August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

WindBuilder

by Per - Jam Entry

Navigate through the wind with your rocket ship.

After 10 seconds, you can place a new module on your ship and decide the key for it. You only got 10 seconds for that so hurry up! :).
Continue until you find all checkpoints or run out of modules :(

Controls: Arrow keys

Build help:
* Select a green square to place the module
* Select the key to use for it

Known problems:
* Can not get key input in IE11

First time without falling back to flash for audio, which seems to work fine nowadays :)

Abundant music and Reason was used to generate the music.

I used GWT for all the code and used the html5 canvas 2d context, which was pretty fun! Java is certainly more fun than Javascript :)

I planned to have a lot of modules like weapons etc. but I spent to much time writing my own gui, which was really stupid :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#14Innovation(Jam)3.97
#175Audio(Jam)3.19
#269Overall(Jam)3.16
#277Fun(Jam)2.97
#319Theme(Jam)3.00
#370Mood(Jam)2.68
#371Humor(Jam)2.11
#411Graphics(Jam)2.84

Comments

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:33pm

I really like the core concept of building up this little rigidbody ship, but the having to add to it every 10 seconds was interrupting. I was enjoying getting a feeling for the ship but right as I started to learn a little I was interrupted again.

Really cool though.

Sense says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:28pm

I like the concept and the tank grid-3d graphic, but controls are really annoying at first plays.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:57am

Controls are challenging, but it kind of seems like the point :)

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:17am

It was quite difficult to get the hang of my controls. For a while I've been wanting to make a game where the player sets the controls as they go. This is a great implementation. I'd love to see a tutorial element to this game so that I can get used to the building and moving phases. RATE MY GAME!!! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=5288

lurkingshadow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:20am

Controls made the game alot more interesting, cool idea.

Zelen3d says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:45pm

You should maybe make the moving cells more visible. They were too dark.

team_cow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:47pm

At first I did not understand how to build the ship (by clicking the button to bind it to, not pressing it), but once that was solved, the building was on! Got a bit stressful at times, but had great fun trying to navigate my haphazardly built ship. Great work!

Meep says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:55am

Nice idea. The controls were difficult to get used to, and I don't think they were very intuitive (at first). Like others've said, having to attach something every 10 seconds seemed to take away from it/interrupt the experience. Maybe if the game was faster paced the 10 seconds would suffice. Great work, regardless. :)

nixeldev says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:07pm

I like it, the build mechanic on the ship makes it real interesting :)

Gremlin says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:46pm

I think this is a really cool idea for an arcade game. The balance is a little wonky--it's hard to tell what helps or hurts maneuverability--making the game challenging. That doesn't hurt the game much, since its about that challenge, but it does mean the game doesn't have room to be about anything else.

The adding screen doesn't give you a lot of time, I think I'd prefer it if the game paused until you chose. Also, I'd like to be able to put multiple modules on a single key, and it didn't seem like that was possible, though I might have missed something.

dekart says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Cool concept and mechanics. The game is pretty challenging. I like it.

Jellycakes says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Really nice concept! I found it interesting that you weren't limited by time but rather the timer pushed you forward. It was a little irritating that you were limited to one piece every 10 seconds but I think it was still well executed. Nice job!

Surrealix says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:33am

I like building this type of build-your-ship game, but I'm not sure whether adding a piece every 10 seconds was a help or a hinderance. Perhaps my shipbuilding skills are lacking, but the bigger the ship got the more unweildy it was, even (or especially) with more boosters.

I had fun wobbling around the levels at any rate :).

Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:20am

Love the ship flailing and wobbling around :)

Darien says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 10:16am

Graphics and sound are top-notch, but I found the controls frustrating.

manuq says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:14am

This has potential! Have you played Galaxy Trucker board game? For a while I was thinking what kind of mechanic could have a port to videogame. That is, without replicating a board game. I would love to see this evolve to a complete game with all the features you mention :)

Solifuge says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Very cool! I like the highly customizable movement and controls; I almost finished a shift+arrow strafing system before time ran out. Might be neat to see in a space combat game!

porglezomp says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Very innovative!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]