August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Penguin Racer Go Go

by refreshcreations - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Penguin Racer Go Go is a Checkpoint Racer with a variety of obstacles to avoid and items to pick-up in order to get the best Ending.

I had a blast designing this one and whilst I would love to have added more tracks and some A.I. Penguins, those had to be cut-out due to time.

Controls and how-to-play are explained on the menu screen.

I hope you have fun and possibly a little bit of frustration to get that little penguin to his goal!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#92Graphics3.91
#131Fun3.53
#131Overall3.59
#219Humor2.96
#237Audio3.12
#302Theme3.44
#402Mood2.93
#867Innovation2.53

Comments

Tegu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:58am

Now this is pretty cool! Couldn't stop until I managed to finish the race. :P I kept felling down or messing up somehow on the final lap many times in row.

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:43am

Really cool game. I really like the sounds, I think they kept me from getting frustrated when I screwed up ;)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Hard one! Somehow reminds me Temple Run from Android. I love temple run and I love this one too!

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Great game, looks pretty darn polished for a game made in a weekend! Was really addicting and easy to get into. Simple gameplay and great presentation. Awesome job!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Simple but well polished! The controls could've been a little smoother... but other than that the sounds were great and the graphics were fantastically themed :D I could totally see this being a mini-game for like wii sports or something :P

fferro234 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Nice game, its a little hard to see the slow snow though. I kept running into the slow snow patches by accident because I could barely tell the difference until it was too late.

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:17pm

I interpret this as the developers way of expressing his frustration with running the VLC media player on Linux (Hence the cones and the Tux the penguin) :)

0beah says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:23pm

pretty cool game. Man is it unforgiving tho! Nice controls. and nice art.

urth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Finished 1 lap with extreme difficulty.

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Good job! it's very hard :)

coeoliver says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:25pm

me like :)

SneManden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Wow, one of the best games I've played so far! Very fun and fast-paced gameplay! Challenging without being unbeatable.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Impressive. I really like the visual style.

flarb says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:59am

Wow, really polished! I love the music too.

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:20pm

I'm pretty sure everyone said this but OH GOD I CAN'T SEE THE SLOW ZONES COMING. If it was a tiny little bit easier I might have played until I beat it :)

Otherwise, props on making a racing game, I'm pretty sure I'm going to play it again when nobody is watching. Keep it coming Ryan!

sittaman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Great and well made game. A bit hard as the controls feels too much sensible, but this is an amazing piece, 5 starz!

Cryovat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Like urth, I had to call it quits after one lap. It's a lot of fun and the mechanics work well, but the level is too hard for me. :'(

Especially the placement of the snow is a work of pure evil. It's always there to crush your dreams right in front of a checkpoint. D:

Apart from the difficulty, I think it's a very well put together package. Graphics were on par with a certain other arctic creature racing game (an achievement considering the time frame) and the music and audio fit well.

Great job! :D

Just make some easier tracks now!

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:19am

I really like the art style for this project. It's like a cute version of F-Zero! The feeling of speed when you run over the boosters is nice, but I usually ended up flying off of the track shortly after hitting them. :) Fun game!

d__adee says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:58am

OH MY GOD!
I need to catch my breathe. XD

The game looks polished. It's very hard! Not frustrating, just hard...

SamC says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:59pm

good game, i think the slow bits are too hard to see

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]