August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pinokio and Juliet 2113

by kibertoad - Jam Entry

You are a synthetic android who fell in love with a real woman. In order to get closer to her you have decided to reshape yourself and become as real as a synthetic android possibly can. To pay for your new "skin" you participate in underground fighting tournament.

"Pinokio & Juliet: 2113" is a tactical turn-based free-choice fighting game about love.

Gameplay consists of 10 second-long planning phases after which selected combat moves get executed.

Note: Game can take a while to load, please wait after you get blank screen after start.

Note: Press F12 during fight to toggle fullscreen mode (not on main menu, though)

Note: When played on computer with 768 resolution height, there may be some button clicking issues, using fullscreen should help.

Note: build, updated for compatibility with 32 and 64 bit OS'es was uploaded.

On Mac and Linux, you must have Java 7 installed for the included run.sh file to work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#242Innovation(Jam)3.08
#278Humor(Jam)2.45
#297Audio(Jam)2.81
#343Graphics(Jam)3.06
#381Mood(Jam)2.66
#420Fun(Jam)2.60
#444Overall(Jam)2.75
#450Theme(Jam)2.76

Comments

caryoscelus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:07am

Please note that despite download called "windows", it actually will run on Linux (and possibly others), since this is Java game. You just need to run "java -jar run.jar".

kibertoad says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:50am

Also note that this version will only run on 64 bit Windows OS (any Linux or Mac OS X that has its own JVM is fine, though). 32-bit compatible version is on the way.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Interesting art and character designs! Couldn't really get a grasp on the gameplay and just kicked and punched the enemies randomly :P.

autlos says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:22am

I like the art and the style. Maybe it's not the first 10-seconds implementation I've seen, but it's fun. There are a lot of moves (unfortunately the animations are the same for all of them).

Reminds me of Fallout 3 when you stop the game to chose where to shoot :P

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:26am

not bad, i like the gameplay

GreyShock says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Great idea, but I didn't like the execution too much. I think this kind of streategy fighting should do for a great game, but the interface was unclear and I always end up making random actions while spamming WASD over the enemy due to the 10 seconds limit.

A great way to improve the learning curve of the game is to adding actions as you progress, starting maybe with just 3 or 4 basic well-explained moves, since it's not fun to read the 101 images you included (and remember them!).

Keep up the good work! Great ideas and potential here.

gmaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:57pm

fun game =) thank u

Yngar says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:35pm

This is one of a lot of games I have seen for this jam in which I think the 10 second theme actually detracts from the gameplay. I like the idea but I think the time limit and the lack of any explanation makes it really difficult to understand whats happening. I would like to play a post-jam version without the time limit and maybe text explaining what all the attacks do, and what the enemy is doing.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:23pm

thanks for feedback) it's our first time experimenting with this kind of combat system, so we are still working out the kinks.

ratking says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Haha, the character designs are great. There seems to be a strategy for every enemy , but feedback here would be nice, if you poked the right body parts. I just guessed and either the enemy loses nothing or nearly full health bar.
I think lesser options would be better or that you gain new attack styles after battles, so you can get used to the masses of attacks available here.
Reminds me of Battle Angel Alita. Very cool atmosphere.

TammiLion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:00pm

This is a really good and fun game, definitely deserves more attention. I liked the graphic style ^^

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:58pm

ratking, you've just made the best compliment I would ever hope to receive. GUNNM is my absolute favorite manga series ever.

Croze says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Reminds me of that freeze time fall out thing where you choose where to attack the enemy, not really much "Fun" gameplay though, loved the graphics and audio :D

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:23am

Uploaded version that fixes crash on selecting time perks and makes stamina perks work, hopefully I didn't break anything else.
Please let me know if anything explodes.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:24am

(Note that only post-jam version was updated, there are no perks in Jam version)

M.O.U says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:54am

interesting one! Nice graphic style

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:34am

I like the design, art, and music.

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:58am

:D

Zammy says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Like ratking said, fewer options for attacks and gradually increasing over battles would be nice. This way you may learn how to use them precisely.
Thumbs up for the voice acting and the twist at the end :D

Starspell says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Unfortunately none of the versions are working for me.

jujule says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:55pm

I'd love to play this game. I'm really attracted by the graphics and the background story but the game is not running on my Mac. Sad...

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:04pm

jujule: have you tried running jar file, that is inside the archive? It should work fine on Mac, provided that you have Java 7.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Wow, this one is strange in a very good way. Love it!

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:29pm

That's a really big game :O.

Kohijin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:49pm

This was delightfully bizarre, but also very confusing to play. I managed to win, but did not really know what I was doing, what the attacks were etc.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:53pm

in case the game isn't working, please describe the situation.

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:53pm

I was super confused at first buuuuut I just went with it and everything worked out. Love the awesome enemy designs!

Makio says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Hum, can you add instruction how to play on mac ? I get an error when I lunch game :

/Users/davronai/Downloads/time-travel/game ; exit;
imacwindodo:~ davronai$ /Users/davronai/Downloads/time-travel/game ; exit;
Segmentation fault: 11
logout

[Opération terminée]

PS : Thanks for your feedback on Guruguru for firefox it's playable on FF now ! :)

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:30pm

I really liked the music!

kibertoad says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Makio, are you sure that's our game? Provided you have Java 7, you should just need to click on run.sh

kibertoad says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Starspell, do you get any kind of error or traceback? What platform are you on?

kibertoad says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:09pm

And do you have Java 7 installed?

Ritzblues783 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:52pm

I liked the concept of this game. I wish there was a tutorial or had a tooltip to explain what each atack symbol meant. I love games where you have to target specific enemy parts that may or may not be obvious weak spots.

Other than the confusing controls, the story and concept are thoughtful.

onzephyr says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:06pm

wow full dialog voice! don't see that a lot in a jam. played well. took a bit to get used to, but then it clicked. love the character designs. great stuff.

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:16am

good job

hbocao says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Very interesting idea! Too bad that because of the time limit I just kept pressing and clicking very fast. But this was a very cool entry!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:00am

really cool idea and great art -- nice job

Laelien says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Loved the idea, really. The voice-over was a little too monotonous and lacked a little intensity, but it's really not that bad. A little too many options during the fights though, so I just sometimes randomly used them. Maybe pausing the game between phases to make you see how many damages you inflicted would have been nice.
I only tested the jam version though, so maybe you upgraded it in the post-jam :P

Jedi says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 12:29am

I tested the jam and the updated post-compo, my comments apply to both.

As others have said, this is a really cool, innovative fighting system that is hurt by having ten second rounds. Particularly since you can fill up your queue of attacks very quickly and spend most of that time waiting.

My other complaint is that the game just didn't seem to work very well for me - it took so long to load I thought it had crashed and there were huge pauses near the beginning of each level which were distracting.

The graphics, mood, audio and innovation are all excellent! This was overall a very unique and cool entry! My biggest disappointment came when I lost, because the only option was to quit, and I wanted to keep playing!

Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:34am

I had downloaded the post jam, post jam updated, and windows version and all of them freeze on me before the game starts. Sadly, I cant include it in my LD27 compilation video :/

kibertoad says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:57am

To Jupiter_Hadley: Please try waiting a bit longer, loading period can take a while.

pencil says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:15pm

thank you all for your good words and feedback, we really appreciate that!

about skill "overwhelmness" and unclear gameplay: we planned to do it gradually, as many of you said - you start with few skills and get new ones with level ups/perks, but there was no time to do it properly so we made all skills available from the start. it made the game less tactical (as was intended in the beginning) and made it more intuitive, but hey, it is a fighting game after all, so you better think fast ;) and well, maybe one day we will do it right.

thank you for playing!

Sebby says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 4:40am

Haha, I liked it! It's nice how well the music matched up with the punching. The character designs were great too.

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 5:11pm

That's interesting. Nice sound (sometimes overlaps) and graphics, took down few opponents before I fell down. But it didn't seem they would harm me anyhow.

Optimus6128 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Kinda funny concept.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]