August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Grid Ten

by pbdiode - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The goal of Grid Ten is to protect the green dot from the cyan and redish/purplish ones.

You can select junctions and then add objects that force the cyan dots to move in specific directions, and you can also add blocks that destroy cyan dots instantly.

You get points every 10 seconds. These points are both your score and a type of currency for being able to place objects on the grid.

There are also more things in the game (behind the scenes) that relate to 10 or 10 seconds -- like that the grid is 10x10.

The rest of the instructions are on the game's webpage.

Only tested on Chrome 29 and FF (22 and 25.0a2).

* Known Issues:
- sounds occasionally get louder the more often they are played, and so audio is muted by default.
- If you have something like vimperator installed as a browser plugin, you might run into some issues with keys not being capture correctly
- (FIXED) Apparently the arrows stick around between resets. This is not intentional, and a bug


Tech Stack Used:
* Vim
* Firefox, Chrome
* javascript
* Howler.js
* Audacity
* Bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#597Innovation2.90
#923Audio1.50
#963Humor1.39
#1022Overall2.52
#1038Fun2.23
#1042Mood1.84
#1121Theme2.19
#1141Graphics1.77

Comments

Miltage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Interesting game. I liked to set up elaborate traps for those unsuspecting dots to fall into.

rephus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Original idea of a tactic game, however, the game becomes too easy if you cover the borders with arrows pointing outwards

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:34pm

I found the gameplay really hard to get a handle on at first. (One issue is that the instructions for what keys to use for each object are currently wrong.) The mechanics is not very intuitive, and a tutorial would do great here. But once I got into it, it was kind of a fun little tower defense. I got to around 300 points. It was helpful that I spawned so close to the edge. I think it would have been much harder in the center.

hypp says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:10pm

I found it hard to understand what I was supposed to do?

Spelchan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Nice puzzle. The difficulty of the game depends on where you start. If you are near the edge the game is ridiculously easy while being in the middle is quite a challenge.

Mesene says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Nice entry, interesting mechanics.
On firefox If you restart the game older arrow sprites keep on stage

joekinglake says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:51pm

I really like this game, it felt like a very interesting challenge. I thought the mood could be improved such as some ambient music and softer sound effects. A few simple graphical effects might be nice. Overall a really pleasant experience. Great job.

KeithE. says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Cool idea. It felt like the arrows should disappear between scoring intervals. The game became really easy the further I got into it. I could see this being expanded in some fun ways with different types of traps and different colored dots that require different strategies. Good job!

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Wasn't sure what to do at first. The mechanic is very cool, but it's very easy to push enemies off screen.

elementz123 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:16pm

This is a neat idea that has great potential! I agree with others who said it can become too easy when you figure out whats going on. One suggestion I can think of is have a fast forward option.

netmute says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:32am

Interesting gameplay in this one. I found it a bit complicated to figure out what was going on at first, but then everything went buttersmooth ;) Pretty simple once you grasped the mechanics :)

Capro says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:07pm

Not so much related with the theme, but the mechanics are interesting. You should work on this concept, it can become an awesome game.

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:28pm

I like puzzle game. This was really cool.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:59pm

If you can fix so that spamming the borders with a great wall is not a winning move, add some music, throw in some extra variation, then you have a nice fun little game on your hands =)

tchem says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Nice game, original and dinamic,,, great

PaulSB says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Interesting, reminiscent of ChuChu Rocket mechanically. Found it was very sedate to start with then quite sharply the number of enemies became overwhelming. I would have enjoyed a faster pace to the early stages and a smoother transition to the harder stages. Quite basic in appearance but a solid effort :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]