August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Amazing Adventures Of 10 Second Tim

by gameXcore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

XNA & Silverlight versions of the game are slightly different, the XNA version has fancier graphics and supports gamepads!

The silverlight framerate can also get a bit choppy!

Basically, for best results, choose XNA.

MegaCorp Company Logs:

"* 12/07/13 - An unknown issue with MegaCalc has caused Garry the intern to vanish. *",
"* 13/07/13 - Garry keeps reappearing randomly. He looks different. *",
"* 14/07/13 - Garry continues to appear randomly, the programmers are starting to get spooked. *",
"* 27/07/13 - Garry has not reappeared for a while, presumed missing without permission. Bonus will be docked. *",
"* 08/08/13 - Engineers are working to restore MegaCalc. *",
"* 14/08/13 - 4 QA testers have now vanished while attempting to find easier reproduction steps. *",
"* 20/08/13 - The fault has been traced to a NULL pointer causing recursion so deep it tore a hole in reality. *",
"* 23/08/13 - Patch applied to MegaCalc. Engineers are 95% certain it should work with 32% probability. *",
"* 26/08/13 - A new intern, Tim, has been hired to apply and test the patch. *",

- You are Tim, head over to the computer and upload the patch, if all goes well, you can go home. If for some reason the patch fails, please try to stay alive as long as possible, life insurance is expensive!

Scott Bevin
scott@gameXcore.co.uk
www.gameXcore.co.uk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#159Humor3.17
#326Fun3.22
#356Overall3.26
#395Mood2.94
#479Theme3.26
#548Audio2.57
#563Graphics2.87
#647Innovation2.83
#1452Coolness37%

Comments

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48pm

OMG #random #warioware #wtf :D
nice concept! though the intro was a bit long. I'm pretty sure your game would have worked with a shorter intro as well

Blooperly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Very nice! I like the gameplay a lot. Though there should be an option to skip the intro...

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:39pm

go through intro every time is too long... and because I'm bad at the minigames I lose almost immediately. Frustrating, because it's seems to be very fun !

gameXcore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Skipping the intro was one of those "On my todo" list things when I ran out of time, I think it probably should have been elevated in priority.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Absolutely perfect use of the theme. LOTS of fun!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:38am

Apart from the intro as state above it was pretty fun, good job!

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Good game, kinda hard at start when you don't know the random games. Otherwise, solid entry!

markengley says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:38am

You are obviously mental for doing so many mini games in such a short time. Great effort though. Love the procedural anims :)

Taiters says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:13pm

This game seems pretty fun, but I was having the same problem as plancien.

IHateATMFees says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:48am

Nice job, loved the way Tim walked!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]