August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Second Servings

by ericdpitts - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Second Servings, a shooter in which you are a small orphan fighting for your seconds at dinner.

The idea was that there were only 10 extra dinner servings, and all were already claimed by bigger, scarier folks. But, I unfortunately only had time to make 2 opponents (but really, more like 1 and a half).

Controls:
Move Left: A
Move Right: D
Dodge: W (You are invulnerable while dodging)
Jump: Space (Jump again in air to double jump)
Shoot/Aim: Mouse

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#314Humor2.69
#718Audio2.23
#921Fun2.46
#979Mood2.08
#1051Innovation2.19
#1119Overall2.29
#1129Graphics1.81
#1143Theme2.00
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24am

Very cute game! It's very fun, albeit being a little frustrating. A little unfitting with the theme, but the gameplay makes up for it.

Jayjay says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Ah shame you weren't able to get the extra enemies in, good gameplay and funny intro =D

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Realy fun, i like it!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03pm

hehe after a few seconds i realized there is a mouse coursor ^^... Nice intro... nice gameplay... graphic needs some polishing and you missed the topic a little bit :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Hello! I am making a sort of compilation of all the games I can. Your game is featured in this video! http://youtu.be/jImRVKjejj4

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:24am

Love the blinking-mechanic. Also cool how you repurposed 1980's musical screenshots :P

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:07pm

The intro is fun, even if the characters aren't very recognizable thereafter :D

Just a small comment : I couldn't see how many lives remained me, so I couldn't really see if I've been hurt or not, which is a little frustrating.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Shame you ran out of time

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:41pm

sorry, too primitive for me.

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Nice little game. I like the dodge mechanic!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]