August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Grassroots Samba

by atuun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You've decided to throw your hat into today's Chimerican presidential election. You probably should have started campaigning more than five minutes before the polls close though. Is *Ten Seconds* with each person on the street going to get you elected? You'd best hope so.

There's a tutorial in the game, but basically:
1)Click someone to speak with them. You can't talk to the same person twice!
2) They'll ask you some questions about your stance on certain issues. Try to answer as best you can.
3) The more favoured answers you give, the more they'll be inclined to vote for you (indicated by the bar at the top).
4) WIN?!?!?
(You can press Enter to skip the opening quote and tutorial, if you wish).

This is my first entry into Ludum Dare. I'm happy with some parts of it (graphics & music), but it does have some bugs that only popped up in the last hour arggh. There isn't anything gamebreaking though. Just don't freak out if you win by a lot. Maybe I'll revisit this at some point, who knows. Hopefully you still enjoy something in this game! :)

Just remember: there may be better games in this competition. But none have more live saxophone solos.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#20Innovation4.10
#38Theme3.97
#39Humor3.86
#55Overall3.83
#58Graphics4.07
#75Mood3.63
#92Audio3.48
#115Fun3.55

Comments

Armix says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40am

Grassroots is actually such a humorous and innovative idea. I love the fact that you force the player to think politically about what may or may not influence the people's decisions. The simplicity of the "Yes" or "No" mechanic was really nice and the artistic style really tops it off. :) Sweet game, nice work. Ps. The audio can get a little annoying (particularly when answering the questions.)

Yaguar says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:39am

Got a couple of "null" bugs but even with that this was funny and well worth the 5 minutes of play.
Loved the concept and only having 10 seconds to sway some one was a nice use of the theme. Bravo!

plancien says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41am

Innovative and fun. Really worth spending more time to polish it and make it into a big game.

Kortuga says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:08am

...Do you even give a poop about null? Really nice-looking.

Cosrnos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:12am

It's fun, Innovative and funny. I love the art style as well! There were a few times where the questions wouldn't display but other than that I loved it!

scriptorum says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16am

I just totally won that election. I think it was my stance about haircuts that put me over the top. Funny and great art style.

Malor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16am

I like it. Good story. Actual in my motherland Russia. You got my vote!

carlsommer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:17am

Fantastic! It was hilarious, and a good idea based on the theme. I think I ran into some glitches though. Sometimes questions wouldn't appear and once I it only asked "What do you think about null" and any answer given wouldn't affect the meter. (Although, I can see why that would be intentionally added, I just wasn't for sure if it was or not : )

dom2d says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Great entry, although I feel a bit let down by the impact of choices. Sometimes you get twice the same question and YES is right the first time and NO the second time. Weird! Cool-looking though!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Love it! One of the best I've played. Fresh idea with a really really cool artstyle. Really good!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:34pm

I clicked to start but nothing happened, using Chrome.

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Love the art style. And gameplay is interesting and unique

pereubu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:55pm

nice idea :3

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Awesome entry! Really liked the idea!
What's up with null though?

aayars says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:47pm

The game did not agree with my stance on null, no matter how I answered.

You should leave that in, but not as an error condition :-)

alts says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:46am

Fantastic game. The bugs kind of made it better. Others have mentioned that there is no good stance on "null", but I especially liked one citizen who never had a dialog box, so I just agreed to things, which wasn't dissimilar from what I was already doing. Great work, and really beautiful style.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:27am

Sometimes "null" would pop up. It's quite a fun game though! Loved the music and art, and quite funny. Very nice entry.

fferro234 says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:31am

Great game. It is a little long but the art style and humor are very good.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]