August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

T.I.M.E

by MetroidMan347 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In your world Time is Money in a very literal sense. Play in the arcade to earn more time to spend on the fanciest of armor!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#207Innovation3.50
#548Theme3.19
#1027Overall2.50
#1104Graphics1.88
#1111Fun2.00
#1698Coolness24%

Comments

smash ball says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:24am

The game froze when I clicked Main Game. I opened it up in 8.1 (lite), but I couldn't figure out why it wasn't working for me.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:25am

The game world felt empty. The idea is nice.

MetroidMan347 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:51am

@Smash Ball I'm sorry, I dunno what's going wrong for you :(

@Vile Smile I completely agree

TailyILoveYou says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:32pm

pretty cool and original idea. the mini games were nice, but it could more content so it would be less grinding :P great work!

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:12pm

I really like the idea, but the execution needs a bit of work. It's basically a ton of grinding and not much else.

MetroidMan347 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:57pm

To all the people saying it's a grind:
I know, I'm sorry.

Thermite says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Nice idea, just needs some balancing to reduce the grind :)

X-0r says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:06pm

This is one of these projects where you probably need a lot more time to polish. It reminds me somewhat of the movie "In Time", following the principle of using time as money. It's great to see that concept in a game!

I noticed a minor bug (or feature?) in the jumping minigame - if you stand on the top platform and hit the jump key again and again, you'll spawn a lot of these time "pixels" making it very easy to... well... grind your way up^^

MetroidMan347 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:49am

I felt the exact same way about it, but you know, it is what it is.

Actually yes, I was thinking that basically the whole time. That was a cool movie. I hope I can make a better game using similar mechanics in the future.

Yeah, it's not supposed to spawn more than two pixels at once but I think it does and I didn't have time to fix it.

I think my favorite part overall is the potato helmet. XD

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:16am

The best way to earn time was very tedious, the minigames were more fun, but far less efficient; I would have preferred more combat diversity over the minigames. I'm still not sure what the different armors did, and I was hoping something special (like a win screen) would happen when I equipped the potato, but alas. Not bad, but it feels like you didn't get everything you wanted in.

jomomomo says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

MetroidMan347 says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:02am

I'm afraid I can't make non-Windows games at the moment.
Maybe someday. :)

BomberGames says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:23pm

I don't know about this "grind" thing - maybe that makes it art. To me this was a story about a man who goes out and kills people so that he can play his games, and even though those games consume his life, he plays them anyway. If the games had been color the metaphor would be better. Maybe I'm just projecting...
Was anyone able to actually make time on the games?

psc1997 says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Nice idea :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]