August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Furnitorture

by Jeremias - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Requires XNA and .NET:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17851

Furnitorture is a matching game about... furniture. You place objects like tables and chairs in a room.
If the placed objects fit together - like a chair next to a table - you gain points to unlock new furniture. While you place the objects, a 10 second timer runs down. If it expires, you lose the round. Fortunately, placing objects adds valuable time.

If you want, you can write in the comments how many rounds in total you needed to unlock all objects or what your longest row of rounds was! Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#75Fun3.66
#98Overall3.66
#100Innovation3.75
#122Mood3.44
#141Graphics3.72
#226Theme3.52
#339Humor2.65
#408Audio2.79

Comments

cappelnord says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Whaa, first comment? Can't play the final version (as you know ;)) but from the 7h-until-finished version I'd say it's great fun and would be awesome on a tablet :).

With a brighter, more colorful scheme it would also make a great kids game!

Jeremias says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:42pm

I'm not a fan of insider jokes in public space, but: I'm not sure if huge cocktail cups filled with chair-sized icecubes are good in a kids game :D
Anyway, thank you for the feedback that you gave during the development!

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Creative idea, would work great as a touch based game.

The4thCircle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:27pm

I like the fact that the placement is logical, has more solid premise than most tile matchers.

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:43pm

That was a ton of fun. I played to 655 points and my high score was 198. Awesome job!

Joxno says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Really fun and fluid, hectic right off the bat, awesome!

Metatheos says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Simple but surprisingly fun puzzle-game, really liked it.
From a short look at your code and my experience with the game I assume that the map is generated by scattering empty tiles in some random (with some restrictions) fashion. Then you draw items by some hand-tuned distribution from all unlocked that can be placed at a valid spot. Have you considered using a generator that is more friendly to the player? For example you could pick a target score and distribute items in a way this score is barely reached. Then collect the items from their tiles (generating the room this way), shuffle them and hand this list to the player for re-distribution. Might be too restricting on randomness (making the game bland) though.

On another note, since I'd guess leaving a comment at the declaration of participation is easy to miss. I wondered whether you're still at the KIT, which would mean I could have asked this in person ;)

Jeremias says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Thank you all for your feedback!

@madk: 198 in one row? wow... you perform better than I do...

@Metatheos: I'm currently writing my master thesis at the KIT and I hope I will finish it until october. And yes, I missed your comment. If you want, you can drop me a line at info@stevencolling.com in terms of privacy :D

The level generation code is totally messed up and broken, generating strange levels from time to time. I didn't had the concentration left as I started to write it. The algorithm just puts some quadratic rooms on the map. And the item generation is totally stupid :D at first, I gave them all static probabilities, but then I implemented this unlock feature near the end and instead of implementing a clear and fair solution like you propose, I just repeat the selection of one of the items 100 times until an unlocked item was found and if not, take the first best unlocked (mostly a chair)... oh my god, I'm so ashamed. If I make a post-compo version, I consider your thoughts.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:25pm

This is a REALLY nice game, I really enjoy the idea of matching furniture next to each thing, and I love lost adventure-ers :P I featured it in a compilation video on Ludum Dare 27 games, if you want to check it out, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y3_qdYR_Vsw

ezolotko says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Its a solid game, and the graphics is great

Endurion says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Now that's a really great idea!

And having the unlockables tingles my senses :)
This has potential for a full game.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Cool idea. My rooms ended up looking pretty atrocious in the end.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Heheh, fun stuff. A few suggestions:
-When I try to put something in a place where it can't go, don't give me a penalty, just play the sound, it was an accident. And please, don't switch me to a different item, because then I'll try to place the old one in the right place only to find it's the wrong place for the new item, and then I lose 2 or 3 seconds for a little mistake.
-It would be nice if chairs were allowed diagonal to the tables.
-It takes a bit too long to unlock all the items. Remember, most of the people here have come to play your game for a quick 3 minutes and then click stars so more people will do the same thing to their game.
But other than those things, I love it. I really do. The graphics, sound effects and gameplay are all great. Fantastic job!

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Loved it!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Strangely addictive, and I'm not sure if that is a good thing...

Binary Gambit says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:18am

Fun! was a bit dark and I was unsure what to do when the whole room was full.

BNeutral says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 5:00am

Very interesting.

jomomomo says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

Xaychru04 says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 6:33pm

I really like the concept of the game! The different tile placement rules are clever and it can become very complex when you have a lot of items unlocked...

SmudgedCat says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:32pm

That was good fun! I liked the way the elements were gradually introduced so you could get used to them.

jwolf says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:24am

Took a little bit for the pattern-recognition to kick in, but it's rather addictive once you get into it. Since you're penalized for taking too long, I tend to prioritize just throwing stuff down. That isn't necessarily bad...the end result is kind of amusing. Overall, it's also a very well put-together game.

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 6:56am

Very fun and clever!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]