August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Robots Save the Day

by udo - Jam Entry

In this game, you take the role of two helpful robots trying to save a space ship in trouble. During their journey they must work together to solve a couple of problems, and they don't have much time!

The robots must solve each task within 10 seconds. As the player, you program their actions in advance and then watch as they perform their magic (or fail miserably).

It's a very short game with only 6 levels and two alternative endings. It's all very laid-back. You can play it through completely within a few minutes.

This has been tested on Chrome, Firefox, and Safari. I can't test it on IE, it most likely won't work there.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#93Innovation(Jam)3.50
#100Theme(Jam)3.52
#115Overall(Jam)3.51
#144Mood(Jam)3.32
#181Fun(Jam)3.21
#197Graphics(Jam)3.62
#234Humor(Jam)2.65
#248Audio(Jam)2.96

Comments

Wulo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:18am

Pretty cool puzzle game, some were even pretty hard. Good Work.

Qaterknan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29am

Nice entry, definitely works with the theme. Also nice graphics.

mamoniem says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:03am

The gameplay is a bit new for me, i enjoyed playing your game for a while, until i fail to win :D every time i take a screenshot for the edits i entered and then refine it next time :D
Good luck, and make the music less loud ^_^

Reicher says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:45am

Best puzzle game I played this ludum dare yet!

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:50am

Wow, thanks Reicher! :-D

eckcz says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:00am

Cool consept. Write program inside a program inside a program. I love it. programception

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:09am

Really neat game. I do feel like some things could be explained better though (like that you can turn whilst moving or that you don't need to face something in order to activate/kill it.) Still really good overall though.

Reicher says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:53am

Ever played the board game "Robo Rally"? Reminds me a bit of that!

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:04am

goodbye killbot :'( she was my best friend

Really smart gameplay, the graphics and audio were really well done too! My favourite puzzle game so far.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:13am

Reicher: I haven't played it (yet), but people told me before this was kinda like that.

RHY3756547: ah, you had the sad ending... :-D
Thanks a lot, I'm glad you liked it!

kbm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:44pm

The concept is innovative, though it is very hard to control. I would really like to see a next version of it.

truiton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Great game mechanic! It will be better if we can stop de program and restart when we want.

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Love the gameplay and the game itself. Nicely done.

wtfrara says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:00pm

I failed some levels just because I didn't notice the robot defaulting back to the first bot instead of the killbot. Made it frustrating to have to start over and tedious to select the robot I was currently using each time. I think if it just defaulted to the last moved robot (per user, not order) it would be better. Otherwise, really fun!

Nizan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Brilliant. A genuinely great game. :)

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:07pm

wtfrara: you're absolutely correct, that was suboptimal. I noticed that too as I was testing, but forgot to change it.

kannas says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:39pm

nice game. it's sad that i suck at puzzle games, and i stopped after the third level :P good work :D

Jason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Fun game. The first game thats actually made me think!

tompudding says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:33pm

This is the first game I've rated, and I hope they're all this good! Great concept (I love games with programming!), really fits the theme well trying to get the instructions done in time. If anything I'd say the last few levels were too easy, but extremely impressive overall.

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:38pm

tompudding, thanks for your feedback. I know the levels are pretty easy, I wanted to make sure people could play it through in a short amount of time. More and more sophisticated levels would be interesting, I'd be down with that.

bitserum says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:53am

I love "programing" games! Nice one

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:59am

Cool stuff! innovative game play!

murilo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:59am

Very good puzzle game. The best puzzle one so far on LD. The audio and graphics are kind of cool too!

manuq says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:30am

Excellent! Reminds me to some board games that have this setup-play mechanic. I was looking for something like this.

noddy2006 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:57am

Excellent game! I loved it. Puzzle 4 confused me though, as I didn't realize you didn't have to face the evidence to kill it.

klambrike says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:01am

Nizze puzzle concept.

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:03am

noddy2006: it's right there in the help text ;) but I understand why people are confused by the facing aspect. Originally I had "facing" enabled, but decided against it later during development.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:24am

This game is excellent.

I like how you create a unique atmosphere with sounds and graphics. And you succeeded in making alive your characters. Puzzles are nicely done.

Plus, this game reminds me of a toy I had when I was a kid (Compurobot), it was programmable in the exact same way.

I'm going back to see the second end.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Nice game, great concept and game mechanics.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Looks great, but takes along time to set up the commands the for first time - i think the first levels should be reeeeally short ;)

zkenshin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Clever game. :)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:46pm

I love this. Once you grasp how the timing of it works, the puzzle solutions explode in possibilities. The mood is fantastic and builds well around the robot characters. I feel it unnecessary to show the mission debriefing on each level restart, and the levels gets tough, quickly. But trial and error will prevail! Good work, robot overlord.

imef says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Cool game! It's a bit like mine but yours has much better graphics. ;)

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Great idea, looks really nice, but it doesn't work for me on chrome. The commond forward x does not what it is supposed to, the robots only move one field, independently what number x is...

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Larzan: that's strange. I developed this on Chrome. What version/OS?

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Absolutely awesom, very captivating puzzle the second one, couldn't let it go until i got it!
Love it, enjoyed playing a lot.

mrcdk says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Good game! I like the concept and execution!

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Really nicely done. Brain was too toast to figure out the ending, but I might play it later. Looking forward to your next entry!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Terrific concept!
I would have preferred a horizontal flow for your program selection menu, since it would take less eye and cursor distance than the vertical flow right now.
Great job!

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:22pm

Very difficult and fun

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:05am

Neat puzzle game. Enjoyed the artwork and sound effects. Nice work!

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:06am

Excellent puzzle game :) Really enjoyed playing, thank you.

aschearer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:04am

It's fun to program robots :-)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:14pm

good job

Erhune says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Great puzzler!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:38pm

Baffled and amused. Robots are teh skit!

VoidChronos says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:11pm

An awesome entry. The graphics are cool and the theme is used really good! Thumbs Up!

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:47am

Very nice art and theme! I still can't remember the name of the icehouse game where I first saw this mechanic.

klianc09 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:26pm

That's what those pesky humans get for leaving cubot and killbot alone at the ship! (For what did they have killbot anyways?)
Nice programming game, had a cleaner interface than another one I recently played. Although some things should be explained beforehand (facing and turning while moving). And the "music" and sound effects nearly drove me insane (thank you for implementing a mute button :D).

zconnelly13 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:30pm

I was really pleased with the idea behind this. It reminded me of this little toy truck I played with as a kid where you would enter a set of instructions and then hit go, I thought it was the coolest thing. The UI leaves a bit to be desired and keyboard shortcuts would have been clutch. It didn't work quite as expected either which was confusing. Also if the "play" button turned into a "reset" button after you hit play that'd be phenomenal. Great game! Would love to see a polished version :)

Gaspard_ says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:16pm

I know this gameplay from somewhere, but it wasn't at this level. You did a great job with the "turn while you advance"!
I wish I had the patience to play it again and see the other ending...

X-0r says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Neat game! Reminds me a bit of Light-Bot (and Light-Bot is awesome, too!)

Sebby says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 5:58am

This is really cool! I enjoyed all of the puzzles, especially the one when you first get to control both bots... it was fun to figure out how to get the program the most efficient :D

motty says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 1:42am

Superb. I particularly like the way the commands overlap one another - definitely a new wrinkle in the 'program a robot' genre, at least for me. Made it a lot harder and more fun that way.

Urfoex says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:16am

Solid entry.

TammiLion says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:28pm

This is a cool game. Sub-theme Good Old Fashioned AI perhaps ;) One thing that bugged me is that you have to clear the program and can't really edit it in the following way: changing an operation to a forward operation only works for 1 not for x2, 3 or 4.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]