August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Dungeon Hero

by sP0CkEr2 - Jam Entry

Granny, Kid and Scout have been transported to another dimension where time only exists in 10 second intervals.

Only you can guide them through all 30 levels, where they will find the portal back home.

~~~~~

This game lets you play thru 30 levels of a dynamic dungeon. You must delete all the monsters within 10 seconds of each room to open the door and advance to the next room.

When all rooms have been cleard of monsters, a key will drop that when picked up will open the last door to the monsters lair.

Find the double door to enter the monsters lair. Kill it, and advance to the next level.

After each level you will be able to add point levels to your players skills:

Skills:

Weapon -- how well you fight when attacked in melee. And how well you weapon fires (speed).
Armor -- the more the better.
Strength -- strength of attack on a monster.
Luck -- how much gold will show up when you kill a monster.
Speed -- how much movement you player can make.


Movement:

W A S D

Aiming/Shooting:

Mouse/Left Mouse Button

We hope you enjoy playing!!

Team SpockerDotNet

Paul, Jeanluc, Simon, Martin & Paule

~~~

Update: fixed small bug that crashed game when entering hi score

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#210Humor(Jam)2.76
#348Theme(Jam)2.95
#393Fun(Jam)2.67
#404Audio(Jam)2.45
#417Overall(Jam)2.82
#445Mood(Jam)2.46
#506Innovation(Jam)2.38
#528Graphics(Jam)2.36

Comments

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:49am

Wow, nice game! It really puts pressure on you to move fast through the dungeons, feels like a mix between Gauntlet, Roguelikes, and Binding of Isaac =]

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:53am

Very cute :D and fun. Save us granny!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:27pm

haha I have chosen the granny and was dying and dying again... sounds nice and looks like a cool game. thanks

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Really nice, with some more variety in rooms this could be awesome :)

klianc09 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Somehow I have less points than the second, still I'm first on the High-Scores?

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:32am

Nice start for a dungeon crawler engine. However, the background music was obviously a knockoff of Castlevania, so I'll pass on rating this one.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:13am

Cute game, I liked the unusual selection of characters especially.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:30am

GaTechGrad > little confused why you wouldt rate a JAM entry when it uses music from another game?

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:34am

Nice game! Can I just eat the goldfish?

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:46am

>Crazi456 -- they do look tasty don't they!?!

Epiphane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:48am

Fun little dungeon crawl, pretty satisfying to upgrade and kill monsters faster. One thing though, you NEED to make the character faster... Especially with the time pressure, having a slow character really was stressful.

AmyDee says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:54am

The time limit on rooms was an entertaining twist. The bosses felt a little too easy; all I had to do was min/max my stats and they hid in the corner. Very simple but also enjoyable.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:06am

The game's pretty catchy! I love the fact that timer pushes us to do our best! I upgraded my weapon and luck the most. The bosses are easier than the minions, haha! :P
I got the top score w00t! Hope no one beats it!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:09am

>Epiphane -- press re-roll to get a character with a speed stat of 10 or better

>AmyDee -- i have an updated post compo version where the enemies and bosses shoot back -- much harder

AlvaroH says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:39am

Nice Game!

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Pretty straightforward concept. You use 2D unity before 4.3! :)

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:36pm

The gameplay was pretty easy and the artwork seems completely random, I really wasn't sure what to think of it. Combined with the Castlevania music which I think breaks LD rules a bit, I feel like the game took simple shooter mechanics and a timer and through it together with whatever sprites were on hand. The gameplay itself could be fun, but the aiming didn't seem as intuitive or accurate as I would normally expect.

murilo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:42am

Ok, it was pretty fun. But I could swear there were rooms I killed the monster way before 10 seconds and no door appeared. But nice game, man!

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:29am

I had a real blast playing this. I did twice through and each time was great! First as the boy scout and the second time as the granny. I dumped all my points into speed.

thanks for the game it was great!

Anachron says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:32am

Granny gonna mess you up! Excellent dungeon simulator.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:12am

Because I have to round up. But I can't for the life of me remember where that song is from! BUT!! ITS STUCK IN MY HEAD!!! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!

GG

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:26am

Granny's tough.

Venturelli says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Love me some dungeon stuff!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Strange game, not really bad! :) I didn't really get what was going on, but I still liked it!
Music was kinda annoying, though...

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

Nice game. I didn't get very far, but still thought it was pretty cool. No way I could last 30 levels though xD

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Particularly liked the unusual player selection, funny enemies, and skill levelling. Granny's my favorite

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:32am

good job

M.O.U says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Nice game! Fun and clean! Congrats!

tacoshotgun27 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:34am

epic game -- I loved the way you had 10 seconds in each room... you used the theme nicely :)

MrBlade says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:53am

Good job! I got number three on the scores! Woo! Awesome game, pretty nice graphics, good music and sound. There seemed to be a bit unreliability with the timer. But that is alright. I think there should be a sound when you get a kill. Something simple. But still. NICE WORK! Keep it up!

dekart says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Cool game. Pretty hard to play.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Nice cute game, love it! I featured it in my LD27 compilation series if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/FJWNdgd85u0

Sep 2, 2013 @ 8:19pm

I liked the character selection, and the game was pretty fun. Solid entry.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:06pm

>jupiter_hadley -- thanks for the compilation mention

uriel2 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:45am

I enjoyed this more than I thought!

Sep 6, 2013 @ 1:52am

Heheh, weird little game.
A little dissapointed granny isn't melee attacking with her purse. That would have been awesome...

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:56am

I like how you have 10 seconds each time you switch rooms, I was actually thinking about doing that on my entry too!
Game is a bit hard, though! Aiming is a little difficult, but manageable. The rooms are huge so it's a little tense when you have to cross it to reach another door, haha.

Cool game! =D

Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:10pm

I like the music for this. I like the idea of only having 10 seconds in each room too, put the pressure on. Could do with the shooting being tweaked though as it didn't seem to fire at the mouse pointer.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]