August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Talking Is A Free Action

by VDZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(Last updated on May 2, 2014. The original version is still kept for the record, but I strongly recommend playing the post-LD version instead.)



You have been cursed by the Time Witch!
Whenever you spend more than ten seconds in the same
room, suddenly you'll find yourself sent back in time
to when you first entered the room!

You set out to defeat the Time Witch, ten seconds at a time!



NOTE: Every level CAN be completed.



Controls:
Left/Right - Move
Up - Jump/Ascend ladder
Down - Descend ladder
Z - Interact with object/talk to person
X - Pick up object/drop object
F or Alt-Enter - Toggle fullscreen



TIAFA is a Windows-only game using .NET 4 and XNA Framework 4. If you don't have those or are not sure, pick the large download. Alternatively, you can download them here:

.NET Framework 4:
https://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=17851
XNA Framework 4:
https://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=20914



This game is public domain. Feel free to do whatever you want with it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#134Humor3.26
#145Theme3.67
#202Overall3.46
#254Audio3.08
#271Fun3.29
#292Mood3.09
#403Innovation3.17
#789Graphics2.50
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

Tifu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21pm

When I extracted the zip (download (normal)) I got "CRC failed in Content\music\level1.xnb. The file is corrupt". Game ran, but crashed when I entered tutorial level 1. Other levels seemed to run fine though! Player seemed to stick to the ground at times, I seemed to have to jump before I could move again.

I like the mechanic of keeping what item you hold when the world resets, interesting puzzles! Final level seems impossible unless I'm missing something...

VDZ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Thanks for pointing that out, there seems to have been some data corruption in uploading. I've re-uploaded both versions and they should both work now.

Every level can be completed. However, the impossible level requires a very unorthodox solution, and the final boss requires a combination of thinking and quick action.

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:03am

Even though the visual style is simple, I rather liked it! The music helped set a good tone. Even though the whole cursed by Time Witch thing is a silly contrivance for the mechanic, I actually really liked it. Only big issue is somethings the character wouldn't move at all, requiring me to jump before anything would happen. It made completing some rooms difficult.

Ninja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:09am

Nice, I like the mechanic of keeping items after the time runs out. I was able to defeat the witch with about 1 second left after much trial and error.

There was a problem with movement occasionally, I would need to push left or right a few times to unstick from the floor.

mrcdk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:21am

Nice game. I liked the mechanics but the movement wouldn't work from time to time :S

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:07am

I liked this one! Quirky and funny dialogues!

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Nice little game! Always like to hear some nice music in LD games :)

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Really awesome, rated highly.
The double-crown puzzle was mindblowing :D

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Not bad! I liked the idea that you keep your items through level resets, made for some cool puzzles!

Xgor says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:21pm

I see a troper in here~
Anyways this game had really cool puzzles, but as already said before, the movement is just ugghhhh.

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:37pm

This is quite fun! It has a bit of a problem with movement sometimes not firing when I press the key, though, which is a BIG problem in the last level (where you have to move quite quickly).

4xisblack says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:54pm

A very solid puzzle platformer in the tradition of Braid (especially given the 48 hour time constraints :P)

I actually kinda liked the janky movement; gives the experience a bit more character.

Sheep says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:42am

Really fun overall. Too bad the movements were a bit buggy, but other than that the game was really interesting. Especially the crown thing.

Mironix says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Cool idea, altho you need to start walking right to ignite the movement. had fun playing it.

BomberGames says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:53pm

This is my favorite Ludum Dare game so far. It's very clever and enjoyable. I really want to see you make a bigger game.
The movement does have issues, but the gameplay is amazing (I beat the game, took me a while to get through the last part, I tried to get the king to bring his army.)

VDZ says ...
May 2, 2014 @ 12:24pm

In the unlikely event that anybody still cares, I've updated the game to finally squash the physics issues. Version 3 has better collision physics than previous versions and should therefore play much more smoothly.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]