August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Second Days

by SmallDeadGuy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NOTE: PLEASE READ THE README

Ten Second Days is a 2D side-view shooter defense game based on fending off waves of enemies. The waves occur during the day, which last 10 seconds, before imploding from atmospheric changes at night-time allowing 10 seconds for you to comtemplate existence.

Use Escape to quit, use mouse to shoot, no other controls needed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1773Coolness20%

Comments

sparkleswirl says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41am

Solid defense game, and I liked the little night time monologues. The game crashed on me when I lost at Day 10 though.

Tundmatu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41am

Good and fun game! I only got to day 3 though. It has its own charm with the monologue and day/night wave transitions and runs smooth!

pighead10 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Gets repetitive after a while, but starts off fun and brilliant graphics/music.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:10pm

I give 5 stars for mood. The music and story were cool. Nicely done for 48 hours!

m110 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Nice one, interesting idea which fits theme well!

lucc1111 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:00pm

like your game, the music gives the game a little ambience

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:16pm

I died at Day 11... Nice emotional experience... did i really die at day 11.... it goes on and on... like a vicious circle
. Nice job.

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:00pm

The switch between levels is slow, also look at consumption of memory. nice game, a bit repeatitive for me :)

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Blame the theme, it'd be faster if it was 5 seconds :P I didn't want to go making the night-time a different length than the day because it's weird and would fit the theme less

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]