August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Annex

by kratorspore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Time Annex is a game of observation and fast reflexes. Try to build the biggest combos you can but watch out for any green blocks that wrap around to 10 and detonate your progress.

The instructions are a bit muddled but leave a comment if you don't know what's going on and I'll try to clarify things.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#9Innovation4.24
#25Theme4.05
#110Fun3.56
#112Overall3.63
#524Audio2.61
#589Graphics2.82
#620Mood2.64
#879Humor1.68

Comments

OkayHughes says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:35am

Excellent entry. I loved how totally the theme was incorporated. Truly amazing.

tigerj says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:08pm

It took me a couple of plays to really find out what I was doing. Really creative and original idea!

goog game. nice work!

HunLyxxod says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Good interpretation of the theme. That was fun.

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Fantastic game, uses the theme really well, adding some music would make the great, add a multiplayer race mode would be SUPER fun. Overall I think this is one of the entries I loved the most gameplay wise thus far. Awesome job!

Katamori says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00am

Amazing game concept! I love these "simple-but-you-can't stop playing" games!

I swear expanding it and releasing on Android or any other mobile port would make it famous!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:27pm

It took a couple tries, but I finally got the hang of it. This is a really cool concept. I scored 83,720

Tifu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Nice idea, pretty challenging to get high combos! :D

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:08am

A very cool idea. I would like to play this on my tablet.

hypp says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:26pm

One of the best I've played so far!

mitkus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Great mechanic, enjoyed this quite a bit.

scriptorum says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Great game! A nice take on the theme.

My first game I was just clicking around and got 20k. My second game I understood what I was actually trying to do and got 90k. And on my third game I dug out the interior of a "U" shape and then followed the U for one massive combo scored 321,870. I imagine digging out a spiral would give even more points.

timothyolt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Outstanding idea and incorporation of the theme. Releasing this on mobile devices would be a hit.

Zuige says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Rather good really :) Always like a good puzzler. Sounds and music could do with a bit of polish as well as the graphics. Grey isn't a very engaging colour :)

psychomonster says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:19pm

This is much better than tetris... AWESOME!!! You have created one of the best entries this ld... Thanks... have to play another round ^^

GarethIW says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:36am

Got Master! A simple but original idea, well done!

ripatti says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:04am

My score in 2nd try is 160720. Good game.

infernet89 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:45am

Really interesting puzzle, very well done!

mortus says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:15am

Great idea when you look at it first time, but when you get into the game and see how it works and how to get more score, it gets pretty boring.

In my first try I got 100k (guess I was lucky), then I realized that the best tactic is to destroy blocks you don't want first and then make one huge chain. So i did that as my 2nd try and had around 14k score when my mega-chain was almost finished. Then I chained the last block and got 470+k points in one combo, so my second try was just under 500k.

What that means for me is while the mechanic is great and I love it, game needs some means of preventing what I did (unless you want it to be beatable the way I did it). Maybe some random-spawning special blocks that prevent you from building easy-comboable combinations, I don't really know.

Thanks for the fun game anyway!

Linusson says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Good use of the theme and a fun little puzzle game. :) First round I was mostly confused, then it went better and better. :D

xrm0 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Fun game!

Dir3kt says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Oh my, I want to play this on a touch screen!!

kratorspore says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Thanks for all the great feedback people. I'm currently working on a touchscreen version so stay tuned.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]