August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ludicrous Parking

by Yell0w - Jam Entry

Our first entry! We are happy to announce that we made 5 levels. We spent way too much time on physics, but in the end it turned out cool. Maps could be more plentifull :)

Linux & Mac users:
We made the game using Love2d, source is included in the .love file and it can be executed in mac and linux if you have love2d installed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#195Humor(Jam)2.80
#282Fun(Jam)2.96
#351Innovation(Jam)2.82
#416Graphics(Jam)2.82
#419Audio(Jam)2.36
#443Theme(Jam)2.78
#450Mood(Jam)2.45
#478Overall(Jam)2.68
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

Cryovat says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:53am

Congrats for finishing your first LD and yay for fellow Lovers! :)

The concept is good and there's potential for a good game in here if you keep working at it. I'm interested in seeing where you can take this. :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:16pm

really awesome. really neat idea please add more levels

tombsar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Well done on finishing it! The physics worked very well, and I liked the sound effects.

I was surprised to see that I could park the car at any angle within the marked bays; simply requiring thet the direction was correct would make the game rather more challenging!

Yell0w says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Thanks @tombsar! I really enjoyed your entry and have left some comments. The reason that you can park at an angle is because of limited/tired abilities of three software engineers :P

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Hah, not at all difficult but entertaining.

If you are going to continue this concept, check out micro machines. The game could benefit with something like MM's excellent 2D driving mechanics.

I spy with my little eye...a Dodge Viper.

MrBlade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Great job! The physics in this game are amazingly satisfying.

Sounds is nice.

It is a little short, but oh well.

Keep it up!

reheated says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Really fun idea and the car controls were good. It was too short and easy though! I also agree with tombsar that it would be nice if there was a direction test.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45pm

If we all parked like this in real life it would really be ludicrous!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Congrats on finishing the LD! I think the idea could be really fun if you pushed the ridiculous factor a little more - make this kinda like the automobile equivalent of PAIN (for PS3, I think?) crossed with Neighbours From Hell or something... Nudge cars into roads to block rival parkers, smash through expensive crystal statues, have to park on top of the Statue of Liberty (and in order to do this, you have to parachute from the back of a cargo plane and bash other falling cars out of the way, etc...).

Which is all to say, liked the idea - now really go places with it!

josefnpat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Nice job. Could have used more pedestrians carmageddon style!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Fun game, though the reset doesnt actually reset the level. I featured it in a compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVjNz61S5Vg

Kragnir says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Fun game, reset only reset the timer for me. Thought I would have to park in the right direction but I didn't. Game is a bit on the easy side without that. Like the graphics and the sound.

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:19pm

A bit too easy, perhaps should have been more strict with the positioning inside the parking space. Other than that, very good job!

parrotlord says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Reminds me of how people at my school park ahahaha

doonay21 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Congrats on first entry! I like the game, it seems really fun, but I wish there were better "good parking" detection ;) Good job!

RustyC says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Very nice, the car has a nice feel to it and the presintation was pretty good. I would have liked more levels but I understand the time limit means stuff gets cut.

imef says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Game is glitched but if polished it could be even better. :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:33pm

This game is very, very buggy but it kind of adds to the charm. And it is fun too. Keep developing it :D

Ritzblues783 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:49pm

I very much enjoyed this game. Very smooth controls with great physics effects. The concept is excellent. I only wish there were more levels!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]