August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

LifeSpan

by debarraGaming - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Take control of a dragonfly caught in a storm.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#700Theme3.00
#873Audio1.76
#975Graphics2.15
#1001Mood2.00
#1011Overall2.54
#1079Fun2.12
#1150Innovation1.88
#1229Coolness46%

Comments

smash ball says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:47am

The game was okay. I think you should have added some other obstacles or something because it would get boring after some time. I didn't quite feel like I was in a thunder storm. You should have some screen flashes or something. The idea was good.

Destroyer40k says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:49pm

I loved the concept of a dragonfly in a storm, but I'm not too sure whether the 8-bit sounds fit in with that... Solid work.

Just Tom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Quite fun, and a good play on risk/reward game mechanics. Easy to pick up, which is great, but also easy to master which isn't so great. More challenges or a higher rain rate could help this, but that's your call.

The graphics are clean and easy to read, I'm not sure how big the hit boxes are or if you are using a grid system but the collision and movement feels a bit clunky. Still easy to control though, so it's not too much of an issue.

A little romp that could use some polish, but was fun to play none the less.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:06am

Simple game that feels like it needs a little something more. It'd be nice to have some kind of score indication (how far you flew) and maybe an increasing difficulty curve.

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Quite ok, maybe add some time in the final screen

Koltiman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Nice interesting little game! Kept me occupied for quite a while. I liked it!

Reyn says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Hi, like others pointed out there is no perception of progress, increasing the droplet rate and showing the score or time could have done that, causing players to want to beat their own time. The heat sources at the top of the screen were a bit scary to take feels like you are at the mercy of the level designer. Well done, its got everything else. Thanks

Laelien says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Yup, a little too easy, and a game getting boring is never a good thing. The second sound after you get a light is kind of superfluous, and even gets to be a mood-breaker after some time, too bad.
Still, solid little game. A simple randomized number of water falling per second, instead of a constant, in function of time, would have been perfect for increasing the difficulty. Like a quadratic polynomial or something.
Nice !

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:00am

I agree with Laelien, it's too easy, a fine entry nonetheless I think it's good overall and the story is touching but if it was harder we could really sympathize with the dragonfly as we feel the poor creature's strugle to escape the rutless rain and how it's existence is hanging by a thread.

tower07 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:17am

Pretty good. It's pretty annoying when a heat bubble thing spawns too close to the ceiling, though.

Ossi says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:08am

Interesting start to the dragonfly's story but a bit bland in terms of gameplay and difficulty. Needs some kind of distance indicator on how far you've flown.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]