August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

GunJoust

by Vic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It takes 10 seconds before your lance reaches the steel carcass of your foe.

OBJECTIVE:
Smash your opponent off his horse by hitting either the head or the red plate on the chest with the lance.
Your lance also functions as a cannon. if you hit your opponent he will lose balance, making it harder to aim at you and hit you.

CONTROLS:
Aim the lance by moving your mouse
Shoot with the left or right mouse button
Dodge Left with A or <-
Dodge Right with D or ->

This game was created for LD. It was a bit crazy. I returned home saturday night after a 15 hour drive and had too much caffeine in my system. So I worked from 1am - 6am.

The next morning I started at 10am and worked until 3am. It is not a serious entry, there is just too much missing for that. I still hope you will enjoy it tough. The sourcecode and assets are available and might help some people figure out some of the new features in unity 4.0, such as mecanim, setting up IK on the lance arm, blending animations, collision detection, etc.

The music and sound are from various sample libraries I own. I can not distribute them with the source, but everything else is available. You are free to use the models/textures if you find them useful for whatever reason.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#47Graphics4.12
#79Innovation3.81
#115Fun3.55
#134Humor3.26
#146Audio3.31
#195Overall3.47
#231Mood3.22
#983Theme2.61

Comments

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:26am

This game made my day. Thank you so much lol this is excellent. Please let me know if you expand this at all :) (rentabuddha@gmail.com)

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:17am

The sound effects and weightiness of the controls really makes this game. As does the absurdity of the concept. Brilliant job all around

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:19am

fantastic game. Wish it would turn around rather than have a restart button so I could get around to totally destroying the other guy. But it's still a short and satisfying game. Great concept and controls too!

Komradus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:24am

Those are some impressive models given the time constraints. Fun gameplay although it's a bit annoying that your opponent copies your dodge movements.

DavidBittner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:17am

Awesome game! Felt so great to play! Loved it!

Tortche says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:34am

Gun Jousting. I need nothing more in life.

JAH2488 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:35am

Hilarious. This was a lot of fun.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:48am

Crazy cool! Love the graphics and sound and the concept is just ridiculous :D

ananasblau says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:47am

First lance stabbing game I've ever seen. Well, except the brilliant Knightwasher of course.
But, I expected something hilarious to happen when I saw the skeletons but no. It's too much missing, I hope you can focus better in the next LD.

Pestodesign says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:02am

Hahaha, very good, man! I love the robot-knights and the soundeffects the best!

Vic says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:44am

Thank you for all the great comments, you guys really make my day :). At first I was doubting if I should submit it, since it isn't done, but now I am glad I did!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:01am

Bit hard to control. Where does the theme come in though? A cannon on a lance, how can you beat that!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:02am

If you make a post competition version, add a scope on the lances. ;)

wallmasterr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:08pm

fun , wish it had a score or rounds or something though

pikkufighter says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:18pm

it is fun but you should make the enemy not copying you

Just Tom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:11pm

This game man, first I was surprised how pretty it was and then I just kacked myself laughing. I love this game, it is a special moment. The caffeine induced eccentricity shines through beautifully, absolute giggle to play.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Nice!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Love the atmosphere and the characters. A bit hard but fun game :)

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Hahahaha FUN!

TheHobbit9797 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Please expand it a bit and make it a full game :D

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Super fun! It would be cool if a game restarted automatically, but I enjoyed playing very much!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:10pm

I enjoyed it :)

intripoon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Is there a way to lock the mouse to the screen? I always keep moving it out of the rectangle and focusing something else by clicking.
Apart from that, I noticed that my opponent does exactly the same thing as I do. Is this intended? That way, either both fall down or both stay on the horse.

dudsen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Crazy stuff. Fell in love with it. Amazing work, especially in the short amount of time this was created. Well played, sir.

Schulles says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:18pm

I liked the graphics, but why would there be knights between palmtrees and some weird black things? The audio was fine and it was quite funny but this would need more than just one repeating level and nothing more to it to get more than 3 stars. Anyways, nice job, I enjoyed it!

ben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Awesome! Looks really cool. The horses are rad. Was fun to play around with for a few minutes

cschwartz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Great design and graphics. A win or lose state would have been nice.

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Very nice! I find this very innovative because I haven't seen a jousting entry here. It was a really fun game, although I would improve the enemy as he copy's what you do which is not what you would expect, also make a mouse unlocker and locker because the mouse is really annoying. I like the implementation of the theme, as 10 second jousts. The graphics were outstanding for 48 hours, the audio was good and I had a laugh while playing the game, and the mood is very nice. Good job!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Looks reallly nice. Its a really great consept and I love how we play as skeletons, it would be nice if the game auto restarted after a few seconds or if the mouse curser vanished when in the screen, it does go a bit wonky if you lose, you just see weird bits of glitched out skeletons everywhere. Very good overall however

ivo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Nothing relaxes me more than a good ol round of gun jousting! Too bad theres no win/lose or turning around.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Fun game, but this should probably be a Jam entry due to the nature of the sound assets. Mouse lock would also help the immersion of the experience quite a bit, it would seem. Nice job!

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Really nice entry - great art especially

flod says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:14pm

nice Idea! but shooting?

VeloSpectre says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Amusing idea and well done.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Nice concept man! I love it!

idiotcoder says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Seriously impressive graphics given the time constraints! I agree that an auto-turnaround would have been a plus, but we all know some things have to be left out.

Larzan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Nice grafix, you have some really nice models and effects there. Just not that much of a game, still nice though!
Just a bit more polishing and this could become addicting :)

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:51pm

cooool style. controlls are very sensitive but its fun to learn it. Nice job... really cool game

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Hello! I am making a sort of compilation of all the games I can. Your game is featured in this video! http://youtu.be/jImRVKjejj4

bugninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:20pm

This is excellent. Very creative approach, and impressive for 48 hours, that's for sure.

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:04am

Great stuff :)

ratking says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:40am

Even though it's not finished, it's already a great entry because of the idea! :-)

Steve says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:44am

Pretty cool. Mouse movement is a little too fast, and you should hide the cursor while ingame!

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Really liked the art, well done. :)

psema4 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Creative and fun - great game! =D

zillix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:42am

I didn't know it until now, but this is what I've always wanted. thank you.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:50am

GUNJOUST! How could it not be awesome? I hope you keep working on it!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:44pm

This is an incredible action! I'm shocked, I do not know what happened to me ..! Now I can not sleep .. Sounds - good!

rylgh says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Such a badass concept... works really well too. Mouse lock would be nice.

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Excellent all around. Would love to see this made into a full game :D

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Okay, Gun Jousting should from now on be considered A Thing! It was a lot of fun to play, though a little bit more consideration could have gone into the game's structure (like, what happens after the joust round). Making your own music and sounds would also have been awesome. All in all it's a pretty fun concept!

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Neat idea.

Vic says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:50am

I am thinking of making this into a full game, any ideas on what you would like to see in such a game?

Xgor says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:09pm

It's a cool idea, the ai was pretty annoying with it's copying of your won moves though and it usually ended up that both got destroyed.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Oh man this is really cool! Only complaint is that I have no idea if I won (I'm guessing I did since I didn't fall off the horse?) since it just hangs after you joust haha. The gun firing felt really awesome and the sound was nice, I really hope you guys develop this further and make it a multiplayer game that'd be sweet!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Great idea, love the way the bodies blow apart! I, too, was left wondering if I won (when it wasn't obvious)!

panurge says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Awesome! Now I really want a full game involving robot knights. As for things I'd like to see in it - enhanced jousting including foot combat; quests to undertake against post-apocalyptic equivalents of giants, dragons and sorcerors; customisable shields, weaponry and steeds. Oh there is so much you could do with this!

For this version, I'd just echo the suggestion of allowing the player to turn around when the match is drawn, rather than having to restart.

Altogether, an excellent entry, pretty much faultless in all areas.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Since you ask, I'd like to see a skill tree, for the full game. Awesome graphics!!

recursor says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:27am

Nice graphics and presentation. Also, who doesn't like jousting on horses ... with guns. The only thing that let me down was when you beat the other guy and your horse just stops at the end. I wanted my guy to turn around and see the carnage, hear shouts from the crowd, fireworks going off or something. Even so, I enjoyed it.

Orni says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:25pm

I really enjoyed this :)
nice game

Ooya says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:41pm

I find this game very fun ! I played some time, and it's very addictive. The only problem is the mouse sensivity which is very high. One of the best game of this LD27 ! ;)

danhett says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 7:00pm

I think this game would work even better as a LAN or online game - it needs that human enemy factor. Really good fun though, and great visuals. Maybe add a galloping horse noise?

fferro234 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:18am

I love the idea. I'm not sure if I really see the theme though. Cool concept and some nice animations and effects for a 48 hour game.

Nezzhil says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Cool idea. The controls are fine and the graphics are superb.

Grafter says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:05pm

really cool! loved the idea, definitely would be good if it automatically restarted!

Sep 16, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Ha! I only wish it would auto-queue for best of three.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]