August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds Jump

by Hopps - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I didn't have much time on the weekend, but I still wanted to participate. I tried using Data Oriented Design in this (but mixed it up with OOP, because of time)...

As last time, if you leave a comment here I'll be going to vote your game as well ;)

I noticed that the sounds are maybe a bit loud, so you might want to turn down the volume before you start the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#296Fun3.26
#353Theme3.37
#594Audio2.47
#775Overall2.84
#1100Graphics1.89
#1148Innovation1.89
#1613Coolness30%

Comments

thesunnyk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:32pm

The audio was pretty grating, but overall the game was OK. Had some similarities to Thomas Was Alone. Also used the time mechanic when removing bars at a particular time or when stepped on. Fairly fun too. On the downside not very imaginative -- just a platformer with a 10 second limit.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:42am

The jumping was too floaty. But the idea was fun. Wish there were more obstacles.

Urfoex says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Good platformer.
Nice to have a bit of time to reach the end / not needing a perfect run to finish. Good timing.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:52am

Not bad. Dead simple but fun. I never really felt like the time limit was what stopped me though. It was always the red blocks or falling. I do wish that jump was on space instead of W though.

bitowl says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:38am

It needed a time to get a feel for the jumping, but then it was rather easy. I failed 13 times.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Great simple game. I featured it in my LD27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GXNOecUq9c

Toadpud says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Simple and fun.

Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Nice one! Simple but fun, solid mechanics, and the levels are quite good. Lacking in originality, but hey, we can't all not make platformers!

Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:33am

Crashes on OSX 10.8.4

Gidaio says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:46am

A very simple version of the platform-to-the-goal game, which is generally pretty good. There wasn't a lot going on other than an elemental manifestation of a genre, but I really like that genre, so I enjoyed the game. Could have had more in basically every aspect, but with the limitations of time and platform it was at least a solid version of what it is.

tryzor says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 10:07am

Simple but nice ;)
A score would be cool which counts the remaining time.

Sep 13, 2013 @ 10:46am

I really love the level design, though the jumping feels like it could have more weight to it. Great stuff!

Endurion says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:50pm

I get a

xception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: jump/jar
aused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: jump.jar

crazyrems says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 3:23pm

A casual entry, but certainly due to your lack of time, as you said.

SmudgedCat says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Short but fun. The controls seemed OK to me but it does that thing where you stop falling just before reaching the platform and then fall down again a little bit.

I'd have happily played a few more levels.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]