August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Feather & Son

by Carduus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My very first game \o/ Achievment, it'is still far from perfect, but it is almost playable :)

I'll post an extended version if my work let me some time.

In Feather & Son : you control a father and his son who are bound by sadness : Mother has desapeared.
Son and father act the same, but not exactly.

Help them to find their way to the woman before the sadness makes them hopeless.

Each time Father&son find a feather, they regain hapiness to continue their journey.
If one of them fall or exit the scene, they die.

You have 10 sec to rich a feather to refill your hapiness.
Controls with Arrow Keys.

Control : Arrow keys.






I'll post source as soon as i know how to share Stencyl sources.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Graphics4.46
#35Mood3.85
#59Overall3.81
#94Fun3.59
#112Innovation3.72
#180Theme3.61
#458Humor2.41
#919Audio1.52
#1477Coolness36%

Comments

Tipyx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:32am

But the question is : What's happen to Momy... ?
Good GD and Level Design :)

SilentBunny says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:32am

Love the animation

Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:17am

Nicely executed idea which also fits perfectly with the plot. Got stuck on one level though, it's pretty tough. But it's good! Nice art style. Too bad there's no sound.

Cory Martin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:01pm

To share a Stencyl game, export a .stencyl file. File > Export Game

kill0u says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:59am

Mommy wake up!

Unept says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:12am

I like the clever way you control both characters differently, very cool. Love the art too. It did escalate in difficulty pretty quickly, but still fun.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:21am

Wow, sadness overload!
I really enjoyed the double controls and how you used it to design the levels.
The ambience is also well done, it just lacks some music.

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:51am

Good level design and characters

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:51am

Really cool gameplay idea and well executed! Some levels are really challenging... I love the sad story and the mood.
Graphics are great as usual ;)

kill0u says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Oh and there seems to be an hidden plaform here =/
http://imgur.com/mNgrnJ7

rezoner says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Oh my!... I want to make music for this. Poke me. Graphics 6/5

Photon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:05am

Pretty cool concept, but I really struggled with the controls. They didn't want to seem to behave right all the time. Otherwise, solid entry.

Valandre says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:25am

Great graphic technics.....I'm so proud of you

Zap says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:55am

Pretty! And a great concept- I especially like the f(e)ather& son and sad-vibes
It plays really well, but gets very difficult very quickly.
An awesome, awesome effort for your first game by yourself

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Excellent art and character design - tricky but clever level design too. Great job!

deepnight says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Woooohooo first game achievement!!
Well done :) Love all the details in the animations, good job dude

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Love the character and level designs. Beautiful mood. :) Very impressive job for a first game.

Joror says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Sweet dual control mechanics, and excellent graphics. Only missing piece was sound. :)

LegacyCrono says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Wonderful graphics. You nailed the atmosphere, even though it doesn't have any audio. The level design was pretty great too! Congrats on your first game, and well done!

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Really great entry, but I feel like the "10 seconds" part of it does not help it - feels forced compared to the gameplay and aesthetics: sometimes it feels stressy to try and get a feather that should be easy to get. Then you get a "too late"... which... is weird. Too late for what ;) The core mechanic of big-and-little is really cool and I'd love to see that expanded on.

LegacyCrono says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Also, you need to put a download link for the game source code, as per the competition rules. Please do so ASAP. :)

spitfire87 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Really original idea and well executed controls. Its pretty hard to manage both the father and son when they start spliting ways. +Fun +Graphics +Innovation !

rfgpfeiffer says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:29pm

The puzzles were great, but the time limit makes them really frustrating

Carduus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Hey !
Source are now aviable, bu you need stencyl to open it i guess.
Feathers gives you extra time, just catch'em at the right time :)

psychomonster says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Very clever designed levels... cool platformer. Love it... nice graphics animation!

Zccc says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Excellent, I love the graphics, but the platforming could be better.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:38pm

fantastic platformer, top marks for mood, theme, graphics and fun <3

zatyka says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:40pm

I enjoyed playing this. Very nice level design, and beautiful graphics. It feels like its missing a few thing (story, music, sound), but I'm happy to hear you're continuing with it. I'm looking forward to a more complete version. Congrats on your first game!

Ithildin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Beautiful graphics and clever level design. Mood would have improved a lot with sounds and music. Despite this, it's an awesome job for your first entry. Congratulations!! :D

GFM says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Almost playable? This is great! The controls feels great (though I had a little trouble with some platforming) and the level design is awesome!
The graphics are also great!! :D

Ludipe says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Awesome game, it's a great first entry. Well done!

Check out Construct 2, it's another software to make games, like stencyl, it doesn't requiere any programming at all, but it's more powerful.

Tifu says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Really like the idea, got as far as the last level (I assume, judging by... the thing that was there) - but it was too hard to get to because of the controls, they didn't seem to want to jump every time I pressed jump =/

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Nice graphics, and really good concept and Level Design. They still have a problem when you catch the small crystal near the end of coutdown, you lose anyway.

loxo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Great graphics and an interesting concept with the two simultaneously played characters. Only audio is missing. And the game didn't reload after death.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:17pm

interesting and beautiful, but very hard later on.

papercaves says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Wonderful art direction, unique and engaging gameplay. Sound would have been great but the effort on level design and art makes it less of an issue. My favourite of the comp so far.

Neil says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Fantastic entry, great controls and nice puzzles. The art really tell the story! Very impressed!

Delca says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Levels were very well designed. Graphics were amazing, you totally nailed the sad atmosphere even without sounds. For a first game, it is more than excellent. looking forward to the enhanced version!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:42pm

The pixel art is really well done. This game makes me sad, although the question is, how did momy end up like that?

oxysoft says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Awesome graphics, very hard game

Volute says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Awesome pixel-art !

Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:48am

cool mechanic.. nice art.. pretty cool!

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Amazing art, great play on the theme, extremely hard haha

Purplescape says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:06am

So sad, but a sweet story! The levels were designed well. It's challenging but fun to play. Love the graphics

Capro says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:32am

Nice and sad game. Good job! :)

fdevant says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:00am

This is just genius!

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:35pm

This game shows how innovative mechanics can be discovered by just tweaking the conventional ones. You found a great inbetween platform and puzzle. Your pixelart in the characters is great too!

Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:19pm

This was great, very clever idea. Also looked very good.

urth says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:05am

Best innovation in control that transform a game from a simple platformer to a puzzle platformer.

Cosr says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Game looks amazing; great art. I how having both characters control slightly differently made the dual platforming more interesting.

Cosr says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:46pm

*I liked how having...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]