41Graphics4.17
#45Overall3.89
#89Mood3.56
#110Humor3.35
#110Theme3.74
#515Innovation3.02

Comments

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:03am

This is awesome!! I was overwhelmed at first--there's so much going on that I sometimes can't even tell where my robot is. But sticking with it, this has a great frantic feel, and I can play taking in the whole screen at once. And I'm actually excited to reply the levels when I fail--this is incredibly fun! (And I also like the attention to detail with the countdown timer.)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Pretty awesome game, but it's to difficult for me finishing it... ;)

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28pm

There are way too many particles, the screen is busy as fuck. The mocking text when you die is funny the first few times, but after that it gets infuriating. The skeletons are adorable little fuckers, granted.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:02pm

The loading bar always seems to freeze after 3/4 for me

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Very fun but also very hard! I love the fast-pazed gameplay otherwise, though. The particles are awesome :D

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26pm

@Jimanzium Seems to be a problem with sending like 100 requests to dropbox, I've moved it to a webserver under CloudFlare CDN and it seems to load a lot faster and doesn't drop files.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:32pm

If anyone else gets loading problems can you post your browser + version? There might be problems running under Safari or Opera.

llamaguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:54pm

I like the graphics, the music and like fast paced plataforms, but what is the target? Too much particles and the text after die is funny in the first times like madk says.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Really fun, love the pixel art and the particle effects!

juaxix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Frantic pace allover the place!!, i could not reach the top but I enjoyed the way and the rockets , gj

source?

NuSan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Really fun game, awsomme graphics and particles, it's catchy and flashy, i love it. 10 second to finish the level is HARD, i cant pass the level 2, but i will comme back to it, and beat it ! One thing a bit bad, is that to win, you need to spam the X button.

joekinglake says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:51pm

5 across the board. Can not fault this game. Perfect.

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Really cool game!!
Graphics are top notch. Sound is really cool. And gameplay is addicting!
On the downside, as other has mentioned, there is a little too much going on on the screen at times. Maybe just a turn a liiitle bit down for the particles ;)

Also, i'd love to have jump on z or somewhere else than up. Don't know if it's just me, but i've always found movement easier/ more fluent when jump and move are separated.

Good work!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Really nice! Lovely particle parade, although it's a bit too difficult to see what's going on at times. The game runs very smoothly though and was fun to play!

The time limit is absolutely brutal, finished the final stage with 0.1 remaining in the timer. haha! Final score 15060. the stages could be juuust a little bit easier.

I found the snarky comments when failing a great little add on.

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10pm

That was intense. I like how it is challenging but totaly doable. You have to die a few times to get the layout of the level.

Satyre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:48am

Awsome gameplay and really great graphics and effects.

Entity2D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Very hard, but very addictive! I can't get past level 3.

Great use of particle effects!

Xgor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Have a great feel to it and I love the graphics and soundeffects. Would be nice if would be a a bit easier.

Vico says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Superhard, supercool! :D

Beavl says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Particles, baby! Wow, this was fun for sure! Congrats!

Clurect says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Very funny death messages. I really like the fast pace.

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Wow, great, music, grafix, level design, top notch!

syner_d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:19pm

you have earned all my respect, it's great fun! wanted to make games like that. = D
art is just too much! congratulations.

tigerj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:23pm

I wish the timer didn't start until you gave some input.

Other than that I had a fun time playing.

thanks, good game.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:47pm

The gameplay is fast-paced, well tweaked and tough as nails, the art and sound are both great!
On the downsides, though, I would mention a lack of originality, the ludicrous amount of particles that make a good trailer but become a nuisance during gameplay, and mocking your player at each failure.
Ernest Adams explains it way better than I would: http://tinyurl.com/mlxsa3k

Apart from those specific points, the game is truly amazing and I tip my hat to you! :D

elciodalosto says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:55pm

Excellent game!

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:09pm

The particle are really cool, but it can be hard to see where the player is. Awesome job!

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:12pm

About mocking the player on failure: I think if it's okay really depends on the person's sense of humor/their current state of mind. Might just not like the idea at all (like ernest), or they might be good for the first few deaths but not be happy after failing a few times and they might feel that it's a personal attack. I don't mean it that way, I swear!! I do want the player to win the game, it's just the difficulty curve is crazy steep because I only completed 4 levels :(

carlsommer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Definitely very fun but very frustrating. Perhaps it could be improved if each chest you got gave you an extra second?

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Wahh. So much fun. Would be nice to turn down the particles as the game is hard enough as it is. Felt like they were hiding a really cool game.

Zccc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:17pm

The particles and the controls were very annoying :( I couldn't see what I was doing and the platforming was hard because the wall jump slowed me a lot. Anywhay, it's very well built and desserves a high ranking.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:06pm

@RHY3756547 > I'm pretty sure you didn't mean to humiliate the player and I do agree that it widely depends on the player's state of mind. Just as you said, though, it's okay a couple of time but after some deaths it grows old and feels rude :p Maybe it's just because I'm terrible at this kind of games and I don't like the game itself to rub it in my face, hehe!

However, know that I did give a high humor rating because I had understood the intention being. Maybe you just went slightly overboard for me to really enjoy it, but I definitely didn't penalized it :D

PS: I played again, your VFX are really amazing...I'm jealous! :D

wine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Difficult and great!

Sebastian says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:34pm

So embarrassing story of the day, I somehow got muddled up and started spamming r instead of x for missiles. Took about 6 deaths to figure out what was going wrong haha! That aside, I must say this is a beautifully polished and extremely fun game. I wasn't a fan of the death texts (perhaps because I experienced so much of them!) Definitely one of my top entries for this Ludum Dare. Seriously good job!

DreamTeam says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:57pm

At first, I tried to play it with some kind of strategy, but it's obvious that the only way to do it is to jump as fast as possible and fire rockets like mad. It leads to a very frantic and action-packed quest to beat the clock. Some of these levels are designed really well to where you will only have a few moments to spare. I like the particle effects but I would personally prefer there to be less. Oh, and the messages are hilarious! -SB

Jason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Pretty chaotic, but fun! I enjoyed the humor and mocking when you failed.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Hard but really fun.

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:57am

Nice controls, nice game, nice graphics, the restart button could have been a bit quicker and the amount of particle effect could have been toned down a bit.

KevinZuhn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:03am

I had a lot of trouble wall jumping effectively, largely because in tighter corridors I couldn't tell whether I had gripped the wall or bounced off of it (due to the hurricane of particles).
Other than that I really liked the art style and the missiles and the pacing. I thought the ending messages were funny. If I got frustrated with them, it was more because they prevented me from trying again immediately.

tobbez says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:13am

Really fun!

Could've used a difficulty curve that wasn't quite as steep, but you seem aware of that already.

Doesn't work in Opera 12.16 by the way (it doesn't support requestAnimationFrame), so checking displaying some kind of message if the browser doesn't support requestAnimationFrame would be a good idea.

H-Bomb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:58am

I think the things that used to be in my eyesockets melted...
Cool sound and graphics, quite fun to play. Rated this very high.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:55pm

@tobbez I can download opera and test a SetInterval fallback, or maybe try oRequestAnimationFrame. Either way, I'll have a fix/warning up later today.

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Actually, works in the latest opera (16), so I just might need to make a setInterval fallback for older browsers.

antonijn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Good grief that was difficult! The particles made it quite hard to see anything as well, very polished and very good overall though!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:26am

This game was loads of fun! My only complaint is the particle effect were distracting, but they looked good otherwise. Nice work!

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:36am

Awesome game. Easily the most fun I've had with any of the games in the compo. Great art, great music, great gameplay.

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:15am

it is bonkers how good this game feels to play. a spectacle to watch too. i love the rude, damning messages.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:06am

Oh this is great. Love the gameplay and music, and the commentr are /glorious/

This is really hard and punishing though. I think you could get away with adding 10secs each chest.

Still, nice work!

Monoquartz says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Nice game. I like graphics but i think they are to many particles which hide the player.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:03pm

I started the game. I didn't read the description. Fast and hyping music started playing. I stared at the screen for two seconds. I moved. I died in half a second. The game asked me "come on what was that". I cannot imagine a better start! :D

Super frantic gameplay. AWESOME music. Over the top particle effects. EVERYTHING FITS TOGETHER. A little bit too hard though, but I had fun anyway!

It's not a super original interpretation of the theme and apart from being extremely frantic there isn't that much innovation there, but really, every single other category (and that hasn't happened before for me) gets 5/5. Woah!

PS: "game!!!" is the best title for a game webpage, haha :D

dcolgan says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Wow this game is exciting! I'm super impressed by the amount of particles smoothly updating on screen! Very fast paced and fun. Awesome job. You should keep going with this and put it on Kongregate!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Very fun, love the particles!

01010111 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:08am

I loved the particle effects, even though I could never tell what was going on. I feel like I would love the controls if I could ever see what my dude was doing though. The colors are fantastic! Great work!

rezoner says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Every time I beat the level I was like -- WTF just happened? Brilliant dynamics!

Antidote says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Had some trouble with the controls, the amount of particles appearing at each jump made it kind of confusing to me, so much happening on the screen D: love the graphics ^^

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:39pm

That's the best use of particles I've seen for a long time!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Whoa what an amount of particles! :) Loved the music also. Great frantic shooter/platformer. Really hard though, but a solid entry altogether.

Pol says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:01pm

It's real hard but HOLY SHIT I DID IT (and enjoyed it :D)
I like how the particles prevent you from seeing anything when you spam the rockets... While you have to if you don't want to step on those skeletons.

pereubu says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:39pm

particles particles particles particles particles particles particles particles particles particles particles particles particles particles particles particles particles particles particles particles particles particles particles particles
Luuuuuuuuuv partice, add moar D:

Solifuge says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:00am

Least user-friendly game ever.

...by which I mean, I have never played a game that I felt hated me to the point of open hostility, until this one. Rock on.

Very pretty, I like the frantic music and particles and all that. Nice game!

darkshadow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:36pm

The showers of particles while looking nice mean you can't see anything and really lags out the game. Controls felt frustrating, especially wall jumping. The sarcastic commentary on top of my almost continuous dying got annoying really quickly. Graphics look nice and game feels polished, it's a shame that a couple of little things ruined what would otherwise be an enjoyable game.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:57pm

WTF ^^ There have to be a epilepsy warning at the beginning... this game is full of speed and particle fun :D Love it... After I realized i can do a wall jump ^^

Sink says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:03am

YES I beat it! Fantastic game! I really enjoyed all the particle effects flying everywhere. Really satisfying when I got to the goal, this game was incredibly engaging.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:05am

Someone looooves their particles.

This is -almost- too hard, but not quite. Cute music.

TheBlade says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:12am

cool game i like the exploding skeletons

Teejay5 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:28am

this game has some personality! Really addictive, fun, and well done!(sorry didnt mean for that to rhyme).
Sometimes tho the particles cover the player so that I can't see him. Love the fast pace. PARTICLES

Mago says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Awesome game with awesome graphics and even more awesome music. So much awesomeness!

SneManden says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Wow, that's some game! Really love the explosions and fast pace of the game. Really hectic! But also quite difficult

Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Pretty fun game, but it gets frustrating. I like the music and effects, but whenever I jumped I'd lose my character in all the particles.

poohshoes says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:06pm

I can't see where the character is because of all the particles : P

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:23am

Very addictive.
Good work, man!

Aceria says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:52am

Addictively frustrating!

Sascha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Holy particle effects, batman! The jumping particle noise made the game unfairly difficult.

Apart from that it's a really well executed rage platformer. Love the graphics and sound, and difficult level design.

Capro says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:19am

Nice, hard and fast: I like it!

Erhune says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:49pm

A bit overwhelming and difficult to figure out what's going on, but also very satisfying gameplay, and quite awesome sound/graphics.

domrein says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:08am

This is awesome. Good job.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:16am

Really funny and hard game !

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:22am

holy crap there is stuff flying all over the place -- how awesome!

bitowl says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:00am

at first I thought I would never make it to the second level, but then I got attached and suddently the pressure became fun. no idea, how you did that. great game!

spitfire87 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:55am

Very challenging game, and the graphics and the idea are great. However i feel the controls need to be polished, specially when you jump near a wall and got slowed. Plus all these nice particles are a bit messy sometimes. Overall is still one of the best ludum games i tryed.

KaaPex says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Really fun!

Almax27 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 6:28pm

I love the particles all over the place! but it make it a bit hard to see anything xD

megashroom says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:26am

Ha, easily one of the funniest entries I've played, and definitely the hardest.
You captured a certain franticness excellently, and I from the first second of gameplay,cortisol and adrenaline were pumping into my bloodstream hard.
5/5 for everything.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:28pm

That was fun but really difficult, first level was very hard. Great graphics though.

urth says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Loved it!
Could be the next Super Meat Boy.
But cut down on the particle effect. You want the game to be hard not impossible due to particle blindness.

FunByJohn says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:29am

I LOVE THIS. Particles EVERYWHERE. I love particles. Man this is really fun. My final score was 15510. Did I do good? I would suggest something about jumping down from a ledge and then losing my momentum by hitting a wall, but WHO CARES particles everywhere!! :D 5/5 fun, 4/5 overall

graytest says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:15am

I think it is a cool game, but difficult. So much going on that it is hard to see where I am.

Sep 9, 2013 @ 2:56am

RAINBOW PUKING AWESOME and the pace is just balls to the walls!!
I would have mellowed it out *just a little* so the player can have time to enjoy the effects and gameplay without having to focus 100% on making the timer or die repeatedly in order to advance each level. But to each it's own!
The player messages are just plain hilarious. But the humor, along with a lot of the things that made this game great, kind of died out a little in the course of me dying way too much on the last two levels XD

meszka says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Very frantic, exciting gameplay. The particles add to the general confusion, but they look great :) It's nice that the song lasts exactly 10 seconds, you can tell how much time you have left just by listening.

wilbefast says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Arrrrgh! Whaaaat! Skeletons! Explosions! I am too slow for this game!

You are insane :)

Great little game though I think you may have gone just a little bit overboard the the particles ^^

Also: you are insane ;)

DuFF says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Fun, fast paced action. A little too much going on at once with all the particles, at least for my taste. Enjoyed the difficulty. Great entry overall.

JaJ says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Not a fan of the snark upon death, pretty pointless and not really funny in my opinion.

Other than that, absolutely fantastic entry!

jay griffin says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:30am

This is great stuff, a lot of fun to play. The difficulty didn't get me so much as up to jump did, that always kills me in fast-action platformers. Looks and sounds fantastic, feels really polished all round with some awesome (if a little overwhelming) particle effects. Nice one!

RHY3756547 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Game is now at http://amebo-emu.tk/ld27/, if anyone will even view this page again.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]