August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super Mega Penguin X

by Darkfrost - Jam Entry

It is dark. You have a flashlight, but only 10 seconds of power left! Make your way to the exit! But be careful, if your power runs out, you wont be able to see, and many dangers lurk in the dark!

Made using XNA, so might require XNA redist http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914 / .NET framework


CREDITS:

=== PROGRAMMING BY ===
Jacob Keane - http://jacobkeane.co.uk
Lewis Houghton - http://anubisinteractive.co.uk/lhoughton
Gary Nield



=== ART BY ===
Sophie Morris
Matt Lindridge

=== MUSIC BY ===
Pngvn - https://soundcloud.com/pngvn/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#258Audio(Jam)2.94
#263Theme(Jam)3.15
#302Mood(Jam)2.88
#393Overall(Jam)2.89
#405Graphics(Jam)2.85
#485Fun(Jam)2.40
#491Innovation(Jam)2.42
#1500Coolness35%

Comments

draculeqq says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:58am

Win 8 64bit - Can't run

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:24am

The game crashes when trying to launch first level. (Win7 64bits)

Darkfrost says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:44am

Make sure you have the XNA Redist installed ( http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914 ) - If it still doesn't work, please comment again - Seems to work fine for people when I asked in the IRC

legendlazy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Works for me on Win8 64bit with XNA Framework installed

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Most levels could be completed in under 10 seconds, so yeah wasn't too annoying at all. Great soundtrack though. And yeah, good use of the theme.

Darkfrost says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:27am

Thanks :) How did you find the last couple of snow levels? Those were the hardest ones imo :D

M.O.U says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Pretty fun! Maybe you can improve the art!

Amber says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:41am

I realize I'm living in the stone age here, but the interface elements don't line up correctly on my (non-widescreen) monitor. The part of the screen I have to click on to start the game from the title screen, for example, is well to the right of the "Play Game" graphic. Also, I don't know if it's related or I just didn't figure it out, but is the flashlight supposed to stay pointed straight up toward the ceiling? It wiggled a little when I moved, but I couldn't aim it at where I was trying to go.

That said, I love your title screen graphic and the music does a very good job of conveying "penguin in an ice cave." I'd play more if it displayed correctly on my monitor!

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:33am

A solid entry, had some difficulty with a few later levels where the platforms were really small and it took longer than ten second to complete. Basically, I needed the light for pretty much the whole level but could not complete it in time, so it took a while to memorize some of the jumps.

Oxygamer says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:08am

Have problem with launch....I think Unit3d is the best Engine for this contest - allow all platforms

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:43am

nice art and music. good, but brutal level design. made me feel sorry for the penguin.

phi says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:52am

Very nice. I like the level design. Challenging, but doable. Having the limited field of view is very frustrating sometimes. Well done! Your game made me hate ice bears.

JokerDen says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:31am

It's doesn't work: Win7x64.
May be it because pinguins from Linux on Windows? :)

Darkfrost says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Again, anyone having problems running it, install the XNA redist
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

Binary Gambit says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Overall AWESOME! was good fun and the character was cute.
Ran perfectly on Win8 64 after installing the redist

Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Excellent graphics and gameplay, a nice solid game. (Was able to run on windows 8 x64 bit)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]