August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bloody Mary

by murilo - Jam Entry

The 10 seconds curse you didn't know about!

Game made by Murilo
Music/Story/Voice by Sary

=== CONTROLS = (POST-COMPO VERSION YOU CAN CHANGE in options)
WASD/Arrows MOVE
Z / RIGHT CTRL JUMP
X / RIGHT SHIFT ATTACK (UP/DOWN + ATTACK for more)
ESC GAME MENU
Use mouse for menu options.

Enjoy!

====== POST-COMPO ======
Controls can be redefined in the menu options.
Supports controller.
Window and full screen option.
Much better ending when killing the boss.
Story scrolling speed is a bit slower.
Boss knock back by attacks was added.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#76Humor(Jam)3.42
#158Overall(Jam)3.41
#174Fun(Jam)3.23
#175Audio(Jam)3.19
#248Graphics(Jam)3.44
#334Theme(Jam)2.98
#335Mood(Jam)2.80
#375Innovation(Jam)2.77

Comments

JQCoding says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:17am

Great game with lots of detail put into it. Liked the animation as well and plenty good AI for 48 hours. Sound effects were also nice. However, could have used a better jump button. That was the biggest flaw in the game because it kept me from attacking enemies well. Also needs to be able to exit on closing the window.

nastynate says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:19am

This is hilarious and awesome, great job.

whiteravens says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:26am

Very nice action platformer, with decent AI. That's not easy to make. Great job!

tylerb1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:29am

This game is one of my favorites so far because of how much detail you put into it. I can tell you worked hard and didn't take too many breaks. Very fun, love the concept, and the audio is great.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Played it for a while and liked it :)

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Nice graphics and animation, and cool enemies!

stenol says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:09am

Good game. Not easy to control. Will be more easy with the space bar for attack. Good graphics, music and sounds. Great work :)

SusanTheCat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:12am

Cool idea!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:14am

Very well done - a platform brawler with AI in the space of a weekend, great stuff!

yetatore says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:52am

Overall: Good design with an hilarious atmosphere.
Flavors: The character, environment, sounds and music.
Pains: Annoying jump, unclear platforms.

Congratz! Have fun!!!

jwolf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:58am

Pretty fun! I have to agree, the AI was well done. It was able to follow in some areas where I wasn't expecting it to.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:35am

Ahaha awesome game, the AI was impressive, so props on that! :3

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:26am

great artwork, music -- very impressive for 48 hours

tylerb1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Very nice, very funny, nice audio. I love the amount of detail you put into this game. Great work!

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:43pm

This was pretty fun and about the right length! I played through to the end. Z and X didn't work for me (couldn't jump), which was too bad cuz I like the arrows better. On the final boss I wasn't sure I was making progress... more feedback about its damage would have helped. Nice charager animations! :)

senseidav says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:10am

Hello there. By now, the only beat ´em up I have played in this "10 seconds" contest..

Good work with character animation, also the grab who does throwing opponent.. Good graphics, Fx and music completed.

10 seconds its how much time you have before one or more opponents appear ?

Good work with this fighting/adventure game.. Althought The end ... its a sinonimous of infinite?

Congratulations.

murilo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:22am

Thanks everyone for the comments! Yes, it was a lot of work but I couldn't have it without my wife's help who made all the music/created and wrote the story pretty fast I'd say!

I agree there needs to be more key alternatives for the controls. Ideally I would've coded a key config but hey, time went by fast and I had to leave behind a bunch of stuff! Although it was a Jam entry, I actually had a similar time to 48 since I had to work Monday the whole day.

As for a boss energy feedback, I wanted to put it there, also for the main player but time (and indescribable hellish bugs) just wasn't on my side. You guys rock and motivate me! Thanks!! Now back to updating the game based on your comments, also I have to play and rate more game :)

Sink says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:08am

The game was kind of hard to control and I didn't really understand what was going on. Fighting system was cool and the enemies were had good AI.

hbocao says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:45am

Really awesome animations and (destructible) scenery, dude! The AI was really impressive too. The music was bit off. Great work!

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:49pm

AI in a Jam game ... I can't do that on moths ...well done

Kurisu says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Wow, that was really fun and action packed. I liked how detailed the levels were and all the sound effects with music created a bit crazy and fun feeling.
Controls could be polished, it was difficult to turn while fighting.

Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:29am

I like the fighting mecanic, nice job !

Sep 6, 2013 @ 10:05am

Hilarious music and very solid sideschroller/beatemup mechanics!
The idea of punching yourself over and over I find quite entertaining :]
Awesome job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]