August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Countdown Hell

by robashton - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A bullet-hell type thing, kill all the enemies and collect the power-ups to keep the timer going.

You start with 10 seconds, and that's all you're gonna get - so make it count.

WASD/Arrow keys and the mouse button

HTML and JavaScript completely from scratch.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#331Fun3.21
#342Theme3.38
#606Graphics2.79
#610Overall3.00
#819Mood2.39
#951Audio1.37
#953Humor1.44
#1073Innovation2.14
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

Sherun says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 3:29pm

When the game starts again Im shooting without pressing the mouse

Tork says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 3:34pm

I can't shoot

robashton says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Browsers people, browsers??? :)

robashton says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 3:53pm

(I got some issues in Firefox I'm looking at now, I can't test in IE but it works in Chrome)

robashton says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Fixed at least @Tork's problem I think - I can't do much about that first issue unless I know more about it

Khopa says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:33pm

10669 pts is my best.
The game is cool and works fine in Chrome ;)

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10am

Tried it in firefox, it ran fine (maybe tad slow). Liked this simple arcadey shooter. Good job :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:11am

"OH NO DEAD!" :D Funny. Love the graphics, the little guys look like PacMan ghosts.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:11am

Pretty addicting game. I'm not sure if I love or hate the blur effect, after some time I got tired of it.

Great game overall. Working on Chrome.

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:12am

Yeah - it's a little slow, I was trying a different way of writing code for this jam and it went hideously wrong :D

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:12am

Fun game :) (Opera 12.16 - all OK)

dekart says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:15am

I love the visual effects. Probably making it possible to collect time from a longer distance will make the game play better - now it's really hard to collect time when you move fast enough.

rephus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:16am

Nice game, I like the motion blur effects in all the sprites, it would be nice if you could add some music/sounds. Tested in chrome (Ubuntu).

robashton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:19am

Afraid I was at my girlfriend's house for this and didn't have any instruments with me. I played with a synth to see if I could get some sounds in but linux kept crashing so I gave up :)

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:32am

Working good in chrome. Wow, 'blur' is very psicodelic. XD

anjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:16pm

The controls felt very smooth. For a from-scratch game in 48 hours, this is impressive!

SmudgedCat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:00pm

That was fun! It feels a bit slow at first but with everyone coming at you from all angles the speed is probably about right.

nek says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Good side –- it's really fun!
Bad side -- it's repetitive, there are no different enemy types with different movement/attack patterns.

I like the graphics very much. All those multicolored enemies and pixel explosions are rad!
I can't hear any music or sfx. Should there be any?

Also I think that adding the multiplayer hi-scores table will greatly improve the game giving the player a goal.

Overall it's a nice little game.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:20pm

OH NO DEAD! Well done.

plancien says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:21am

what a carnage ! red all over my screen. This was fun. I like the fact that when you take a hourglass, it restores all your time. This adds a bit of tactic, you can stay around a second hourglass just in case, a shoot from here.

Works very fine on Chrome. Well done !

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:11am

It's a solid concept and the game runs very smoothly. I wish the screen was bigger though! A bit of sound effects would have made this even better. I think it's great to finally see some more JS games at LD. Keep it up! :)

SloZigec says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Nice Game, I just couldn't get it to restart, and then it kind of bugged out.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:17pm

(Hey Rob, Grungi/Bastien that guy from Belgium here!) So. Much. Particles. :D Makes for a great little shooter though (not only the particles, I mean). Got quite into it, and loved the audio cue that the timer was almost out. Very well done!

loxo says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Nice game that fits the theme. It's a bit slow though. Some audio would be nice.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]