Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Super Box Boy Flies

by Jesse Freeman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Super Box Boy has a dream, he wants to fly for 10 seconds and only you can help him do this by jumping on his trampoline. Don't forget to hit jump at the right time to go even higher!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#120Humor3.32
#161Audio3.27
#179Graphics3.61
#212Mood3.26
#253Fun3.32
#340Overall3.28
#508Innovation3.03
#510Theme3.23
#1613Coolness30%

Comments

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:59pm

So simple and fun. Love it. One thing that would be great would be more visual feedback on where you are at the moment: if the sky was a gradiant or there were mountains or something you could better judge when the ground was coming - the sky all looks the same, apart from the sun, etc. More points of reference are what I'm thinking of. GREAT WORK!

Jesse Freeman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:07am

Thanks for the feedback. I tweaked a few things after you looked at it such as the background like you suggested, some more artwork and added a combo system to help you speed up the game when you are closer to the ground plus give you some indication you are actually clicking at the right time.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:56am

This is a great idea! Love the visuals and the fun music.

I got a bit confused about the controls though. Scratch that, I am still confused about the controls.

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:52am

The controls were not clear to figure out, but after that, it was fun (though I only got about twice as high as the sun)

gamepopper says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29am

Very simple and enjoyable. I love the pixel graphics and the funny little bits of text. Only real issue is that the 10 seconds kind of restricts it, it really should be the kind of game where you bounce as high you can. I was also hoping for some obstacles that can get in the way, but since you can't go left or right, it's not really fair to compare it to something like Doodle Jump. Great game!

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29am

Didnt understand the controls first either. Then i started just mashing the up arrow and that did the job.

My hand hurts now.

It was fun seeing that little guy jump into the orbit though.

rezoner says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Nice execution... and dithering :) Could use some better color palette - try Dawnbringer 16.

Jesse Freeman says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Thanks for the feedback on the controls. I'm not very happy with them myself. I plan on clean it up when I have more time. For now if you basically just mash the mouse button or arrow key like it's track and field right before you land and it will shoot you up. It's a little easier to do on tablets.

I also want to let you move right and left to collect stuff but also have to go back to center or you'll splatter. Since I made this for my 4 year old I took that part out.

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:21pm

I got a bit confused about the controls too. Love the simple pixel art style

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Really awesome take on the theme. Love the game mechanic.

lazyeels says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:09pm

This was fun, I just wanted to get higher and higher, managed to play it to the end.

The mechanic reminds me of those waggle joystick games (http://www.exotica.org.uk/wiki/Waggle-O-Mania_2), and the main character fills me full of nostalgia for Horace from Horace goes skiing, ahhh, those were the days. ;-)

mutuware says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Mashed the mouse button and got pretty high.

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34pm

I like the simplicity of this, and the downward animations add a surprising amount of depth to it. I had a really hard time judging when I was supposed to click, so I found myself just clicking as fast as possible the entire way down.

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:05am

Super cute game! I really want to do a barrel roll!

BenWhi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:20am

Simple, yet addicting! Wasn't sure how to get the best jumps, but sometimes it worked really well! HTML5 FTW!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:24am

Cool game! I did not understand the controls until I read someone talk about pressing the up arrow. Then it was a frantic pace to get to space and beyond! Nice art, music and fun.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:11am

I really liked it. It was simple but really fun. Peaceful even.

orangepascal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:05pm

nicely done! reminds me of a one-button game on old J2ME mobile phones, had you jumping rope .. controls need some work tho ;) as others mentioned!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:03am

Well done! Great look and good simple fun :0)

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:16am

Through trial and error I found out that if I click a lot when he is falling, he will jump higher the next time... I'm still not sure if I did it right, but my mouse is in tears right now! =p

That said, I like the graphics a lot and the theme was well explored in my point of view.

(I won with 3:33 and 26 bounces/jumps)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Really charming. It probably would have been better if you had to time hitting the button right, rather than just mashing it but still great fun to play. Good sound, graphics and was original, it ticked all the boxes.

GagaPete says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:51pm

I like the art and the overall appeal but have the same critic as anyone else. Getting the timing right required more luck than skill. Good game though, love you blog. ;)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:20am

Great work! I really like it :)

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:11pm

This is lovely! HTML5 FTW :-) It's very fun, and well-executed. Really short, but promising! Great job.

01010111 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Man I loved the subtle screenshake (I'm not imagining that, am I?) as you descend. Great work! It would have been funny if you floated off once you reached space :)

luthorex says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:32am

Nice, I love this kind of games. Just simple, but effective. Could we get the source code? I will like to learn about your job.
Good luck! :)

Aceria says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 9:21am

Timing the jump was pretty difficult. I ended up just spam clicking to fly out of screen. The game could have used more player feedback to indicate when the best moment to jump would have been.

Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:20pm

This is awesome! Vertical adventure all the way!
Did anyone manage to hit the UFOs?

koe415 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:31am

Fun little game! Art style is cute and the various layers of the atmosphere is a nice touch. My only issue is that mashing on the mouse kinda gets tiring.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 5:16am

solid game -- awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]