August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Korrod

by eelfroth - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The wizard has left the castle.

+++ In this hectic arcade shooter, the world is falling apart. +++ Every ten seconds a new environment is generated. +++ Take out as many enemies as possible in every round to get a highscore. +++


NOTE: If the graphics won't display properly, embrace the glitch!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#60Mood3.70
#62Audio3.61
#88Graphics3.92
#98Overall3.66
#243Theme3.50
#271Fun3.29
#436Humor2.45
#439Innovation3.13

Comments

st33d says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:52am

Font won't load on my Snow Leopard OSX. Made me feel like I was playing some kind of extra obtuse Michael Brough game (not a bad thing, but had no idea what was going on, and couldn't see walls or stuff).

Eelfroth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Allright. The Windows and Mac ports were broken (my dev-computer is a Linux, so I did'nt notice). I fixed the Windows port today, it should be working properly now.
Mac port comes tomorrow, if all goes well.

Sorry for the inconvenience!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:14am

Alright this is definitely the most stylish game I've played so far, I love the effects! The game is pretty fun, though I got stuck in blocked-in rooms more times than I would have liked. If you continue developing this, maybe add a pathfinding algorithm or something to make sure that all the assets in the randomly generated rooms are accessible :)

Feysoura says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:14am

Didn't know what the hell I was playing, but I LOVED the graphical interface. I can see some cactus' influence on it, am I correct?

olafurw says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:15am

wow, the art style is fantastic, and the audio work is top notch!

feyleaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:18am

I'm sorry, the screen was just a strobe-light. I heard sounds but nothing happened and it was giving me a headache...(on Windows 7)

mtrc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:20am

Really great. There's a bug (seemingly) where if you die, you can't move on respawn until the next room. However, i really liked everything about the game, really well done!

Mr.Greenhat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:23am

I really dig the graphics. I like how it is all distorted and weird. I played it on Linux, it was very slow (could be a performance issue on my laptop). I also didn't quite understand what was going on. I was able to locate my character and shoot some enemies. But the movement was a bit weird. On the other side - it fits the story pretty good :)

foumart says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:40am

This game has some really nice atmosphere. The gameplay is addicting as well but the character movement is a bit frustrating... when holding a key and the direction change i think. Shooting close to an enemy is hazard too. Good job so far !

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:45am

I tend to fall off the screen loads, but this game is really fun and addicting. I included it in my compilation video of LD27 games, if you wanna check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhxp6zWGaGM

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Impressive graphics, nice audio, great game :D

Eelfroth says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Ok, another quick update... I fixed a bug in the port, where player movement was seriously glitched at framerates below 60fps.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:21am

One of the most beautiful entries I have seen so far. I really like the 'rumble' effect.

ocmu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:22am

This is probably my favorite game so far. Reminds me of Robotron / Smash TV. Fun to play. Amazing art style. Only critique is that the text is kind of hard to read; you could have made the effect a little more subtle on the text. Great work!!!

borden says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:56am

Well, that was fantastic.

Morgawr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Wow dude, your game is so similar to my LD entry that I was genuinely surprised. It's also great, good job. I love the sound and the artstyle, the bit with the jumping/falling outside of the map was awesome.

Check out my game as well, they are really similar (although mine is turn-based and more unbalanced haha).

Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Had a couple of little bugs: I spawned inside a block once, and I also spawned another time and couldn't move. It's a great little game though, wonderful audio/visual effects (although the pulsating is a bit headache inducing). Nice entry!

superfoonly says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:40am

The look of this game is really cool, as are the sounds. I didn't see a mac port anywhere so I couldn't try it :(

X-0r says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:38pm

My char was stuck in boxes a lot, sometimes, I was unable to move even in "open" areas =/ Too bad the intro theme is that short, I kinda hoped for a soundtrack^^
You should probably add some sort of epilepsy warning, there's a lot of flashing going on here (which is a good thing, imo).

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:36am

Really stylish! The game looks a lot like "Wizard of Wor" from '80s. I love graphics, gfx and chiptune music. Controls are hard to manage just like WoW. :)

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:30am

My biggest complaint was the spawning behavior. Too often when the level changes did I find myself isolated from at least some of the enemies. One time I even spawned inside of a wall and had to wait for a new level. Outside of that, it was a fun arcade shooter.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:29am

darn, wont run for me -- windows 8 64bit

C:\Games\Temp\LD27\Korrod_Eelfroth_WIN>java -version
java version "1.7.0_17"
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_17-b02)
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 23.7-b01, mixed mode)

jwolf says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:31am

Really stylish take on Wizard of Wor (almost forgot the name). Rather difficult, too, but not in a bad way.

I ran into the same issue (or is that by design?) with the controls freezing for the level after dying.

Latcarf says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Doesn’t work here (ArchLinux, 64 bits). The sound works but the graphics are all broken, all I can see is a trail of triangles going to the upper right corner.

Here is my version of Java:
$ java -version
java version "1.7.0_40"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (IcedTea 2.4.1) (ArchLinux build 7.u40_2.4.1-3-x86_64)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 24.0-b50, mixed mode)

And here is the error message on the command line:
$ sh "Korrod (64 bit)"
OpenGL error 1280 at bot beginDraw(): invalid enumerant
OpenGL error 1280 at bot endDraw(): invalid enumerant
OpenGL error 1282 at bot endDraw(): invalid operation
OpenGL error 1282 at bot beginDraw(): invalid operation
X11Util.Display: Shutdown (JVM shutdown: true, open (no close attempt): 1/1, reusable (open, marked uncloseable): 0, pending (open in creation order): 1)
X11Util: Open X11 Display Connections: 1
X11Util: Open[0]: NamedX11Display[:0, 0x7fb14433e2f0, refCount 1, unCloseable false]

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Cool game. Like it. Like the graphics.

Jedi says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Quirky and awesome! I love the glitched-out-atari mood!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]