August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hyper Furball

by DDRKirby(ISQ) - Jam Entry

I am very proud to present our entry, Hyper Furball!

It's a side-scrolling RPG about a cute cat named Furball, trying to rid the world of mushrooms and babies. When Furball finds milk, he turns into HYPER FURBALL for 10 seconds! Can you reach level 15 and defeat the evil boss?

- 9-track original chiptune soundtrack by DDRKirby(ISQ)!
Listen to it using the Jukebox in-game, or download it at:
http://ddrkirbyisq.bandcamp.com/album/hyper-furball-original-soundtrack

- Hand-drawn art by xellaya!

Tools/Frameworks used:
- FL Studio
- FlashDevelop
- FlashPunk
- Paint Tool SAI
- GIMP
- LabChirp

DDRKirby(ISQ)'s music: http://ddrkirbyisq.bandcamp.com/

My current records:
Normal Mode, no continues: 3:54 - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-TevoNBYFmY
Hard Mode, no continues: 3:46 - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D7UWfCJ7i6I
I also have a Hard Mode 3:38 run, but not on video ^^;

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio(Jam)4.61
Fun(Jam)4.37
Coolness51%
#4Overall(Jam)4.26
#13Humor(Jam)4.11
#19Mood(Jam)4.05
#34Graphics(Jam)4.39
#118Innovation(Jam)3.41
#438Theme(Jam)2.79

Comments

syawqy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:52am

I really like it when entering hyper furball mode

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:55am

That was a lot of mileage you got out of a simple mechanic. The upgrades made sense as did the progression system. Great job all around.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:24am

A sample run of normal mode: https://sphotos-a-sjc.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-prn2/1170843_10201189790681054_1177605334_n.jpg

4:15, no continues. Can you beat it?

Vaalen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:08am

My favourite game at the moment ! It's really fun especially the hyper mode !

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Incredible. Got me playing for like 15 minutes (until i realized the game was endless hahaha)

Great job you guys!

Kimidori says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:16pm

BEST LUDUM DARE GAME PLAYED SO FAR!!

would rate 6 stars if it was possible. :D

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:05pm

@Foxtacy: The game is not endless; there's a boss at level 15 :)

LegacyCrono says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:59am

Wow, this is amazing!! The musics are wonderful, and the gameplay is incredibly fun! The use of the theme was kinda lame though. :P Still, one of my favorite in this LD so far! Good job!

Xgor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:58pm

It's DDRKirby.. so instant 5 for audio.
Combat could have been fleshed out more than block and attack (And it's waaay to easy when you get the long arm as you get longer range than the enemy), But I really enjoyed it. Another really enjoyable entry from you :)

bitserum says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:49am

Addictive, very much so :)

ddionisio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:59pm

When I saw the picture of the cat while browsing the entries, I knew right away I have to play this game. I have no regrets!

I'll have to play this again to get to the end.

I love the art throughout, and omg, the music is so good!

The gameplay might've been overly simplistic, but the hypermode makes it fun.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Hyper furball mode is my jam. I am envious of your musical skills! Great work on all parts of this.

johnfn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Hahaha... Lots of fun, super cute graphics, great music. Though I kind of wanted some more variation out of the gameplay later on, this didn't really detract too much from how much fun it was. Hyper furball mode was appropriately insane. :D

GFM says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:41pm

As always, suberb music! :D
I always look forward to your great chiptune music. ^^

The game is great and I played it 4 times, I think, trying to beat your highscore... I'll come back later to try again! (4:50 something was my best time, dying 4 times >.<)

The graphics are really simple, which adds a lot to the atmosphere!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:10am

Really nice game, musics and sounds are awesome!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:13am

Loved it! Great audio. Very addicting gameplay, great work!

BNeutral says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:36am

One of the best LD things I've played. So cute too.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Hard mode: https://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/1238801_10201209682658341_2096374654_n.jpg

4:40, no continues. Hard mode is fun!

Ithildin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Great music and very detailed, cute graphics! :)

I've played several levels so far and my only complain is that it gets a bit repetitive (I love the levelups, they're one of the main reasons why it's compelling to keep playing). Also, the theme plug is loose at best. Despite this, the game clearly reflects how much work has been put in it.

Congratulations!!

SneManden says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:47am

Wow, really nice game! Really great with the upgrade-system; really prolongs the game. And the hyper-mode was really nice done.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:40am

From the story to the music this game is excellent.
I was afraid the slash and move would have been annoying after a while, but thanks to the right upgrades, it becomes almost funnier.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:26pm

The gameplay is pretty simple, but music, graphics and sfx make up for that. And then exactly I thought - okay, but that is a bit repetitive, I level up and up pops a skill upgrade menu! It still got a little bit repetitive, but really only a bit - I had a lot of fun!

I love the intro. And the ending. And the last boss, haha. That one was really unexpected and clever.

The graphics - woah, I can't get over how adorable those character designs are! And the backgrounds are super great too. And the music - the music! I've downloaded the soundtrack and I'm listening to it while I write this comment.

This is an amazing entry!

Arcana says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Oddly enough I was really entertained by reading the liner notes in the Jukebox, and absolutely amazed that you spent an hour and twelve minutes on the 200bpm 8-bar loop :)

Great graphics and audio work, the gameplay mechanic was pretty simple but it was compelling enough for me to keep playing. I think more variety in attack patterns and enemies as you progressed would have kept the game more interesting - I think every enemy attacked at the same rate so you got a good idea of how to effectively attack.

The upgrades and hyper mode were really fun.

Great work!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:29am

I've recorded two speedruns of myself blazing through the game - one on normal mode and one on hard mode. Fun! :)

radmars says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:03am

Great style & great music as usual. Gameplay gets a bit stale but hyper mode IMMENSELY makes up for it :D Nice job!

psychomonster says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:46pm

That is ... mhmhmhm ... I don't know... I mean... this... IS SO FUNNY!!!! Hahah I laughed all the time... Innovation Award!

Diptoman says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Awesome entry! Even though the theme is themes isn't perfectly implemented, everything else is perfect! Very, very impressive for a game made in 3 days. And cool soundtrack!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Well the gameplay could have been more varied, but the music is so great *.* Also loved the graphics. This was a ton of fun.

manuq says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:16pm

The upgrades were fantastic. Well planned!

Gabriel says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Very nice! Even though the mechanics are simple (specially after you get a high attack power and range, which renders the defense less necessary), you really get all the juice out of it! Also, due to a sum of simplicity, great level of polish and excellent aesthehics, the game is simply FUN! Seriously guys, this is one hell of an aesthetical accomplishment. The music, in particular, is extremely good and appropriate for the frantic, nonsense atmosphere of the game. Congratulations, one of the best games I've played so far, I think I distributed like 784 stars all over your ratings. hahahah

Cheers!

Eddy93 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:52am

A.a.a.awesome!

bombjack says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:47am

So much fun in this game! I loved the hyper milk mode!

ComicSans says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:12am

At first I thought the limited enemy interactions were going to ruin my fun, but the upgrade system kept it interesting. Nice job!

Pierrec says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Woah...
This sure was a lot of fun!
The theme is a bit light, but that would be my only critic

Tegu says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:32pm

The cat is so cute! I really like the art of this game. The gameplay itself was OK and the upgrades kept me interested. The normal mode is pretty easy especially after getting some upgrades. And in the end the hyper mode was just pressing forward and watching how the cat mercilessly destroys everything it encounters in split second. :D It's funny though. Hard mode isn't that easy and needs more use of defense which is nice. Somehow the level up or hyper mode music tends to get stuck in a loop and is repeated until I close the game. It gets somewhat annoying.
An excellent overall! :)

jackyjjc says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Nothing can go wrong with Cat! So cute :3 I enjoyed the game, it wasn't really long and it was fun. There are different skills to explore, gameplay seems a bit repetitive towards the end but the game ends at a good time so overall it was really fun.

TijmenTio says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Fun, cute, awesome, HYPER, addictive, just aaaah it's GREAT!!!! Too bad I went HYPER just before the boss battle, so I didn't really get to see him. But that's okay, I felt special :)

megashroom says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Simply amazing.
It didn't feel grindy at all, purely enjoyable.

CarbonCoder says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Fantastic game!

pythong says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Until now, my favourite game by far! Though the gameplay is simple, it merges together music, graphics and cuteness that it fits awesome!
Small minus: when getting to (about) lvl 11, everything seems to get slower. Maybe you should check the garbage collection in flash a bit, removing dead shrooms and dead babies ;)

drkrunk says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Awesome game. The music is really well done and the progression of the game is perfect.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Cool game but I have to admit it is a bit weird, I mean, the graphics are so cute and fluffy and after all we are killing babies and mushrooms... and baby-shrooms, I feel a bit guilty but overall it was very fun.

Sascha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Wow, I absolutely loved this game. Gameplay is solid and the upgrades keep it interesting. And Graphics, story and overall visuals are terribly cute and make a full, well-rounded game. And the soundtrack is completely mind-blowing. Especially "Search the Ruins". Wow! For 72 hours alone that would have been amazing.

All in all, an incredibly polished and fun game!

darkshadow says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:55pm

HYPER FURBALL MODE! :D upgrades are really good (though I found things became a lot easier with long arms and most of the hyper upgrades), I was starting to wonder if the game was endless but then I found the ending. Really fun and feels like a complete well rounded game rather something rushed out in 72 hours.

michail says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:29pm

The most epic and awesome game I've ever played on Ludum Dare! It has everything: a cat, a boss, good humor and turbo mode! Purrfect!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:31pm

This is just unbelievably fantastic. The sound is top notch. The art is great. There's even a lot more design and player choice in there than I had first thought. Great job!

vanderZwan says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Adorable graphics and fun music, great little "button mashing" RPG.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Music awesome, graphics ADORABLE, so much work has gone into this! Amazing you guys, +++++ votes!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:27pm

and bonus points for making an upgrade system. just WOW

Crowbeak says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:34pm

OMFG. This is fantastic. <3 Bravo. Just... just bravo.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:20pm

haha, adorably awesome! love the music, visuals and story. a little repetitive gameplay, but definitely fun and polished.

euske says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:20pm

The music is very good, but it's a little bit in the way.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:08pm

I love cats and I love insane things happening fast whilst surrounded by colours. This ticks all the boxes

Wertle says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:45am

Simple but fun, really good job making a nice whole package and getting a bit of polish all around. The progression and skill upgrades made the ramping feel pretty good, and I'm sure it'll be great with some balancing and tuning. Good job!

Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:00am

I think I just got happiness poisoning. Great work!

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:04am

It's amazing how addicting such a simple game can be. The music was superb and the graphics pleased the eye. Great job on the upgrade system. :) Very good game!

Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:59am

An awesome game, very very addictive, that was awesome

BadgerPriest says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:01am

The gameplay gets pretty repetitive up until the end part, but I'd be lying if I said it wasn't amazingly fun. The game length seems perfect, and the upgrade system is very well designed for keeping the game interesting. If you work on it more in the future, adding more types of enemies could really add a lot of replay value to this game.

EggDestroyer says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:27am

The amount of work you put into this game is absolutely stunning. Everything is top notch : art, music, polish level (several environnements ? Several GAME MODES ? Sort-of-balanced upgrades !!??). Only your use of the theme is quite weak imo. I have some remarks if you wanna work on a post-jam version.

I would have liked some extra variety in the enemies behavious tho, and some extra challenge, as the game is quite easy and repeats the same pattern again & again. The "fuzzy cat" (ultimate defense) upgrade isn't so easy to understand either, as I would have expected the block to be absolute to begin with.

rpmoura says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Really great!

voidstar69 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:39pm

The gameplay of attacking and blocking is quite repetitive, but everything else is absolutely brilliant: the artwork, music, intro, RPG-like upgrade system and psychedelic hyper furball mode! Well done!

someone says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:45pm

That was epic. Hyper mode with the massive claw fully upgraded was hilarious!
Excellent music, well done.

Jiggawatt says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Woah, great job with the audio. The masses want more and promise to do their best to not execute the emperor this year. I also like the details like upgrades having their own icons.

Too bad the core gameplay gets old fast. It's like eating rice with lots of spice, there's spice but it's still just rice, y'know?

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:47am

This is the 51th game I'm rating and I can say it is my favorite one by far. The upgrading system is very sweet, sound track is AMAZING, graphics are absolutely beautiful.

My first run results: https://twitter.com/ghRibacki/status/376219139011928066

I seriously doubt I'll find a game that I like more than Hyper Furball in this Ludum Dare edition!

raarlac says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Fantastic game!! I was so sad when the game was over. I was in godmode :(
The theme was bad implemented in my opinion though

Erhune says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Awesome intro! :)

LTyrosine says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Nice game. Very well polished with nice tutorial and power ups. THE MUSICS ARE AMZING!! The only downside is the theme usage but wonderful work. Congrats.

iiechapman says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:23pm

This game was very addicting, loved the upgrade system, wanted to see how far I could go, the game overall is fairly basic but its super fun! Great music and sound effects too, really wrapped it all together!

Antidote says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:37am

My first impressions on the game: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bPVf_T-kHSQ ^^

Nehmulos says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Cool game. The music and the graphics are really good.
I disliked that the fighting didn't really get more complex through the game. So I was happy to get some more diversity once I reached the endboss.

Sep 8, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Hyper furball is like a good trip! :)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 12:54am

I've just updated the file to v1.05. The only new feature is Japanese language support (thanks to A-zu-ra for the translations), so I believe this should fall within the compo rules :)

Jason says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Nicely done! The biggest complaint I had was the sound volume was really loud. On my iMac I had to turn my volume to 0.25 bars (the lowest possible) and still thought it was loud. But other than that, it was great!

nthird says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 5:59pm

All around fantastic. Really liked the upgrade system, and the graphics and audio were both all around top notch. My only suggestion is that I wish I restarted at the beginning each time I died so that the upgrades were carrying me through the easier stuff faster. And I'd love to be able to keep going after the boss to take full advantage of a full upgraded cat :D And hyper mode was amazing!

Linusson says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 10:28am

I love this game! It was so much fun and I played it all the way through. Great work! :D

Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:59pm

THIS is LD #1. Played all the way through, great pacing and just wonderful! Dont know what I can say kirby.. 5 stars in everything! Would give more if I could, amazing!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Thanks for all the support, everyone! Voting is almost over :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]