August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

T-Minus

by Keevor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Just barely finished. I think it could have been a bit more interesting but I'm pretty happy with the graphical style of it. Th goal is to get to the rocket before it launches. You can get bonus time. I could have made more levels but I really didn't have enough time at the end. Also sounds didn't really work, don't know why. It includes bad first time music made online. Constructive criticism welcome.

UPDATE-Fixed major bug where ending wouldn't show.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#123Graphics3.80
#183Mood3.31
#286Audio3.00
#310Theme3.42
#610Overall3.00
#737Fun2.70
#884Innovation2.50
#1640Coolness28%

Comments

Soundboy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:39am

Love the art style + parallax!

wolfadex says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:42am

The launch timer would reach 0 and nothing happened. :(

LionelJitro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:45am

Really nice art aesthetics.

Cool concept as well. I loved the tutorial level =)

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:51am

I like the art, and I actually think the music isn't bad as well (it does seem really quiet though). The parallax scrolling was a really neat effect, too.
I made it to a point where there was just an empty box level, and a countdown. Is that the end or a bug?

Gremlin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11am

With a bit more polish could be an interesting puzzler. I'd like to see the controls feel more solid: the robot just crawls along. The game could be faster without sacrificing any of the potential fun (though you'd have to rebalance, of course).

madk says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:26am

The music's pretty nice, actually. I like the graphics. I don't like how unforgiving the detection is. The next-to-last level was obscenely difficult. A simple ending screen would've been nice. Also, showing full numbers instead of making them blue. That was confusing.

Keevor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:00am

Hehe, Well, I guess i Forgot to do some deleting. I'll post a fix right away.

About the timer, When it reaches 0 it restarts the room, and I made the timer the way it is mostly because I felt rushed and didnt want to waste time typing those numbers into paint.net. I probably had enough time anyways.

Keevor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:11am

I fixed the ending thing, I originally had a nice ending where you -redacted-. The room that was there before was a "Template" for making other rooms. Everything should work fine now.

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:19am

I didn't like the theme. It's too basic and boring gameplay. But graphics are good.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:31am

I like the graphics, the gameplay is interesting. Can't pass the level 8 or 9, the one with a a series of truck in a / formation

Keevor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:37pm

I agree and I wanted to add more than there is now but I ran out of time. Next time I plan to create something more out-of-the-box.

About that one level, it's supposed to trick you. You have to quickly get the bonus time on the first part of the formation,, and then run through the twisty path and you should just barely make it.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:18pm

The link is dead((

Keevor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:42am

It is? I downloaded it fine on multiple platforms. I'll put up a mirror anyways.

Tanser says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Nice game, kept me playing it.

FunByJohn says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:19pm

A few little bugs, but amazing graphics! I really liked the GB-esque palette of the background, and the robots looked great too :D

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:21pm

The graphics are good for the most part. The collision is a bit weird I think. Also, many times it would count down to 10, then the timer would reset and nothing would happen.

hoqjed says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:35pm

The original link wasn't dead for me just to let you know, downloaded fine! I definitely liked the visual style of the game. Very nice look for the amount of time involved. I thought that the puzzles weren't bad, they didn't normally take too much effort to figure out how to do something after one try, but it's rough making clever puzzles in such a short time. Overall though everything felt pretty polished and not really super rushed. The scrolling backgound left me wondering if you originally tried something very different, but aside from that it's pretty cohesive. Good job! The music also was pretty good, it fit the game and didn't hold it back or anything. Seems like others also don't mind it!

Keevor says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:43pm

I'm very confused about this timer 'bug'. could someone care to explain it to me. I played through it and on every level it worked fine.

cwkx says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Stunning pixel style graphics, and really fun gameplay. Awesome little entry :)

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 6:18pm

The 'robots' turn quite interesting. A slower transition would be nice. Interesting puzzler.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]